We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Thai food, but overpriced for the location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Terrace Restaurant

Thai Terrace Restaurant
Al Attar Centre, Sheikh Khalifa Bin Zayed Road (Trade Centre Road) | Al Karama, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
04-3969356
Improve this listing
Ranked #986 of 5,571 Restaurants in Dubai
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
London
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good Thai food, but overpriced for the location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

If you want good solid Thai food, you can't go wrong here. The staff are really helpful and veggie friendly - they made an effort to point out anything with fish in it, and made sure that the vegetarians in our group were well catered for.

The menu has new prices pencilled in over the original prices, and most dishes have gone up by about 15 Dirhams. Given the area and the prices that neighbouring restaurants charge, the food is overpriced.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    13
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Nice Thai fare but overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Thai Terrace is one of the best Thai places in Dubai if you consider normal places (as opposed to "licensed" hotel restaurants). The food is good, the quality of seafood and meat used is good as well, unlike some other Thai places which offer good food with poor quality meat/shrimps.
However, they have become very pricey over the past 2 years which is strange given that most restaurants did not raise prices in that time period. Even a small serving of appetiziers starts at 50 dhs which is way more than what many comparable places charge, with appetizers from 20-60 dhs and mains from 30-40 onwards.
my favorite items include the dried beef, Tom yam soup, and spicy fried rice.
Service has been friendly everytime that we have been there.
I would have loved to visit this place once a month, but given its price increases, i think i will only do so twice a year, i dont see any point in spending 200+ for a meal in any restaurant in Karama

  • Visited October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The Best Thai Food in Dubai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

This restaurant consistently offers the best thai food!
Here are the musts:
1) Fish Cakes
2) Tom Yam
3) Tom Kha
4) All curries
5) Sticky Rice with Mango

Great food and very standard prices. The only thing is that the ambience aint that great! My Family & I love this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Papaya Salad (spicy) Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2008

Papaya Salad (spicy) Fantastic

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Simple, fresh food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2008

Simple, fresh food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Terrace Restaurant also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Thai Terrace Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Terrace Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.