We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Hotel to Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Dubai Festival City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Dubai Festival City to your Saves list
InterContinental Dubai Festival City
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Umm Ramool Rd | Dubai Festival City, Dubai 45777, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #28 of 499 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Au, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Super Hotel to Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The hotel is really on the standard of a 5 star. The services are very good and especially the staff from house keeping they are up to the task. Well trained and anticipative. Always willing to help. The mall next to the hotel makes shopping an easy task to be done. The attraction as so many given that it is just a few kilometres from the old town and the Airport. The food is so amazing and looking forwarding to coming back again.

Room Tip: Become a patron and enjoy more facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGDFC_45777, General Manager at InterContinental Dubai Festival City, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Andrea R,


It was a pleasure to have you stay at InterContinental Dubai Festival City and we thank you for taking the time out to review us on TripAdvisor.

I appreciate your kind words about our service team and it was a pleasure to know you found them to be “well trained and anticipative”. The neighbouring Festival Centre Mall is very popular among our guests, and I’m glad to know you had the opportunity to explore it.

Thank you once more and we all look forward to seeing you again at the InterContinental Dubai Festival City.


Best regards,

René van Camp
Hotel Manager, InterContinental Dubai Festival City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    740
    225
    57
    24
    11
See reviews for
171
285
84
410
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Having experienced the accommodations and service of the Peninsula Hotel in Hong Kong, I never thought that I would find anywhere to compare, let alone surpass those levels until now!

The Intercontinental at Dubai Festival City provides 5 star accommodation and service to match; indeed the level of attention afforded to patrons of the IC lounge on the 26th Floor is exemplary.
Having flown on a delayed Emirates flight from Newcastle, we were held for 40mins over Dubai before finally touching down a little over 20mins late. Immigration was swift and the chauffer transfer to the Hotel took only 10mins, checking into the hotel around 0045hrs. From the greeting outside, through check-in and being shown to our room took less than 5mins. The room (we were upgraded to a 1 bed suite in recognition of my Ambassador status) was excellent and spotless. With separate living, bedroom, wet room and dressing areas, the accommodation covered in excess of 80m square, and provided an uncluttered panorama of the Creek and onwards towards Port Rashid. Room service was personal and accommodating, and thanks to Mahesh for his assistance during our stay.

The hotel is located a short distance out of the city near to the airport, and benefits from relative calm when compared to hotels located in the city centre or Jumeirah. The mall to which the hotel is connected is mid-end, offering the usual outlets along with a Marks and Spencer’s, from which my wife purchased a number of lines unavailable in the UK.
The dining options at Festival City range from food courts to 5 star eateries, including a Michelin recognised restaurant..........and Jamie Oliver's Italian!! The theme of Festival City is not dissimilar to San Antonio in Texas, where el fresco dining alongside the canal is very much the favourable nightime activity. There is a small fun fair at the far side of the complex for the younger generation, and water taxis ply the creek for anyone wishing to venture further afield.

However given the provisions of the Club Lounge at the hotel, there is little incentive to travel far beyond the grounds of the Intercontinental. The day begins with what must be the biggest buffet I have experienced since the Jumeirah Beach Hotel, serving hot and cold offerings along with the conventional European delights. Breakfast lasts until 10am on a weekday and 11am at weekends (Friday and Saturday), before the whole 'spread' is cleared and replaced with a lunchtime menu with a signature soup option. Again, this lasts until around 2.30pm, when an afternoon high tea is the order of the day, before changing again to the dinner menu at 6pm. At this time of the day you can enjoy the buffet (headed with a signature hot dish), and enjoy a glass of Champagne whilst soaking up the views from the panoramic curved windows of the lounge. Dinner concludes around 9pm, when there remains a supper selection for those wishing to return for a night-cap before settling down for the night. The Lounge closes around midnight during the week and 1am at the weekend.
As I mentioned earlier, the staff in the Lounge are superb, and I would lie to say a special thank you to Maryam, Emmie, Jonathan, Diego, Dinesh, Nass and Tashriek for their service, and to all those whose names I did not get or cannot recall.

A superb establishment and a credit to the IHG brand!!!

CB

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Club room, you will not be dissapointed!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGDFC_45777, General Manager at InterContinental Dubai Festival City, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear MCBDurham,


Thank you very much for writing such a detailed and complimentary review about your recent stay at InterContinental Dubai Festival City.

We are delighted to know that your experience at the hotel was most enjoyable and that there were so many positive aspects to your stay, such as the Club Lounge, the check-in process, the decor and amenities of your one bedroom suite and the central location of the hotel and it’s connectivity to the Festival City Mall. Your kind comments about the team at the Club Lounge will surely be shared with them and appreciated.

The entire team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Dubai.


