We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Construction 24/7 - No Sleep” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Amwaj Rotana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Amwaj Rotana to your Saves list
Amwaj Rotana
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Walk, Jumeirah Beach Residence | P.O. Box 86834, Dubai, U.A.E., Dubai 86834, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #142 of 487 Hotels in Dubai
Doha, Qatar
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Construction 24/7 - No Sleep”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Construction site in front of the hotel continues 24/7 with no chance of any sleep or relaxation at the pool area.

I was staying at a room with sea view, which was true but this was on the other side of the construction site!

I was not made aware of the possible noise from the construction site at time of booking only three days away and neither at check-in earlier today! I am checking out tomorrow!

By the way, I've tried the Italian restaurant 'Rosso', which is not great - the tappas is not great at all as it is not tappas, but sliced cooked ham, two sorts of non-Itallian sausage and parma ham. Further, the stone oven pizza is wet in the middle, when served, which should not be the case. It should be crisp.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel for the next 12-24 months, when the construction work on the beach should be co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmwajRotana, General Manager at Amwaj Rotana, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for choosing the Amwaj Rotana Hotel and for taking time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us.

We are however disappointed to know that we failed to meet your expectations in some areas and would like to sincerely apologize for the same. This is not a true reflection of our usual high standards and your feedback has been shared with the respective departments for corrective action to be taken.

With regards to the construction works outside the hotel, JBR district is becoming more and more an area of attraction to Dubai residents and visitors, thus the Dubai Government has decided to beautify the beach area for all its visitors. Our Travel Agencies and Online companies are aware of the situation and we have informed them to let the clients know of the on going construction. Likewise, our Reservations Team are making sure that guest booking through phone are aware of the same.

It is our goal to maintain the highest standards of service to all our guests and we appreciate you having taken the time to write to us. It is only from feedback such as yours that we are able to improve our facilities and services.

Thank you once again and we do look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you to our hotel in the near future.


Yours Sincerely,

Timur Ilgaz
General Manager
Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah Beach-Dubai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    244
    54
    19
    28
See reviews for
144
314
45
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Padiham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

just returned from a week in the amwaj rotana and as with other reviews found the service and food excellent - however what is not mentioned is the building work which starts as the pool finishes

the work goes on day and night it stops you sleeping and enjoying the pool area
i agree with the managment there is little they can do about it but they should not charge a supplement for a premier room with a view when the view is mainly of the work

my room was on the 7th floor and the noise from the music down on the terrace which went on until after 1 o clock was unacceptable and i do not share the managements opinion that there was nothing they could do about it - on certain nights large speakers where erected on the terrace my room 3 floors up reverberated with the noise - when the speakers were not in use the music was quite acceptable

i would not return to this hotel mainly because i felt the customer was not respected in the need for a decent nights sleep
an apology was received but nothing was done

Margaret of Padiham

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmwajRotana, General Manager at Amwaj Rotana, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Amwaj Rotana Hotel and for taking the time in giving your feedback.

We value all the feedback we get and share it with the team as it helps us in keeping up the motivation level of our staff and continue providing the excellent service we are known for.

We are however disappointed to know that we failed to meet your expectations in some areas and would like to sincerely apologize for the same. This is not a true reflection of our usual high standards and your feedback has been shared with the respective departments for corrective action to be taken.

I look forward to have the pleasure of once again welcoming you and your family to our Hotel in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Timur Ilgaz
General Manager
Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah-Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex, england
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed for four nights in February and had an excellent stay in a Club Room. The room was large and well appointed and the service from all staff was the most courteous we've encountered. The location is ideal for the 'Walk' nightlife, so you needn't wander far, however should you wish to taxis are inexpensive and plentiful and the metro nearby. Would love to have stayed longer, and will certainly return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmwajRotana, General Manager at Amwaj Rotana, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor.

I was very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our services and facilities met with your expectations.

