We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst than before” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mawal Restaurant

Mawal Restaurant
Al Bustan Rotana Dubai Hotel | Casablanca Road, Al Garhoud, Dubai , U.A.E. | Airport road, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
+971 4 282 8100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,179 of 5,560 restaurants in Dubai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Description: Mawal is offering the finest cuisine serving a variety of Lebanese dishes in the finest setting. Enjoy a night of exotic belly dancing and other live entertainment at Mawal restaurant. Open daily for lunch and dinner, Mawal is the perfect location for an exciting evening or an inexpensive business lunch. Visit us today and be moved by the unique atmosphere.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“worst than before”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I was invited to Al Mawal, and even my last experience was not good, i decide to visit the place and see if things are changed for better, but actually it was worst!
Out of 7 people, only my self was not an Arab, we all use to remember the old good days in Al Mawal, and we all left disappointed!!!!
However the food was below average, the hot mezza was very very poor, the mix grill was not enough for 5, not to mention 7 people, the entertainment was even worst, we went at 11.30pm, after the first singer was a belly dancer and then in an-tract of an hour at 2 am we had another singer not that great either .. the only good performance was the viola player...who is with them since many years.. but the new thing is that they start to allow many single girls to enter and entertain the visitors, some of them was competing with the belly dancer and in a way they was better.. I was speechless when they allow a single girls at 2.30 am to enter and place them near family tables.. That never happen in the past.. We pay more than other places to enjoy quality, clearly things are changed.. not good value for money, and definitely not a quality.. So if you are a single male you might enjoy the single girls who try to get in to the belly dancer industry.. Even though they are many places else where that you can get even better... For all this I blame the management, that mange to destroy one of the best spots for Lebanese night entertainment in Dubai!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    3
    3
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Use to be the best lebanese place in Dubai, not any more!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I use to love Al Mawal, M Rotana great experience over the years - best Lebanese cuisine , great service & entertainment, amazing ambitions .....that's in the past.... all left is the good service..food is not as good as use to be, you will pay 300 dhs for a set menu of poor choices ,and if you are group of 4, you want get enough just a plate of the standard mezze serve everywhere, and for the main course you will experience one plate of mix grill for 4 people. But food wasn't everything the entertainment use to be much better.. the visitors too, in the end every thing incl beverages is overpriced and that will be fine if you enjoy your self, not siting as in a concert. I am very disappointed from my last visit. R

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Old is Gold”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Despite the fact that Al Mawal is one of the oldest Lebanese resturants in town, it is still the best by far and the only one who reflects the true Lebanese Cusine in Dubai.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best lebanees rest in dubai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Its great but they serve alcohol which is the only downgrader i always go there for lunch not for dinner

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great experience, very nice dinner and evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

This restaurant has really good Lebanese style food which is served in the traditional way. The meal takes really long (if you choose to have the complete meal) since the waiters bring you a table full of starters, which are continuously replaced by new plates, then the main course, then the fruit and the dessert… At the end of the meal you are really full! They also have a whine list, and you can get an ashisha and have your meal while smoking the characteristic ashisha. Starting from 11pm there is live music with singers and also a belly dancer. If you want to be near the action you should chose a table next to the little stage.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mawal Restaurant also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Mawal Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mawal Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.