We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amwaj Rotana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Amwaj Rotana to your Saves list
Amwaj Rotana
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Walk, Jumeirah Beach Residence | P.O. Box 86834, Dubai, U.A.E., Dubai 86834, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #142 of 487 Hotels in Dubai
Middle East Sand dunes
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

The property is situated in the Dubai Marina / Jumeira Beach Resort district. It is a bit of a drive to get here from the airport but it puts you outside of the CBD traffic rush but still close enough to the major malls and atractions

The property itself is new and modern with everything you expect from a 5 Star hotel.

Rooms are spacious, everything faces the ocean and there is no noise at night from construction sites or boy racers.

There is direct beach access from the hotel from the pool area, but why would you want to go that far from the bar? :) Depending on the wind the ocean can either be very rough or as flat as a bathtub. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance. Choose your time for visiting because in summer months there is no way that you will be spending any time on the beach.

Room Tip: Weekends are on Friday and Saturday which can cause a delay in obtaining a taxi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    244
    54
    19
    28
See reviews for
144
314
45
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kochi (Cochin), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

I stayed in Amwaj Rotana JBR, Dubai from16.10.2011 to 20.10. 2011.The location is beautiful ,since it on the beach side. Rooms are good and I got a sea- facing room.The view from the room was great. The food is excellent with very good spread.

I will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmwajRotana, General Manager at Amwaj Rotana, responded to this review, March 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah Beach-Dubai.

I am delighted to read your comments and I am happy that you had a nice experience with us and that the services of our staff met your expectations.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and assuring you of our best services and prompt attention at all times.

Sincerely yours,

Timur Ilgaz
General Manager
Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah Beach-Dubai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We booked via our agent at the last minute after plans to travel to Thailand were stopped due to Bangkok floods.

I have to say we were not disappointed, exceptional service from the flights with Emirates to private transfer to hotel. The hotel is spotless, staff are excellent and very very customer orientated.

The position on The Walk was perfect and we had what we wanted at our disposal. The pool area is well maintained with bar and food available all day, towels and nothing was too much trouble.

We used the on site restuarants and did raise some concern reference the variety of the food on certain 'themed' nights. Neil the general manager and Matthew the restaurant manager responded well to our questions and nothing was too much trouble.

Rooms are super and huge, clean and very well equipped. Only point I raise is lack of free wifi, even in the lobby you had to pay. We had two rooms on the 9th floor with exceptional views across the gulf.

We had birthday cakes given to us with cards signed by staff as both myself and daughter had birthdays whilst there.

Dubai is an amazing place, in eight days I saw a fraction of what the city has to offer. It is very safe, clean and just amazing.

I worked in estate management in the UK, in some large retail sites and the shopping is amazing, best I the world.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmwajRotana, General Manager at Amwaj Rotana, responded to this review, March 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah Beach-Dubai.

I am delighted to read your comments and I am happy that you had a nice experience with us and that the services of our staff met your expectations.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and assuring you of our best services and prompt attention at all times.

Sincerely yours,

Timur Ilgaz
General Manager
Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah Beach-Dubai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

We arrived in the early hours of the morning and the staff were very welcoming. Our room was large, clean and well stocked with toiletries and mini bar. No complaints about the furnishings or facilities.
We had been advised by friends to book half board as eating out is expensive and the food in the Horizon restaurant was very good. We didn't try the other resaurants but they looked nice and had pleasant outdoor areas. The pool was quite small but seldom had more than 3 or 4 people swimming in it at a time.Just across the road was a public beach and as we only had a short time, the hour or so we spent on it was fine, but of course no sunbeds provided.
The hotel is right at the end of The Walk and close to the Marina so perfect for a stroll in the evening. However, taxi needed to get anywhere else as it is a long way out of the centre,but these are fairly cheap anyhow.
A good hotel at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: We had no problems on floor 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmwajRotana, General Manager at Amwaj Rotana, responded to this review, March 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah Beach-Dubai.

I am delighted to read your comments and I am happy that you had a nice experience with us and that the services of our staff met your expectations.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and assuring you of our best services and prompt attention at all times.