Amwaj Rotana Hotel Team takes pride in providing our guests with the utmost comfort and service and it gives us great pleasure to know that you found our staff service satisfactory.

Thank you again for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely yours,

Timur Ilgaz
General Manager
Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah-Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

A first class hotel in a great location. We purchased a club room with a deal that included half board, club facilities and return transfers. Clearly very good value for money!

Friday night is when Dubai really parties. The music was pumping round the hotel, cars you can only dream about cruising the Jumeriah strip and fashion and style oozed through its guests.

We thought the room was a little tired for a 5 star hotel, when you compare it to other 5 star properties but they more than made up for it with their customer service.

The service was excellent throughout the hotel & the club staff where incredibly attentive. The only area where service was a little lethargic was the pool and pool bar. Staff there did take it a little too easy, not clearing sun loungers that were clearly vacant, clearing the dirty towels when there was a mountain of them and generally chatting rather than attending the guests.

The food left you longing for more. The club upgrade included full cooked breakfast, afternoon tea and canapés with drinks. The half board option allowed for our meal to be taken in the buffet restaurant. The choice of food here was vast with flavours to tempt anyone. The dessert counter was a must, although very difficult to muster up the courage to eat anymore as there was so much choice for starter and main.

This was a quick 2 night break for us so we didn't leave the hotel and it suited us perfectly. Ideal for someone who wants to get away from the misery at home and enjoy some well earned sunshine.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmwajRotana, General Manager at Amwaj Rotana, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Amwaj Rotana Hotel and for taking the time in giving your feedback.

I was very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our services and facilities met with your expectations.

It is our goal to maintain the highest standards of service to all our guests and we appreciate you having taken the time to write to us. It is only from feedback such as yours that we are able to improve our facilities and services.

I look forward to have the pleasure of once again welcoming you and your family to our Hotel in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Timur Ilgaz
General Manager
Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah-Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea,South Wales
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed at the Awwaj for 6nights in Feb 2013. A excellent hotel,lovely food at the Horizon restaurant,especially the desserts!
Nice spacious and clean room with a partial side view of the sea. Only fault I could comment on was that there is construction work outside near the beach area,however this is nothing to do with this particular hotel!
Beach is a short walk away,with the metro around a 8min walk!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmwajRotana, General Manager at Amwaj Rotana, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for choosing the Amwaj Rotana Hotel and I was pleased to hear your positive comments about our hotel.

With regards to the construction works outside the hotel, please note that it is out of our control and responsibility. JBR district is becoming more and more an area of attraction to Dubai residents and visitors, thus the Dubai Government has decided to beautify the beach area for all its visitors.

The beach in front of the hotel is a public beach and not owned by our hotel thus we are not allowed to provide sun loungers for our guests as restricted by the authorities. Unlike Sheraton and Hilton hotels, they were the first hotel in the area that were given the approval to have a direct access to the beach.

It is our goal to maintain the highest standards of service to all our guests and we appreciate you having taken the time to write to us. It is only from feedback such as yours that we are able to improve our facilities and services.

Thank you once again and we do look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your guests to our hotel in the near future.


Yours Sincerely,

Timur Ilgaz
General Manager
Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah Beach-Dubai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We are currently staying here before taking a cruise. We booked a club room. We have been here less than 24 hours in the hotel and we want to check out!

Club Room
Small but modern. Good toiletries.
Nice towels. Big bath. No dresser. Very dark and dingy. View terrible unless you like cranes And a building site.

Pool area
No sun till 11 an cos of tall buildings then hidden at 4 by another building. V small pool for size of hotel.

Lifts
Have to wait ages and then about 29 stops before you get off. 3 lifts for a hotel of this size is v poor!

Food
Good in club lounge. Pool area poor both presentation and taste.

Beach
Hotel doesn't have access. Cranes where beach is.

As a result if the above instead of staying all 4 nights were checking out tonight and moving next door to the Sheraton so we can relax and get some sunI

This is worst location and worst hotel we've ever stayed in and we were so looking forward to it too.

