We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monterilla

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monterilla to your Saves list
Hotel Monterilla
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dos Norte 65 | Plaza México, Vina del Mar 2520242, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in Vina del Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location, great people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Chose this place from article in the New York Times. Arrived early after post cruise docking,
served coffee and cookies while room made up from ongoing cruise passengers. Location is
excellent, yet retains relaxing atmosphere-mostly locals. Check out Amura coffee house
on Esplanade.

Room Tip: Top front corner--two rooms, large bath, window facing three directions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alfred1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Northborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
422 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed here for three days over Chile's National Holiday. The hotel is in a great location, one block from the ocean, across from a small park, great restuarants a few steps away, the main business section just across the river. The main bus station was a 15-20 minute walk away.

This is a small hotel with nice but basic rooms. Very comfortable bed. The room and bathroom was very clean and in good condition. The bathroom was more than adequate with plenty of hot water, lots of cable channels available on the flat screen TV. Our room was on the first floor just past the breakfast room. We had a view of the gated parking lot, this hotel is not the place to stay if you want spectacular views. The hotel was very quiet, but we were there off season. The off season room rate was very resonable, considering this is the most popular resort in Chile.

The breakfast was nothing special, compared to some of the other hotels we strayed in during our 34 day trip to South America.

The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. We would definely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Spent 3 nights in this hotel in March 2012. The hotel was easy to find, within walking distance from the main bus station in town, and moments away from the coast. The casino is literally around the corner, and the hotel is within walking distance to a good variety of restaurants.

Great location, friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms. Breakfast included, and wifi available in the lobby. Well-priced.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbrodeur8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

The room was very spacious at this hotel, as was the modern bathroom. There was lots of room for our luggage. The location was perfect for walking around Vina and going out to restaurants. Breakfast was well laid out and very good.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canadianbirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

We stayed at the Monterilla for one night while in Vina/Valparaiso. The room was very basic; nothing to write home about. Probably a bit overpriced, but it's very conveniently located and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was also nice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tengorazon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

We stayed here five days in february in a kind of apartment with two bedrooms, bath and kitchenette, very comfortable for four people and with nice decoration. The apartment had an exclusive stair, so we were out of noises of other rooms; although it faces the street, the only noise we heard was the seagulls early in the morning (the hotel is one block from the sea), but we took it as a new experience.
We never had trouble with parking (into the hotel, very safe) even at week end.
The localization was excepcional, very central, near the sea and the beach too.
The only trouble we had was that there wasn't wifi the last 2 or 3 days (and there wasn't a computer in the lobby for passengers); it seemed to be some trouble with their internet service provider, but that kept us incommunicado (we are from Argentina, and in addition, our mobile telephone company didn't work properly).
Breakfast was excellent in quality and quantity.
In short, it was a nice place and undoubtedly we should return to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PennyLane50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Stayed for one night in March (off season), price was very reasonable for a clean room that included a good breakfast and parking (very important in Chile); it is true that there is no A/C which could be a problem some nights, although temperature and humidity are normally not extremely high in Vina.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gkraus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vina del Mar hotels
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Miramar Hotel & Convention Center
0.5 mi away
Hotel Boutique Cassinetta
Hotel Boutique Cassinetta
#3 of 47 in Vina del Mar
4.5 of 5 stars 73 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel San Martin
Hotel San Martin
#11 of 47 in Vina del Mar
4.0 of 5 stars 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Monaldi
Hotel Monaldi
#27 of 47 in Vina del Mar
3.5 of 5 stars 70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel del Mar - Enjoy Vina del Mar - Casino & Resort
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Marina Del Rey
BEST WESTERN Marina Del Rey
#16 of 47 in Vina del Mar
3.5 of 5 stars 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monterilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterilla

Address: Dos Norte 65 | Plaza México, Vina del Mar 2520242, Chile
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Vina del Mar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Vina del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monterilla 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming, pleasant, unique, and contemporary; this is how we are. Our charm can be felt in the ambiance and on the walls decorated with the fineness of modern art: original oil paintings and engravings of important Chilean artists.Our warm hospitality reflects on every detail, in the quality of our attention, and in the dedication and comfort we offer.Something more? We have the best location: the perfect combination for the best price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Monterilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterilla Hotel Vina Del Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing