We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant a delight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Restaurant Cap Ducal

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Vina del Mar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Restaurant Cap Ducal
Save Saved
You added Hotel Restaurant Cap Ducal to your Saves list
Avda. La Marina 51, Vina del Mar, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 43 hotels in Vina del Mar
florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Restaurant a delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We didn't stay overnight here but you can't walk by this ocean liner designed hotel/restaurant without being intrigued. We lingered over lunch, the view, watching the diving pelicans, enjoying the atmosphere. The food was okay - nothing special but after some really awful over salted, overcooked meals in Chile and Argentina 'average' worked for us. But the Chilean wines recommended by the friendly waiter were superb.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    27
    10
    6
    3
See reviews for
11
40
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We passed by this restaurant during the day while walking around Vina del Mar. Immediately we were intrigued by its unique location and structure however it seemed slightly run-down during the day. There were tons of pelicans sitting atop the building leaving droppings everywhere. Needless to say, we skipped the restaurant for lunch. However for dinner we really wanted to eat somewhere with an ocean view so we gave the restaurant another chance. Since it was dark out, most of the location's inferiorities were masked. We sat at a table lit by candlelight next to the window. It was an amazing experience with beautiful views of the city lights and the noise of the waves crashing against the building. The waiter was extremely courteous and even though he didn't speak much English, that didn't stop him from trying to impress my parents who don't speak any Spanish. We ordered a mixture of entrees at our table (beef, chicken and fish) and all were delicious. Everybody was a member of the clean-plate club that night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed at The Cap Ducal in Vina del Mar while visiting our daughter who did a study abroad in Valparaiso Jan.-Aug. 2011. The place is amazing!!! We had one of the suites on the top floor-- windows for 180 degrees. A view of a German Castle, the sea and the city of Vina del Mar.A huge bedroom, nothing but windows and a nice sitting area with a daybed. If you like a standard hotel room, don't stay here! The Sheraton is right up the street for twice the price. However, if you are a traveler rather than a tourist Cap Ducal is the place to stay. The staff were so helpful and the restaurant was great! Try the Conger Eel. Complimentary breakfast every morning with fresh strawberry, orange and grapefruit juices, meats, cheeses and local fruit. Our daughter's friends from school were even welcome to join us. If you really want a true Chilean experience, this is the place to stay!!!!!!

Room Tip: You can look at all the rooms, very unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC CANADA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

We really enjoy the food but the the real draw for me is sitting at a table by the window looking down at the ocean crashing against the rocks below. One previous review complained about the place being shabby. I suppose it is a little tired but I tend to over look worn furniture and fittings as long as it is clean with good food and service. Having lunch there is probably better if you want daylight to watch out to sea but they have lighting down below the windows if you are there after dark.I attached a copy of the blll so you get an idea of the prices.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

CAP DUCAL

Shabby, rundown and seriously in need of investment!

OVERVIEW:

Overhanging the Pacific Ocean, the ocean liner like Cap Ducal was once one of Viña del Mar’s finest and most romantic hotels. Sadly that time has long passed.

After a very pleasant lunch at Casas de Bosque in the Casablanca Valley, we decided to spend the evening at the Enjoy casino in Viña del Mar rather than return home to Santiago. As we worked our way through the list of local hotels we found, that as it was peak season, no one had availability. No one that is except Cap Ducal, who had two rooms free. Having stayed there it is obvious why.

Over the years there has been little maintenance or improvements, and I suspect it is several decades since the bedrooms and bathrooms were refurbished. At breakfast the next morning, we joked that the hotel could well be the set for a horror movie where nothing has changed since it opened in 1936 in reverence to its long dead founder who can still been seen walking the corridors at night!

Don’t get me wrong, the wood panelling, spiral staircases and old wooden elevator could be delightful features if they had been well maintained. Sadly they have not been; and decades old furnishings, worn carpets, a dank smell in the elevator don’t help!

OUR ROOM:

We stayed in an ocean facing room costing CLP 60,000 (GBP 80 / USD 120) per night including breakfast. There was no air conditioning and the furnishings looked several decades old.

The bathroom was small and basic, with just a few very basic toiletries provided.

The sound of the waves crashing on the rocks below could have been quite romantic, but there is also a lot of traffic noise from the road which passes within a few meters of the hotel.

FOOD & DRINK:

For breakfast there was a reasonable choice of cereals, yoghurt, ham, cheese, jams and various types of sliced bread accompanied by tea, coffee and fruit juice. It was surprisingly good.

STAFF:

All of the staff we met were very helpful and friendly.

The receptionist spoke both English (my native language) and Spanish (my girlfriends native language).

FINALLY:

To stay here for one night as we did, just using the hotel as a place to sleep, is bearable, but more than that would be intolerable.

