We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok, will not return” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Amwaj Rotana

Save Saved
You added Amwaj Rotana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amwaj Rotana
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Walk, Jumeirah Beach Residence | P.O. Box 86834, Dubai, U.A.E., Dubai 86834, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 475 hotels in Dubai
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Just ok, will not return”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This hotel is located in a good part of Dubai: JBR. The beach isn't too far away and there are many restaurants just a short walk away. The positive parts of our stay: the breakfast buffet was really large and enjoyable. It's one of the best breakfast buffets I've had during my 3 years living here in UAE. The staff was also very friendly and helpful.

The drawbacks: there was ALOT of construction outside which was annoying, loud and a big eye sore. Our room, 1610, was just ok...very basic and nothing fancy about it. The bed was quite comfortable (the pillows were quite flat though) and the room clean, but I've stayed in much better hotels. Another huge drawback was the lack of accessibility to the beach as it's quite far and a maze through construction and other buildings trying to get there. I also thought the pool was very small and quite crowded. What else bothered me was the loud music outside until 1:30am. We stayed on the 16th floor and could hear it very well even while being so high up. You could also hear the construction off in the distance. Overall, it was an ok experience, but I will not stay here again. There are much better options in Dubai. I've stayed in several Rotana hotels, and I'm really not a fan. There are much better hotels in Dubai. The Sheraton right across the street is smaller and older, but it's much closer to the beach and has a lovely garden seating area out front.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmwajRotana, General Manager at Amwaj Rotana, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Fixureyes81,

As part of our continuing effort to provide superior customer service, the constructive feedback from valued clients such as yourself is always greatly appreciated.

I wish to assure you that despite certain factors being beyond our control, we always strive to exceed our guest’s expectation and work together as a team to provide you with experiences that you treasure.

While it’s our constant endeavour to provide you with the best of the times, it may not have been the case this time.

Thank you once again for your valuable comments and constructive feedback.

Sincerely yours,

Enad Tannous
General Manager
Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah-Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    338
    214
    49
    18
    26
See reviews for
110
262
41
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

My family and I have just returned from a 5 night stay here , our first time in Dubai. We arrived at around 2.00 am after horrendous queues at Passport control in Dubai Airport.

The staff at the Hotel on arrival were friendly and we upgraded to the Club Rotana ( better room on 23 of 25 floors, also which gave us breakfast at the Club Rotana lounge on floor 25 as well as free unlimited Wifi for up to 3 devices and free soft drinks tea and coffee throughout the day at the same lounge ) The cost for the upgrade was about £68 per day but we feel it was worth it.
The view of Jumeirah beach and across to the Palm from our room was fantastic, Air con worked well ( thank goodness ) and the cleaning and turn down service was very good and done daily.
Yes there is a lot of low level building work going on in front of the Hotel between the Hotel and the beach, but to be honest we had read about that before we came, and also it was in front of most of the hotels on Jumeirah Beach and it didn't really bother us, also most guests were in the same boat in all the Hotels along there. It may have been because our room was so high that the noise was minimal.
One thing we did notice was that the staff on the front Desk although polite and willing to please spoke pretty poor English, and having had to repeat yourself numerous times we always came away thinking that they didn't really grasp the essence of our conversation. An Example would be a Room Service waiter waking us all up at 3.30am on Tuesday morning with a lovely trolley full of Breakfast, shame that we had ordered the breakfast on our leaving morning which was Thursday. Another morning call to the room on Wednesday telling us our transport to a trip we had requested was here, we had not arranged any such trip.
On complaining to the reception staff a polite smile and shrugged shoulders was all we got.
The Pool and pool area although nice and refreshing seems to be in the shade most of the day from the other adjacent high rise buildings, maybe it's just that time of year I don't know ?
Happy hour runs from 6.00pm until 9.00pm at the Hotel which made drinks somewhat cheaper.

