We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick bite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Market Place

The Market Place
JW Marriott Hotel Dubai | Abu Baker Al Siddique Rd, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
+971 4 262 0481
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #756 of 5,572 Restaurants in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Indian, International, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Enjoy casual, internationally-influenced fare like pasta, chicken, and curries at the Market Place Restaurant, our casual dining establishment.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Quick bite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

If you just wanted a quick bite and not spent too much, the Market place is the place. It can get very busy at lunch and dinner time but as it is self service, queue doesn't take long.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    21
    12
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Good food - wonderful service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

My favourite breakfast spot in Dubai. Great selection of dishes and consistently wonderful service. The staff seemed to anticipate exactly when a guest needed service but were never intrusive.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaipur
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“a good place to spend good time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

There are varied food for non vegetarians but less choice are for vegetarians. but any how the ambiance of the restra is very good.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“looks better than it is”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

when you look closer the range isn't that great and if eating their at night has no atmosphere at all ...only good for a light meal

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Not the Iftar buffet I would imagine it to be”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Last night I made an appointment with a friend to enjoy the buffet in this restaurant. It was a wrong decision.

We arrived at 7.30 pm and the place was packed. We are shown to a table which is really facing the wall, 20 minutes later we got a nicer table. The food are placed in different stations, all kinds of taste. The taste of the food was good.

At the beginning, they told us that all soft drinks are including the package, but they never offered us. Instead they kept filling up our glass with the bottled water. The service is rather chaotic due to the amount of people coming for this purpose.

At around 20:25 the bill came, we did not even ask for it. At 20:30, they cleared up all the food. I thought a buffet would last until 10 pm or at least tell us if that lasts until 20.30.The worst part it, they cleared the food in a unappetising way, like all garbage after all. It did not make us feel good. The put a huge trolley in the middle of the restaurant to clear up everything. Wow, never had this experience before that I was virtually rushed out of the restaurant, ugly atmosphere.

My meeting with my good friend is ruined and we walked outside and sit in a local cafe, a better bet that this one. Would this be a standard of Marriott hotels these days? I would think twice to go to any of their outlets in the future.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Market Place also viewed

 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to The Market Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Market Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.