DATES

We stayed at Cap Ducal for 1 night on 28 January 2012

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

A unique,old world feeling. Looks like an ocean liner from long ago inside. Old wood interior,with spiral staircases up to rooms and in the dining room. Also has an old world elevator if you wish. Rooms for most part are huge. 2 bathrooms in some. Jacuzzi in some . Almost all are over the ocean with fabulous views. Costs average $135.00 per nite canadian, and a tax will be added. Lots of beaches, Walk to town, Casino next street over. Resteraunt down stairs. Breakfast included each day. Staff are wonderful. Food is very good as well here. This is better value than some of the more well known hotel chains. And the Chilean people are the finest you will ever meet. Loved it all.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2010

Jan 2, 2010 | Trip type: Couples We have stayed here four different times over the last decade, and also at the Cap Ducal in Santiago, so we have huge family loyalty to this hotel. It serves the best seafood, in our estimation, in all of Vina, especially any of the congrio or corvina dishes, and in the most romantic setting. Reserve a table on the second landing to see the waves crashing on the rocks and building. As their motto proclaims," We are not by the sea but in the sea." Your hotel room overlooks miles of sea and pelicans at your window and sea lions cavorting below and as far as the eye can see, there are miles of beach and the twinkling lights of Vina del Mar beyond. It is the most romantic and most desirable location. Though beside a busy highway, you only hear the wonderful crashing of waves. The woodwork throughout the hotel is lovely and even the views from the hallway are photoworthy: a view of Wulff Castle museum up the road, also on the sea, and a view of the Presidential summer palace gardens from another window.

Still, we checked out midpoint for a different hotel. Over the years there have been no improvements or little maintenance. Torn carpeting on the stairs in dining room. Police tape cordons off two 8X4 holes in the approaching sidewalk (one was there in Jan 2008) and the source is evident from your window in the room: the sea wall has two huge holes about 20 feet below and the waves are slowly eating out the understructure. Then there are the little things that many will put up with because of the views. The impossible tiny bathrooms, with doors banging against users inside. Terrifying jumps down from the very high tub and no grab bar. No place to put down, much less store, toothpaste, cosmetics, toiletries, shaver. Remember too that in Vina you need to buy water, not brush teeth from the tap, so there's no space for that. One tiny glass shelf is used up with stupid stuff --an organdy covered, satin be-ribboned tissue box. Your complimentary toiletries include a tooth-yanking shampoo packet, ditto for soap which will not open unless you have scissors or a knife. No conditioner. An electrocution-style hair dryer from the 1960's.

We have several times moved our room (they were nice about it!) because there was no space for folded clothes--just hangers for suits and dresses. In our 4th floor room wifi didn't work, though one of the two Spanish alphabet computers below worked out the front door in a cubicle. So free wifi is available but it didn't work in our room. The cable channel in English flickers, scrolls up like an ancient TV and the sound is just roaring static.

Then there is the medieval 2 person elevator. Don't get in unless someone knows to look for you at end of the ride. (1) It is a double doored affair with a child-menacing accordian interior door, which you have to close on leaving. (2) That means, you have to reach inside and manually drag the door to a close and then make sure it "clicks." If you forgot, the next rider has to take the stairs, maybe 3 or 4 floors up, close it for you before it will move. (3) Sometimes the elevator gets stuck between floors. There is no marked call button, panic button, no phone. You bang on the heavy oak-paneled walls that carry no sound; you bang your key on the exterior glass overlooking the crashing waves below. The hotel was empty when it happened to me. We immediatley checked out the next morning, and to their credit, an elevator mechanic was already making repairs as we departed.

I can't take the shabby and sometimes menacing disrepair. It is the most beautiful site in town but needs massive infusions of money to make it as comfortable as Motel 6. Still if romance with a lot of inconvenience is what you want, at a very modest price ($120--price never changes!), do phone them for a reservation. There is no website and the hotelschile web just sits on your request for weeks without booking you. A cheap phone call is the way to book. And if you don't want to hazard a room, be sure to have one grand meal at the Cap Ducal. It breaks my heart to not recommend staying at the Cap Ducal.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Restaurant Cap Ducal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Cap Ducal

Address: Avda. La Marina 51, Vina del Mar, Chile
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Vina del Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Vina del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is, since 1936, a unique and distinguished in Vina del Mar: its incredible architecture similar to that of a boat perched on the rocks makes this hotel a true visual spectacle.With its long tradition characterized by personal attention, warmth, luxury and good taste, Cap Ducal Hotel is a treat for the senses: not only for the detailed interior and the view from there is derived from the Pacific Ocean, but also for its elaborate and refined gastronomic menu.Its 25 rooms have all the benefits that can lead to need during his stay in Vina del Mar: telephone, private bathroom, cable TV, minibar, wireless internet, 24 hour room service, breakfast buffet, safe, change foreign exchange, laundry, parking and more caregiver.Do not miss the opportunity to enjoy unforgettable moments at the Hotel Cap Ducal, where in addition to finding a place designed for your comfort will be able to enjoy the most varied seafood specialties. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cap Ducal Vina Del Mar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Restaurant Cap Ducal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.