We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious old hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel O'Higgins

Save Saved
You added Hotel O'Higgins to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel O'Higgins
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza Vergara w/n, Vina del Mar, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 43 hotels in Vina del Mar
florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Gracious old hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

When was the last time you saw elevator operators? The bathroom ceiling was moldy and the tile grout hadn't been scrubbed in the last decade but we grew quite fond of the old gal. We would have preferred to be closer to the Pacific. It was about a 20 minute walk to the promendade and the Plaza Vergara area is in the heart of town. We found ourselves in the midst of Xmas shoppers. But the price was reasonable, about $125 a night and the breakfast was excellent. They will even make eggs to order. The pool was heated, in a nice setting and swimmable. A much better deal than the overpriced "boutique hotels" in Valparaiso. You can catch a local bus and be in Valpo in no time to sightsee and take photos. On the downside, few places to eat in the O'Higgens neighborhood other than sandwich and pizza joints nearby. And if you've come to Vina del Mar expecting picturesque cafes and shops along the seaside, you've come to the wrong place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    25
    37
    28
    30
See reviews for
16
44
5
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Campinas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

The hotel is quite old, and the rooms need to be reformed. Also, the room maids seems to think they know better than you about where your things should be placed (I had problems finding my stuff a couple of times because of that) - they should better pay more attention to their cleaning duties...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Québec
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

We had booked for 7 nights in this large hotel (some 250 rooms) that is some 80 years old.
The public rooms (entrance hall, restaurants, bar, etc.) have been modernized and offer a spacious and inviting lobby area.
The hotel is very well located and the breakfast (included) delicious (plenty of fresh fruits, pastries, yogurts and charcuteries) for all tastes.
The room given to us was one of the few with a balcony. It was large, with a large bathroom and a modern shower (the “rain” type). But it takes more than a modern shower and a large TV flat screen to make up for some deficiencies.
The only wastepaper basket was in the bath room. The door to the bathroom could not be shut. There were no bars to hang our towels on, nor a wash basin stopper to prevent objects from disappearing in the drain. Whenever we turned the cold water tap on, the pipes went on drumming and banging!
The staff is very nice, but we had to ask for the few who spoke English more or less fluently (disappointing for a hotel that has so many guests in a city that hosts an international festival). Consequently there were a lot of misunderstandings. For instance, we had specifically asked for the towels NOT to be changed and expected to be heard given that the hotel advertizes a concern for the environment, but to no avail. Even my shower cap was taken away, as if I could not use it again! Even though Panamericana Hoteles state in every room their concern for the environment and the number of towels to be washed every day, the maid harassed us to change our towels every time they saw us ! Nothing seems to be recycled at the hotel, even though there are recycling bins close by.
We could not get confirmation about one of the tours we had booked, and the infos that we got were contradictory. Consequently, on the morning of our tour, we had to cancel our participation, because the last minute driver/guide to whom the tour operator had subcontracted did not speak English contrary to the info given to us the previous day.
The hotel tries hard: it organized a special dinner for Valentine’s day with a wonderful menu, and hosts different events.
Nicole (who speaks fairly well in English at front desk tried a lot but did not seem to be empowered to do much, and Josué at the concierge desk went out of his way to help us.
To sum it all, difficult not to recognize the inherent class of this hotel, but its owners will definitely have to invest in a thorough modernization of the hotel (adding air conditioning, for ex.) if they want to keep their clientele in the years to come, for they have competitors in Vina del Mar and surroundings!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on New Year's Eve and the price was US $200 for the night (there was no availability at the Sheraton where we had previously stayed). Overall we were disappointed. At first, we were put in a very old, tried, dirty room, and I just couldn't stay there and insisted that we were moved. To be fair, they did move us to a more modern room, although it was still not what I would describe as comfortable. The breakfast offering was poor also. The only featue of note is the original lifts which are manually operated which has its own character. This place is best avoided - try the Sheraton instead and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Demand a modern room - this should have an electronic room card.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Top Contributor
308 reviews 308 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
431 helpful votes 431 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

i have to admit i like old style hotels and morbid charme sometimes so this is it. of course it is faded and 100 years old but has got still its charms. they unfortunately never renovate in this country (haha) but in spite of scary staircases and no aircondition you can see it was the best place in town. it is not soo clean.so dont expect german or american standards,south america is different.if you can grab it for less than 60 us take it, more than this will be a waste of money. it is localized pretty centrally and you just walk out, three blocks west and you are on the beach,in front of it are restaurants and a supermarket (santa isabel) which is quite convenient if you dont want to pay 5 us for a coke inside the premises. very close to the bus station ,so you can walk over in case you arrive from santiago without using your own car. lots of small shops on the way where yopu can buy everything from cheese to bikes :)
at night not the safest area though. if you like the old style take this hotel if you are in for more contemporate style the sheraton (much pricier!!) is your choice.
avoid it in the high season (dec to march) because it is crowded with awful noisy argentinians,a real plague in vina :) sorry for thAT but it is the truth !!!
just ask anyone :)
have fun in chile !!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iquique, Chile
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

This used to be the fanciest hotel in the city, and used to be very expensive. Until the 90's all the artists of "Festival de Viña" stayed here and tv shows were broadcasted from the swimming pool. Time changes everything and now it is average in price (anyway you can feel like a rockstar!!). I stayed for one night in December and I really enjoyed the service; buffet breakfast was good and with several alternatives. Facilities are old but working fairly good, the swimming pool was out of service, but honestly it wasn't an issue because I didn't stay at the hotel because of the swimming pool! Check-in is at 3pm but you can use free of charge luggage storage in the meantime. The rooms are old-fashioned but the best was the bed and the pillows, really lovely!! Bathrooms are clean, little problems with shower drain...The highlight of the hotel is its location in Viña downtown, 3 blocks from bus station, public transportation at the door, so you can easily move to Valparaiso, Reñaca or take a walk around. I honestly recommend this hotel if you're planning to visit the city and you want a cozy bed at night!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

We selected this place largely for its proximity to our son who is living in Vina for the semester studying. I wish I had read the reviews first. The hotel was probably awesome in its hey-day, but it reminds me more of "What ever happened to Baby Jane" than anything. It is in the midst of renovations, which means that there are workmen everywhere, and the banging begins at 8:30 am. The rooms seem unfinished: the bed was great, with good linens, but the room had a dorm fridge, no chairs, the brand new safe wasn't plugged in, there was nothing on the walls at all (no mirror, art, etc.) and the bathroom had a killer shower head, but crummy old tile, poor drainage, and the most vile filthy air vent. The whole place was just weird. I would suggest that they just close for however long the renovations are going to take and then reopen with new great rooms, instead of limping along with half-done everything. English is not the strong suit of the hotel staff, but they tried. Overall, I'd say in a year, maybe I'd consider it, IF, IF the renovations are done. Otherwise, forget it. After two nights we moved to the Sheraton Miramar and loved it, even though it was more expensive.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel O'Higgins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel O'Higgins

Address: Plaza Vergara w/n, Vina del Mar, Chile
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Vina del Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 43 hotels in Vina del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel O'Higgins 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel O'Higgins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel o Higgins
Aloft Vina Del Mar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel O'Higgins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.