We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable clean hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ankara Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ankara Hotel to your Saves list
Ankara Hotel
Avenida San Martin 476, Vina del Mar, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Vina del Mar
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Comfortable clean hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This hotel is well located and has friendly helpful staff. The wifi is a bit unstable but it's free. The suite we booked was spacious and clean and fairly well equipped
Breakfast is limited and if not included it may be worth going out lots of cafes nearby

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    21
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
7
30
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Nice hotel, nice staff, excellent place, but internet doesn't work properly, specially in the rooms, bath throws water all over, and waiters in breakfast room are slow and unefficient - it takes 20 minutes to bring you a cup of coffee.Anyway, I would come back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontrealCanada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

We were there in march 2012 for 3 nights what a nice hotel, very clean, well renovated, nice staff at the reception and at the restaurant. Very good breakfast and very very good capucino in the morning, The hotel offer free internet. Very close to the beach and restaurants.We will be back at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

The hotel is close to the beach as the advertisement says but not the beach for swimming which is a 15 minute walk not complaining about the walk but there is a difference between a beach for swimming and one for view.
The hotel rooms are quite small so do not bring too many suitcases and other than that the rooms are kept very clean by the staff.
The front desk will go out of their way to help you and are there for you. There was one hic up on a tour we did as we got a Spanish speaking guide but the guide we had was a very hospitable individual who went out of his way to show us Valparaíso and Vina del Mar. If you have a good grasp of Spanish ask for Senor Luis to be your guide as he was wonderful.
A big plus is the free internet.
Only thing that I can say was annoying was breakfast staff of three who tend to hide and it takes a long time to get juice and coffee. This can be easily solved by management through training.
I would still come back to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

The hotel is a nice property and well-run hotel. It is also very well located and the staff is very helpful and friendly. Also, the hotel is quiet, even though there is quite a bit of traffic on the road in front of it.

The breakfast is very nice, too, but for a European like myself, it can be a bit confusing. There is a buffet part, but the selection is a bit limited. However, you can ask the waiter for many things that are not on the buffet, like omelets and they´ll make it for you and bring it to your table. But, if you are not used to this service, it might take you until the 2nd or 3rd morning until you understand how this works. Also, while the service at breakfast is very friendly, it could be a bit better, because the waiters seem to forget orders at times.

The rooms are nice and modern, but they are small. Especially, if you are on a business trip, there really is no other space but your bed to sit on and work.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2009

It appears to be over 2 years since the last review of the Ankara Hotel, but it is still "under construction" in 2009. At $115 US, I found this hotel to be overpriced and unworthy of its self-proclaimed 4* rating.

The rooms are on the small side, but generally well appointed. My main issues came with the service and amenities beyond the room. The hotel has only one small elevator, making it almost impossible for 2 people and their bags to make the trip at the same time. And the lobby, which still appears to be about 6 months away from completion, is not much more than a hallway. After checking out, when I asked to use the bathroom, they directed me to the Esso gas station down the street. No public restroom in the hotel?

A few other small issues that I found odd during my stay:
1. No corkscrew available at the front desk
2. Being charged for the chocolates they put on your pillow.

For the right price, this hotel may be worth a shot, but I would highly advise looking elsewhere in Vina del Mar.

Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Ankara for two nights in mid-December ($104/night). It was wonderful! The hotel is conveniently located near to the beach and many restaurants. The hotel is in the process of finishing-up a remodel (there was a little construction going on during the day- but we were told of this beforehand and it did not hamper our stay) and the rooms are new and fresh.

Our room had a comfy king bed, a limited ocean view, Jacuzzi tub, and flat screen TV with many channels. It was very comfortable. There is also turn down service with tasty pastries. The breakfast buffet was good, although I'd recommend arriving on the earlier side if you want to have the full food choices available. The staff was friendly and helpful with getting taxis etc.

We would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ankara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ankara Hotel

Address: Avenida San Martin 476, Vina del Mar, Chile
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Vina del Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Vina del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 293
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Ankara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ankara Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.