We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dubai Desert Conservation Reserve

Dubai Desert Conservation Reserve
Desert, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
+971 4 809 8710
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Dubai Desert Conservation Reserve like an insider
Private Tour
$382*
and up
Private Tour: Falconry Experience and Wildlife...
Ranked #11 of 276 things to do in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Dubai Desert Conservation Reserve (DDCR) is a designated protected area for the conservation the natural inland desert ecosystem of Dubai. It spans 4.7% of the total land area of Dubai Emirate and encompasses 225km2 of sand dunes desert ecosystem interspersed with gravel plains. The DDCR is a member of the International Union for the Conservation of Nature (IUCN) and has gained international recognition from the United Nations Environmental Program (UNEP). The DDCR is home to 57 Plant species, over 120 birds and 43 mammals and reptiles including the iconic Arabian Oryx. The DDCR can be visited by either staying at the Al Maha Desert Resort & Spa or for day visits with one of the four concession holders; Arabian Adventures, Lama Tours, Travco and Alpha Tours.
United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

4x4 dune bashing was adventurous. Felt safe within groups. Picturesque. BBQ disappointing. Entertainment good.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    628
    242
    53
    21
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Super! When you come to Dubai again and again going to the desert.
Jeep driver professional and very friendly .. We get a lot of positive emotions! Always very happy with this tour..

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Desert experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Great Barbeque in a desert setting !!! Whirling dervish and belly dancing !!! Henna !!! Local clothing !!! Camel Rides !!! Quad Bikes !!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow, India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very exciting desert safari”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

The whole period from the time we were picked from our hotel by a comfortable 4X4 safari vehicle at around 4 pm till we were dropped back at 10:30 pm, I and my wife had a lovely time. Once we entered the desert park, It started with a falcon show which followed the real thing. Driving up n down the sand dunes,our vehicle skidding at times, tilting by huge degrees, blasting up sand in the air, it was all very exciting. Driving skills of our driver on the sand were commendable. There were total of 50 vehicles doing the same stuff and it all look exciting. This followed a lovely sun downer experience which meant we watched the sun set behind the sand dunes while it was getting cooler by every moment.Then we were taken to the base camp which was a lovely set up. Food, dance, drinks, camel ride, with dunes in the background made fo a spcial evening.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Stayed at Al Maha”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Wonderful place and a must see if you have the time and the funds! We stayed over for 2 nights in a desert resort - highly rec'd.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dubai Desert Conservation Reserve also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Dubai Desert Conservation Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dubai Desert Conservation Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.