The beach is a 5 minute walk but is lovely and clean with white sands and crystal clear water which seemed as warm as bathwater, I have never spent as much time in the sea on any other Holiday.
There are many restaurants on the Jumeirah Beach Walk ( turn right out of the Hotel and there is a mile strip full of different eating places )But remember most are not licensed so soft drinks only. Another couple of things we enjoyed were the Fountain displays at the Dubai Mall at the base of the Burj Kalifa ( Highest building in the world and very impressive ) from 6.00pm every half hour until 10.00pm the displays are simply fantastic and free.
Wild Wadi Water park is great, but expensive and busy with queuing for most slides but still great fun.
Taxi's are pretty cheap and much cheaper than here, but make sure you get the local Taxi's ( beige colour with coloured roofs) as any others are private Taxi's and you will get stung with much higher charges.
For anyone Holidaying here I would invest in the Entertainer books ( two volumes with hundreds of buy one get one free offers ) we bought direct from entertainer online before we left and cost us £60 , a trip to the water park and one restaurant and it had paid for itself. There are people selling used ones on Ebay, dont bother as all the good stuff will have been used.

Anyway to sum up, Dubai is a great place, with far too many things to do in 4 days so we will be going back. Would we go back to the Amwaj Rotana , the answer would be yes but we will probably try a different Hotel next time.

Room Tip: The higher the better we say.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmwajRotana, General Manager at Amwaj Rotana, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Hutchy,

Thank you for the detailed feedback on our hotel and services. We do apologise for the errors in service you had encountered and we hope to be able to make up for them in the future.

We also thank you for your understanding regarding the construction next to the hotel and we are glad to know that this did not affect your stay with us.

Dubai is indeed an interesting city with plenty of activities on offer. We therefore, hope to be given the chance to welcome you again at Amwaj Rotana on your next trip to discover more of Dubai.

Yours sincerely,

Enad Tannous
General Manager
Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah-Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The stay was a 26 hour stop over en route Seychelles to London and I am so glad we did. The hotel was magnificent, the staff were helpful without being in your face and we got an upgraded room on the 16th floor. Views were magnificent and only slightly marred by the building work between the hotel and the beach. That shopping mall will be finished by the time we return. Travelling on the metro into Dubai Mall was incredibly cheap and eating out wasn't as bad as I'd feared. The hotel breakfast was tremendous and we were very sorry to leave.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmwajRotana, General Manager at Amwaj Rotana, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Keith,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor. We are glad that although it was a short stop, we were able to make you feel comfortable during your stay.

Thank you for your compliments on the breakfast and the service you encountered during your stay. You have certainly offered us encouragement to keep providing the highest level of hospitality to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward welcoming you again on your next visit to Dubai.

Yours sincerely,

Enad Tannous
General Manager
Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah-Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights and could not get out fast enough.

There was constant banging, thumping, moving of furniture, drilling, and talking up stairs which was extremely loud and disruptive. This noise went far into 1-2 in the morning every night.

Secondly , the major construction work in front of the hotel caused loud drilling , metal banging, and beeping noise 24 hours a day! They do not stop construction here overnight.

When we complained about the noise (inside and out) the hotel staff simply said they could not do anything.

We would NOT recommend not return to this hotel again . It left us sleep deprived and far from relaxed

Stay away!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmwajRotana, General Manager at Amwaj Rotana, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Bobbiebrian,

We are indeed apologetic for the inconvenience you have experienced during your stay with us. Whilst the development works taking place around us are beyond our control, we do apologise for any shortfalls you may have experienced in our service when highlighting the issue. This is not a reflection of the standards we wish to accord our guests.

We keep all booking agencies and our web channels up to date with the latest information on the development around us so as to prepare our guests prior to their visit in order to avoid situations such as those you have experienced. Nevertheless, we do hope to be able to recover our service to you in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Enad Tannous
General Manager
Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah-Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

The stay was so pleasant coz of the company i had but right from go, my stay at d hotel was fantastic. I was upgraded to a better room, housekeeping was at my back to know if i need nything reception ppl very helpful environment cool, nice bar good views from d balcony, lukin forward to b bak again.....

