We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break .” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amwaj Rotana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Amwaj Rotana to your Saves list
Amwaj Rotana
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Walk, Jumeirah Beach Residence | P.O. Box 86834, Dubai, U.A.E., Dubai 86834, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #142 of 487 Hotels in Dubai
shropshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Short break .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Large Hotel. Helpful staff.
Rooms could maybe do with a bit of TLC BUT they are large and clean and very comfy bed.
The bar and outdoor bar area is very busy at night, a great atmosphere though but drinks very expensive.
Easy to walk around the busy shops and restaurants at night and nice to be able to not have to cover up legs and shoulders around the Hotel area.
Breakfast had huge choice and was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmwajRotana, General Manager at Amwaj Rotana, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor.

I was very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our services and facilities met with your expectations.

Amwaj Rotana Hotel Team takes pride in providing our guests with the utmost comfort and service and it gives us great pleasure to know that you found our staff service satisfactory.

Thank you again for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely yours,

Timur Ilgaz
General Manager
Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah-Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    244
    54
    19
    28
See reviews for
144
314
45
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here second time on business for a week.

I last visited Dubai about a year and a half ago, and this hotel's standards have not dropped. The rooms do not feel dated. Stayed in the Ocean facing room, and it is a very huge room, with a nice balcony for you to sit and enjoy the open sea.

However, there is a construction right in front of the hotel, and I do fear that it might be high enough to block the view of the ocean in the future. It would be a shame if that were to happen.

Breakfast, staff and service was overall up to standard, however, it seems internet/wi-fi is not free. Whats the deal with that? I expect most hotels, especially anything 3 star and above to give free internet service. Why charge exorbitant amounts for soemthing deemed as a standard amenity?

Room Tip: Get a high floor with sea facing view. Wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmwajRotana, General Manager at Amwaj Rotana, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for choosing the Amwaj Rotana Hotel and for taking time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us on

With regards to the construction works outside the hotel, JBR district is becoming more and more an area of attraction to Dubai residents and visitors, thus the Dubai Government has decided to beautify the beach area for all its visitors.

It is our goal to maintain the highest standards of service to all our guests and we appreciate you having taken the time to write to us. It is only from feedback such as yours that we are able to improve our facilities and services.

Thank you once again and we do look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you to our hotel in the near future.


Yours Sincerely,

Timur Ilgaz
General Manager
Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah Beach-Dubai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Very noisy hotel,construction work throughout the night,noise from down stairs bar,not the most restful holiday.Drinks including water very expensive in hotel.The hotel and staff were very good,although reception staff left room for improvement.

Room Tip: get a room at the back of hotel to avoid noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmwajRotana, General Manager at Amwaj Rotana, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for choosing the Amwaj Rotana Hotel and for taking time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us on

We are however disappointed to know that we failed to meet your expectations in some areas and would like to sincerely apologize for the same. This is not a true reflection of our usual high standards and your feedback has been shared with the respective departments for corrective action to be taken.

With regards to the construction works outside the hotel, JBR district is becoming more and more an area of attraction to Dubai residents and visitors, thus the Dubai Government has decided to beautify the beach area for all its visitors.

It is our goal to maintain the highest standards of service to all our guests and we appreciate you having taken the time to write to us. It is only from feedback such as yours that we are able to improve our facilities and services.

Thank you once again and we do look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you to our hotel in the near future.


Yours Sincerely,

Timur Ilgaz
General Manager
Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah Beach-Dubai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel! The service was amazing with all the staff being so friendly! The hotel was very clean. We had half board so experienced the breakfast and lunch buffets and have to say the selection was amazing and excellent quality so would recommend anyone to go for this option. Also we had dinner at the rossa bar and restaurant which again was good quality and had a great atmosphere.
Yes (as per the previous reviews i read before choosing this hotel) there is construction work going on between the pool and the beach but I couldn't here it unless I opened the balcony doors. And yes being a tall building (we were on the 22nd floor) you do have to stop a few times on the way down at peak times but nothing out of the ordinary and is just a sign its a busy hotel for a reason, cause its just that good! Thanks to all the wonderful staff and we look forward to staying here again soon!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmwajRotana, General Manager at Amwaj Rotana, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor.

I was very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our services and facilities met with your expectations.

Amwaj Rotana Hotel Team takes pride in providing our guests with the utmost comfort and service and it gives us great pleasure to know that you found our staff service satisfactory.

Thank you again for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely yours,

Timur Ilgaz
General Manager
Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah-Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Excelent hotel, nice staff! Conditions are very good. I recommend the rooms with sea view. I'll never understand why in a hotel so good the wire-less is not for free.
The restaurants are good and the Japanese one is fantastic ...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmwajRotana, General Manager at Amwaj Rotana, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor.

I was very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our services and facilities met with your expectations.

Amwaj Rotana Hotel Team takes pride in providing our guests with the utmost comfort and service and it gives us great pleasure to know that you found our staff service satisfactory.

