We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely apartment for a family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monterilla

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monterilla to your Saves list
Hotel Monterilla
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dos Norte 65 | Plaza México, Vina del Mar 2520242, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 44 Hotels in Vina del Mar
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment for a family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

We stayed here five days in february in a kind of apartment with two bedrooms, bath and kitchenette, very comfortable for four people and with nice decoration. The apartment had an exclusive stair, so we were out of noises of other rooms; although it faces the street, the only noise we heard was the seagulls early in the morning (the hotel is one block from the sea), but we took it as a new experience.
We never had trouble with parking (into the hotel, very safe) even at week end.
The localization was excepcional, very central, near the sea and the beach too.
The only trouble we had was that there wasn't wifi the last 2 or 3 days (and there wasn't a computer in the lobby for passengers); it seemed to be some trouble with their internet service provider, but that kept us incommunicado (we are from Argentina, and in addition, our mobile telephone company didn't work properly).
Breakfast was excellent in quality and quantity.
In short, it was a nice place and undoubtedly we should return to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    45
    21
    4
    2
See reviews for
18
52
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Stayed for one night in March (off season), price was very reasonable for a clean room that included a good breakfast and parking (very important in Chile); it is true that there is no A/C which could be a problem some nights, although temperature and humidity are normally not extremely high in Vina.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphysboro, IL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012 via mobile

I really don't know how this hotel gets as high a recommendation as it does. The hotel is clean, neat and safe. The staff is helpful and their English is passable.

So what is the problem? As one of the reviews stated it is more of a youth hostel. The rooms are clean but spartan. There is no A/C and no ceiling fan. It can get incredibly hot in the room. The hotel is very close to the casino. The action continues late into the night. With open windows it is impossible to get a full nights sleep - car alarms, car honking, sirens, etc. It goes on all night and you need to have your window open because of the lack of A/C.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in February. The location is good, staff are very helpful and friendly and breakfast is good; however, the room was bare bones, although it did have a modern bathroom.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We visit Chile often, and have been staying in this hotel over the last 3 years. The location is outstanding - close the the Plaza, Casino, good restaurants, etc. We would not hesitate to stay here again. The only comment is that the hotel is beginning to look a little tired.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is in good location if you want to be near the action. Our room was street side so some noise, but not bad. Unique set up with small kitchen area, two single beds and a separate room with queen and flatscreen tv with many choices of channels. Bathroom and shower relatively small,but overall nice. I would stay again if price were less. Music festival week so premium rates. We paid 200.00. Helpful staff, basic breaKfast, no wifi in room, but available in lounge area.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

This hotel is extremely well-located, right by the beach, most restaurants, and the train to Valparaiso. Despite its centrality, however, it's exceptionally quiet - the only sound I ever heard at night was the occasional clop-clop of horses' hooves from the carriages that go around town. The room was very basic - about what you'd expect from a good-quality American motel. Carpets and ceiling were stained, but everything otherwise was quite clean, and the shower was excellent - large, well-lit, great water pressure, super hot (crappy showers are a pet peeve of mine, and this one was 4-star.) The English-language skills of the front-desk staff were a little uneven, as were their customer-service skills. For example, prior to my arrival I'd asked the staff to buy me tickets to a local sporting event, because it was impossible to buy tickets online; the staff promised to do so and charge it back to my room. But when I got there, no one had purchased the tickets; without apologizing, they told me I should just walk across town and buy them myself. Overall, the high-season price (about $185 American per night) was a little much for what you got, but it's not a bad base of operations for exploring the Vina/Valparaiso area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monterilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterilla

Address: Dos Norte 65 | Plaza México, Vina del Mar 2520242, Chile
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Vina del Mar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 44 Hotels in Vina del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monterilla 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming, pleasant, unique, and contemporary; this is how we are. Our charm can be felt in the ambiance and on the walls decorated with the fineness of modern art: original oil paintings and engravings of important Chilean artists.Our warm hospitality reflects on every detail, in the quality of our attention, and in the dedication and comfort we offer.Something more? We have the best location: the perfect combination for the best price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Monterilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterilla Hotel Vina Del Mar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monterilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.