We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monterilla

Save Saved
You added Hotel Monterilla to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Monterilla
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dos Norte 65 | Plaza México, Vina del Mar 2520242, Chile   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
35% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 43 hotels in Vina del Mar
Northborough, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“Great location, nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed here for three days over Chile's National Holiday. The hotel is in a great location, one block from the ocean, across from a small park, great restuarants a few steps away, the main business section just across the river. The main bus station was a 15-20 minute walk away.

This is a small hotel with nice but basic rooms. Very comfortable bed. The room and bathroom was very clean and in good condition. The bathroom was more than adequate with plenty of hot water, lots of cable channels available on the flat screen TV. Our room was on the first floor just past the breakfast room. We had a view of the gated parking lot, this hotel is not the place to stay if you want spectacular views. The hotel was very quiet, but we were there off season. The off season room rate was very resonable, considering this is the most popular resort in Chile.

The breakfast was nothing special, compared to some of the other hotels we strayed in during our 34 day trip to South America.

The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. We would definely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    45
    19
    4
    2
See reviews for
17
50
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Spent 3 nights in this hotel in March 2012. The hotel was easy to find, within walking distance from the main bus station in town, and moments away from the coast. The casino is literally around the corner, and the hotel is within walking distance to a good variety of restaurants.

Great location, friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms. Breakfast included, and wifi available in the lobby. Well-priced.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

The room was very spacious at this hotel, as was the modern bathroom. There was lots of room for our luggage. The location was perfect for walking around Vina and going out to restaurants. Breakfast was well laid out and very good.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

We stayed at the Monterilla for one night while in Vina/Valparaiso. The room was very basic; nothing to write home about. Probably a bit overpriced, but it's very conveniently located and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was also nice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

We stayed here five days in february in a kind of apartment with two bedrooms, bath and kitchenette, very comfortable for four people and with nice decoration. The apartment had an exclusive stair, so we were out of noises of other rooms; although it faces the street, the only noise we heard was the seagulls early in the morning (the hotel is one block from the sea), but we took it as a new experience.
We never had trouble with parking (into the hotel, very safe) even at week end.
The localization was excepcional, very central, near the sea and the beach too.
The only trouble we had was that there wasn't wifi the last 2 or 3 days (and there wasn't a computer in the lobby for passengers); it seemed to be some trouble with their internet service provider, but that kept us incommunicado (we are from Argentina, and in addition, our mobile telephone company didn't work properly).
Breakfast was excellent in quality and quantity.
In short, it was a nice place and undoubtedly we should return to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Stayed for one night in March (off season), price was very reasonable for a clean room that included a good breakfast and parking (very important in Chile); it is true that there is no A/C which could be a problem some nights, although temperature and humidity are normally not extremely high in Vina.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphysboro, IL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012 via mobile

I really don't know how this hotel gets as high a recommendation as it does. The hotel is clean, neat and safe. The staff is helpful and their English is passable.

So what is the problem? As one of the reviews stated it is more of a youth hostel. The rooms are clean but spartan. There is no A/C and no ceiling fan. It can get incredibly hot in the room. The hotel is very close to the casino. The action continues late into the night. With open windows it is impossible to get a full nights sleep - car alarms, car honking, sirens, etc. It goes on all night and you need to have your window open because of the lack of A/C.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Monterilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterilla

Address: Dos Norte 65 | Plaza México, Vina del Mar 2520242, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Vina del Mar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 43 hotels in Vina del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monterilla 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming, pleasant, unique, and contemporary; this is how we are. Our charm can be felt in the ambiance and on the walls decorated with the fineness of modern art: original oil paintings and engravings of important Chilean artists.Our warm hospitality reflects on every detail, in the quality of our attention, and in the dedication and comfort we offer.Something more? We have the best location: the perfect combination for the best price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Monterilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterilla Hotel Vina Del Mar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monterilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.