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmwajRotana, General Manager at Amwaj Rotana, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Ausaf,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah Beach Dubai via Tripadvisor.

Our team was really pleased to read your positive feedback about the facilities, the service and location of our hotel. Receiving such wonderful comments means a lot for us as they will drive us to keep doing our best and maintain our quality of service.

I look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you to Amwaj Rotana once again.

Sincerely yours,

Enad Tannous
General Manager
Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah-Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We were greeted by a warm welcome at the fornt of the hotel and proceeded to check in at the front desk. Since we had booked a club room, we were promptly escorted to the lift and taken to the lounge on 25th (top) floor of the hotel, where we recieved a freshing drink and were efficiently checked in. Our luggage had been delivered to our room, while we were completing the check in process. The room was spotlessly clean and the bed very comfortable. A platter of fruit was delivered just after we got to our room, which was anice touch.

We had afternoon tea was served in the club lounge between 3.30 -5.30 and then drinks and canapes between 6-8pm.

The club lounge offers free wifi and a business centre where you can check in on line and print boarding cards

The staff could not do enought to help us and were alway polite and courteous, greeting us by our name every time we were in the lounge. We felt part of the family and would be happy to return again when staying in Dubai.

There is construction work infront of the hotel beside the beach, where a shopping centre is being built. This did not spoil our stay and since our room was on 23rd floor we did not notice any noise during our stay.

Room Tip: High floor for rooms offer views over to the Palm and the sea land
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmwajRotana, General Manager at Amwaj Rotana, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Steve,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Club Rotana certainly adds an extra touch of comfort for our guests and we are glad that you had the opportunity to experience it.

We will share your compliments with our team and look forward to welcoming you back with open arms.

Yours sincerely,

Enad Tannous
General Manager
Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah-Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

This a good hotel with great views,nice staff and a great location. The rooms and hotel in general are looking ready for a refurb. I would say its a 3 star because of this. The food was bland but ok . I would stay again but only if it was a deal. 6/10

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmwajRotana, General Manager at Amwaj Rotana, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Dodgym,

Thank you for choosing Amwaj Rotana Hotel and for taking the time in giving your feedback.

We are however disappointed to know that we failed to meet your expectations in some areas and would like to sincerely apologize for the same.

I wish to assure that despite certain factors being beyond our control, we always strive to exceed our guests expectations and work together as a team to provide you with experiences that you treasure.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you in our hotel and hope that this will not deter you from using our facilities in the future.

Sincerely,

Enad Tannous
General Manager
Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah Beach-Dubai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amwaj Rotana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amwaj Rotana

Address: The Walk, Jumeirah Beach Residence | P.O. Box 86834, Dubai, U.A.E., Dubai 86834, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#63 Business Hotel in Dubai
#68 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#77 Top resorts Hotel in Dubai
#100 Family Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amwaj Rotana 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A high-class holiday is no longer just a pipe dream. Make the dream become reality when you chose to stay at Amwaj Rotana. Located just a stone's throw away from the Arabian Gulf and in the midst of new Dubai, it couldn’t be more convenient. Idle along the famous restaurant and shopping strip known as “The Walk”. With endless sunshine you’ll soon realise that this is an idyllic retreat for those wanting a holiday that has it all.Free shuttle service is available from the hotel to the famous Jumeirah Beach Park. Similarly, free shuttle services are also available to Dubai Mall, Dubai Outlet Mall, Mercato Mall, BurJuman Mall and Jumeirah Lake Towers Metro Station. Dubai city maps, shopping malls information and schedule of the shuttle services are available at the Guest Services Desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Amwaj Rotana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amwaj Rotana Hotel Dubai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amwaj Rotana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.