We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location in vina del Mar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mediterraneo B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mediterraneo B&B to your Saves list
Mediterraneo B&B
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Uno Oriente 760, Vina del Mar, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 49 Vina del Mar B&B and Inns
Waikuku beach
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good location in vina del Mar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here,( thanks to Gloria for her friendly helpful manner). The hostel was clean and comfortable and the location great for easy access to Vina Del Mar and the beach, as well as close proximity to buses to Valparaiso. We walked back from Valparaiso along the the beach front to the hostel and felt safe even though it was getting late at night. We appreciated being able to leave our bags at the hotel after the check out time and catching a later bus back to Santiago.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    33
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
19
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

A few more words to elaborate what I summarized in the title.

The B&B is clean and so are the rooms. It is not an upscale place but we felt it was well maintained. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom just about convenient.

Breakfast was good - there was cereal, bread, juice, milk and fruits (we are vegetarians so we skipped the meat slices).

The location is extremely convenient. The beach is an easy walk away so are restaurants and shops (grocery and otherwise). The Fonck museum is just a couple of blocks by walk as also the Ave. Libertad (to get a quick bus to Valpo).

Antonella and her husband are very friendly with quick suggestions on attractions mainstream and off-the-beaten track. We were traveling with two kids (10 and 4) and I followed his suggestion to go to the Caletas Portales to watch the pelicans and the sea lions. Was that a hit! That was the highlight of Vina del Mar for our kids (until we went to play at the beach).

We will certainly stay there on our next visit and highly recommend it for those of you who don't mind an affordable, convenient and quiet place to spend the night(s).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Hotel was great for a budget hotel, but I didn't feel price reflected quality of rooms and common parts. But there was not a lot of choice when I booked and I was not unhappy with the room we were given. The furnishings and decorations were tired and the whole place could do with a complete renovation but it was lovely and clean and the staff were helpful. Breakfast was plentiful and we found a couple of excellent local restaurants (from TripAdvisor) less than 4 blocks away. It is in a lovely residential neighbourhood - not easily walkable fro the centre with luggage - but taxis are cheap and we were able to get a bus back from Valparaiso that dropped us off just one block away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Very good and very clean B and B. 10 minutes walk to beach and in a good area easily accessed from Ave Libertad. Very helpful and nice young couple as hosts. Good value especially with private off street parking in this busy seaside resort. Decent breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
urbana, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Antonella was extremely helpful after we arrived in Vina del Mar. The B&B, a large converted house in a good neighborhood is basic, clean, quiet and economical. There is a supermarket for water and basic food and a pharmacy, both take charge cards, half a block away as well as a variety of restaurants (Must try empanadas), I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Walls are very thin on first floor and you hear the comings and goings in lobby; might be quieter up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barranquilla, Colombia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Charming house off the main strip a few blocks from the beach, our stay was enjoyable and quiet. Antonella is very sweet and always ready with a call for a taxi, restaurant recommendation, etc. The house is very nice from the outside and still needs alot of work inside. That said, I would repeat that it was quiet and relaxing. As someone else said (and you can´t really blame the owners for this, but it may be something they want to look at improving?), the plumbing pipe noise is pretty loud, but again this is a very minor detail and shouldn´t stand in the way of choosing this place for a good bargain. Vina and Valparaiso are neat little cities, well worth a day or two each.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

This b&b is clean, relaxed, and right near the beach and many restaurants and other attractions in vina. The owners are friendly and for $65/night, I felt like it was okay value. Our room wasn't luxurious but it was big and very clean. It felt a little like staying over at someone's house, not much like a hotel at all. The breakfast has good coffee, toast, granola, yogurt, ham and cheese, juice, and lots of fresh fruit. I got the feeling that some rooms were more fancily appointed that others. They have parking and can store your luggage pre-departure. Not a bad choice at all.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mediterraneo B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterraneo B&B

Address: Uno Oriente 760, Vina del Mar, Chile
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Vina del Mar
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Vina del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mediterraneo B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mediterraneo B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mediterraneo B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.