We spoke to hotel and explained we were disappointed that they did not notify us if these works being carried out. They said it was on trivia go web site when I booked it. I've just checked again and it isn't! I would never book anywhere that was having maintenance I work in the construction industry! I want a break!

Hotel keen at abdicating responsibility. I

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmwajRotana, General Manager at Amwaj Rotana, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for choosing the Amwaj Rotana Hotel and for taking time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us on

We are however disappointed to know that we failed to meet your expectations in some areas and would like to sincerely apologize for the same. This is not a true reflection of our usual high standards and your feedback has been shared with the respective departments for corrective action to be taken.

With regards to the construction works outside the hotel, JBR district is becoming more and more an area of attraction to Dubai residents and visitors, thus the Dubai Government has decided to beautify the beach area for all its visitors.

Our Travel Agencies and Online companies are aware of the situation and we have informed them to let the clients know of the on going construction. Likewise, our Reservations Team are making sure that guest booking through phone are aware of the same.

It is our goal to maintain the highest standards of service to all our guests and we appreciate you having taken the time to write to us. It is only from feedback such as yours that we are able to improve our facilities and services.

Thank you once again and we do look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you to our hotel in the near future.


Yours Sincerely,

Timur Ilgaz
General Manager
Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah Beach-Dubai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed at the Amwaj with my family and 8 month old twins for 3 nights as a stopover on our way to Italy.

I initially booked via Agoda. When I need to change the date by 1 week, did Agoda give me trouble. I wasn't cancelling, moving it by 1 week and adding an extra day. I contacted the hotel itself (SOMETHING i should have done at the start), and they were fantastic. First 10 points. Adoga is another review all together.

The staff in this hotel were nothing but sincerely amazing. We were picked up at the airport fitted with baby seats for the twins (who does that!). We arrived at 6am with screaming babies... normally most places will not allow you to check in until 2pm. Checked in straight away.. another 10 points... Cots in the place.. again, tick tick tick...

We had my mum travelling with us as well, they put her next door and opened up the door for ease. Amazing...

The service in this hotel was faultless, the staff, incrediable. The location, was great. Whilst we didnt see too much given the diffficulty of having the two kids, the beach was fantastic, the shops and food area, we went for long walks, it was amazing.

We have vowed to stay here every time we fly to Italy, which is regularly, you really can't get any better than this place, I was truely blowed away.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmwajRotana, General Manager at Amwaj Rotana, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Amwaj Rotana Hotel and for taking the time in giving your feedback.

I was very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our services and facilities met with your expectations.

It is our goal to maintain the highest standards of service to all our guests and we appreciate you having taken the time to write to us. It is only from feedback such as yours that we are able to improve our facilities and services.

I look forward to have the pleasure of once again welcoming you and your family to our Hotel in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Timur Ilgaz
General Manager
Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah-Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amwaj Rotana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amwaj Rotana

Address: The Walk, Jumeirah Beach Residence | P.O. Box 86834, Dubai, U.A.E., Dubai 86834, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#107 Business Hotel in Dubai
#117 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#119 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#140 Family Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amwaj Rotana 5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A high-class holiday is no longer just a pipe dream. Make the dream become reality when you chose to stay at Amwaj Rotana. Located just a stone's throw away from the Arabian Gulf and in the midst of new Dubai, it couldn’t be more convenient. Idle along the famous restaurant and shopping strip known as “The Walk”. With endless sunshine you’ll soon realise that this is an idyllic retreat for those wanting a holiday that has it all.Free shuttle service is available from the hotel to the famous Jumeirah Beach Park. Similarly, free shuttle services are also available to Dubai Mall, Dubai Outlet Mall, Mercato Mall, BurJuman Mall and Jumeirah Lake Towers Metro Station. Dubai city maps, shopping malls information and schedule of the shuttle services are available at the Guest Services Desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Amwaj Rotana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amwaj Rotana Hotel Dubai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amwaj Rotana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.