Thank you again for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely yours,

Timur Ilgaz
General Manager
Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah-Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights from the 28th January until 30th January 2012 on the last leg of our honeymoon. On arrival early morning we were unable to get into our room. The receptionist didn't seem too bothered that we were left falling a sleep in the lobby until 11.00 when I went and asked if a room was ready. I would have expected at a 5 star hotel that someone would have come and told us when a room was ready if it wasn't ready on our arrival. The rooms are spacious and very nice. The grounds are nice, the breakfast excellent and there is a nice bar. Can get to and from the beach from the pool area in a lift without having to go across the road which is handy. A major problem with the hotel was the lack of lifts on more than 1 occasion we waited approx 10 minutes for a lift to take us from our floor to reception. Would recommend the Hilton bar for premier league football and best price beers on the beach. Also went to nice Indian called bay of Bombay on the strip. After been given such good customer service at our other 2 hotels in Thailand this hotel was a little disappointing in comparison, despite generally been a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmwajRotana, General Manager at Amwaj Rotana, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Amwaj Rotana Hotel and for taking the time in giving your feedback.

We value all the feedback we get and share it with the team as it helps us in keeping up the motivation level of our staff and continue providing the excellent service we are known for.

We are however disappointed to know that we failed to meet your expectations in some areas and would like to sincerely apologize for the same. This is not a true reflection of our usual high standards and your feedback has been shared with the respective departments for corrective action to be taken.

I look forward to have the pleasure of once again welcoming you and your family to our Hotel in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Timur Ilgaz
General Manager
Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah-Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I attended a four day trip in the middle of February 2013 with my fiancé for her 30th birthday. On arrival I was impressed with the extremely attentive and professional concierge/bellboy service and efficient reception staff. The room was excellent, I had a classic side sea view and it was a great size with modern decor and was spotless, ditto the bathroom. There were the normal amenities, hairdryer, two telephones, air con, sofa and 2 tables, free safe, Rotana toiletries etc and worthy of mention is the great king size bed with awesome pillows and duvets providing a great nights sleep. Its a shame you have to pay extra for wifi, this should be complimentary in a 5* hotel these days. To note with the side sea view rooms the balcony NEVER gets any sun due to the angle of the hotel so bear that in mind when booking. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the two restaurants were both dined at and were very nice. Rossa is more of a bar come restaurant, Benihana is a more conventional eatery serving great food at very reasonable prices. The bar at Rossa is bustling every evening having a great atmosphere. Drinks are relatively expensive especially out of the 'happy hour' with wine being particularly extortionate. It was strange having people smoking next to you and although perfectly legal in Dubai it would be nice for the hotel to adopt a no smoking policy. The poolside bar was brilliant, drinks and food were standard Dubai prices but the service was again exceptional. The pool attendant gave out complimentary towels to those wanting to lounge by the pool or those that wished to go to the beach. As you will be aware from other reviews the pool area is very clean and well dressed but only gets the sun from 11am and starts to shift by around 3 and you have to hunt round for different loungers but thats symptomatic with Dubai's overcrowded high rise hotels.
The main gripe centred around the building works in front of the hotel as they appear to be building yet another shopping mall. It can be seen and heard from the rooms and it can spoil a relaxing afternoon on the loungers by the pool unless you plug your iPod in. Admittedly this is not the hotels fault but it can be a problem as it spoils to view to the sea and means you have to walk around the works to actually get on the beach.
The hotel is located on JBR in between the Sheraton and the Hilton and is right near all the shops and restaurants you would need. Its also perfectly placed to visit the marina which is a stunning area to look at and chill out with a coffee. Taxis and local supermarkets are cheap so an alternative to the expensive room service.
Two things that really impressed me overall about the Amwaj Rotana was on my fiancés birthday room service brought a complimentary chocolate cake and bunch of roses to our room, I thought that was a nice touch. Also, I brought a complaint to the hotel after I arrived home and they were only happy to help and compensated me adequately.
5* service, would return again!

Room Tip: Choose premium room as opposed to side sea view, the higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmwajRotana, General Manager at Amwaj Rotana, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor.

I was very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our services and facilities met with your expectations.

Amwaj Rotana Hotel Team takes pride in providing our guests with the utmost comfort and service and it gives us great pleasure to know that you found our staff service satisfactory.

Thank you again for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely yours,

Timur Ilgaz
General Manager
Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah-Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amwaj Rotana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amwaj Rotana

Address: The Walk, Jumeirah Beach Residence | P.O. Box 86834, Dubai, U.A.E., Dubai 86834, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#107 Business Hotel in Dubai
#117 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#119 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#140 Family Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amwaj Rotana 5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A high-class holiday is no longer just a pipe dream. Make the dream become reality when you chose to stay at Amwaj Rotana. Located just a stone's throw away from the Arabian Gulf and in the midst of new Dubai, it couldn’t be more convenient. Idle along the famous restaurant and shopping strip known as “The Walk”. With endless sunshine you’ll soon realise that this is an idyllic retreat for those wanting a holiday that has it all.Free shuttle service is available from the hotel to the famous Jumeirah Beach Park. Similarly, free shuttle services are also available to Dubai Mall, Dubai Outlet Mall, Mercato Mall, BurJuman Mall and Jumeirah Lake Towers Metro Station. Dubai city maps, shopping malls information and schedule of the shuttle services are available at the Guest Services Desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Amwaj Rotana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amwaj Rotana Hotel Dubai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amwaj Rotana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.