Sincerely yours,

Timur Ilgaz
General Manager
Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah Beach-Dubai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
espoo
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

I spent one week at the hotel with my family in February 2012. We had paid our hotel rooms (3 pcs) in advance before the journey. When we checked in, the front desk officer wanted to block 3000 dirhams from my credit card to cover the possible credit losses if we order services on room charge and leave the hotel without paying the charges.

After four days stay i got a message through the TV to contact the front desk as soon as possible, which i did. The problem was that we had purchased services for over the 3000 dirhams on room charge and the hotel wanted to block more credit limit from my credit card. I did not accept this because this is not an international practice at hotels. I promised not to consume any more at the hotel and if so, to pay cash from there on.
Such suspicious hotel is not a five star hotel as they advertise them self to be and I promise not to stay at this hotel any more.
Mikko from Finland.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmwajRotana, General Manager at Amwaj Rotana, responded to this review, March 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time in reviewing our hotel.

We apologize for the incovenience you have experienced during your stay. However,the blocking of credit card is mandatory and is a common practice of any hotels in the UAE. Since you have booked 3 rooms and exceeded the minimum amount blocked in your card for extra charges, we have no option but to block more amount in your credit card as a guarantee from our side.

Once again, we would like to thank you for sharing this matter with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Timur Ilgaz
General Manager
Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah Beach-Dubai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annecy, France
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Having tried several hotels in Dubai, this hotel is risk free in terms of service, location, food.
I found they offer a very good compromise with different restaurants of good quality, late breakfast (until 11AM), the JBR location is great as you have about 200 shops & restaurants in walking distance. All rooms have sea view. The staff is friendly & there is always someone to help you. The cleaning service is very efficient. They have a nice gym, Pool is often in the shadow because of buildings around. There is a direct access to the beach thanks to a special lift. This is not a private beach but there is no hotel nearby with private beaches.
They also offer fruit platter...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmwajRotana, General Manager at Amwaj Rotana, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah Beach-Dubai.

I am delighted to read your comments and I am happy that you had a nice experience with us and that the services of our staff met your expectations.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and assuring you of our best services and prompt attention at all times.

Sincerely yours,

Timur Ilgaz
General Manager
Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah Beach-Dubai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights - what a fantastic experience. Stayed in a Club Rotana room on the 22nd - beautiful room with balcony and sea view. Check in and check out at the hotel were effortless. All staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Club lounge was great with free wifi and the added benefits of breafast, drinks and evening canapes. Hotel is located on the beach. Ate at the hotels Italian restaurant 2 evening - food was excellant.
Housekeeping and cleanliness are too a very high standard and good quality toileteries provided in the Bathrooms.
Would definately return to this hotel if in Dubai again. I could not fault my experience at this hotel.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Club Rotana Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmwajRotana, General Manager at Amwaj Rotana, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah Beach-Dubai.

I am delighted to read your comments and I am happy that you had a nice experience with us and that the services of our staff met your expectations.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and assuring you of our best services and prompt attention at all times.

Sincerely yours,

Timur Ilgaz
General Manager
Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah Beach-Dubai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amwaj Rotana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amwaj Rotana

Address: The Walk, Jumeirah Beach Residence | P.O. Box 86834, Dubai, U.A.E., Dubai 86834, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#107 Business Hotel in Dubai
#117 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#119 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#140 Family Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amwaj Rotana 5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A high-class holiday is no longer just a pipe dream. Make the dream become reality when you chose to stay at Amwaj Rotana. Located just a stone's throw away from the Arabian Gulf and in the midst of new Dubai, it couldn’t be more convenient. Idle along the famous restaurant and shopping strip known as “The Walk”. With endless sunshine you’ll soon realise that this is an idyllic retreat for those wanting a holiday that has it all.Free shuttle service is available from the hotel to the famous Jumeirah Beach Park. Similarly, free shuttle services are also available to Dubai Mall, Dubai Outlet Mall, Mercato Mall, BurJuman Mall and Jumeirah Lake Towers Metro Station. Dubai city maps, shopping malls information and schedule of the shuttle services are available at the Guest Services Desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Amwaj Rotana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amwaj Rotana Hotel Dubai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amwaj Rotana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.