Best regards,

René van Camp
Hotel Manager, InterContinental Dubai Festival City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

On arriving at around 9am in the morning the hotel Guest Services Manager Ossama Nabil made sure that we would have a room within the next hour and provided complimentary refreshments which were superb. This is exceptional as checkin is 2pm. The room and the hotel are outstanding. We used the gym but were to tied to use the pool which has plenty of space between beds. The best part was the buffet restaurant which is 40 dhs but full of live cooking stations. The food was exceptional. From the hotel you can walk straight onto the festival shopping centre. A must stay in Dubai.

Room Tip: room 806 supberb
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGDFC_45777, General Manager at InterContinental Dubai Festival City, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Martin S,


Thank you for your kind words about your stay at InterContinental Dubai Festival City.

It was very pleasant to read that our Guest Services Manager made your first moments in the hotel very welcoming and unforgettable. I was delighted to know that you found your room to be “outstanding” and enjoyed the buffet at our all-day dining restaurant Anise.

Thank you once again for your review. I look forward to welcoming you once again, hopefully in the near future.


Best regards,

René van Camp
Hotel Manager, InterContinental Dubai Festival City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afghanistan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This Hotel is in a perfect location. Hard Rock very close and the amenities were fantastic. Very quiet and luxurious . Not to far from the airport which made it very user friendly. Hotel staff were excellant.

Room Tip: rooms were execellant,very nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGDFC_45777, General Manager at InterContinental Dubai Festival City, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Miguel L,


Thank you for choosing to stay at the InterContinental Dubai Festival City and we thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

It was pleasing to know you enjoyed the location of the hotel and it’s close proximity to the Hard Rock Café and airport. We were also happy to know the service provided was appreciated and left an impression on you.

We look forward to seeing you again, hopefully in the near future.


Best regards,

René van Camp
Hotel Manager, InterContinental Dubai Festival City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

i stayed for two nights, the hotel is very nice, staff are very welcoming, the service was amazing, the breakfast had all choices. you can walk on the sea side which is behind the hotel where you can find restaurants.

Room Tip: try to book rooms starting from 15th floor to get the nice view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGDFC_45777, General Manager at InterContinental Dubai Festival City, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear smaani,


Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at InterContinental Dubai Festival City.

I was very pleased to know you were able to describe how much you enjoyed staying with us in such few words. The promenade along the Dubai Creek indeed has great views of the city skyline and I’m glad you were able to enjoy this.

Thank you very much for your review and I hope to welcome you again to our hotel, hopefully in the near future.


Best regards,

René van Camp
Hotel Manager, InterContinental Dubai Festival City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Spain
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I stayed four days in this hotel and enjoyed very much!

Pros:
- Breakfast amazing! I skipped lunch every day since I was full after the breakfast. All kind of international an local options
- Internet free and fair speed (1GB) even though you can get more speed paying for the difference
- very clean rooms and comfortable. Clean and great service from housekeeping
- View is amazing. You can see Dubai Marina and Burj Khalifa perfectly well
- Room temperature can be regulated
- Good options in pillows
- Good taxi service

Cons
- I´, platinum ambassador and I got upgrade to a superior room but my colleague that check up with me got a junior suite not even being silver. So they have funny criteria for upgrading
- Far away from all hot spots. Only close to Festival Dubai Mall

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGDFC_45777, General Manager at InterContinental Dubai Festival City, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Jos8Toledo,


Thank you very much for sharing the experience of your stay at InterContinental Dubai Festival City here on TripAdvisor.

I appreciate your kind words about our breakfast at Anise, which is popular among our guests for breakfast and their Friday brunch. It was also pleasing to know that the efforts put in by our housekeeping team in maintaining your room was appreciated.

Thank you once again for your comments and we all look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.


Best regards,

René van Camp
Hotel Manager, InterContinental Dubai Festival City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We were picked up at the cruise terminal in dubai by a very patient and polite young man in a hotel car (Lexus) which was extremely comfortable and a smooth ride. We were greeted at the hotel driveway by our names as our doors were opened for us, very personal attention to detail.

We were greeted by a charming young woman in the reception area and whisked away to the 26th club floor reception. It was still quite early in the morning and were asked if we would like breakfast, a thoughtful gesture but we had already eaten. After check in formalities and an explanation of what the club offers us we were shown to our room (2224). We were asked if we would like the systems explained to us (ie lights) but declined. We were welcomed once again to the hotel . Our bags arrived shortly after this. The room was very spacious, clean and modern. We had a wonderful view over the Dubai creek and the city in the background.

There was a nespresso machine in our room to make coffee and also tea making facilities in our drinks cabinet which also housed the refrigerator. There was always plenty of complimentary water in our room. The bathroom had one hand basin, a toilet and bidet in a separate room surrounded by glass (a little transparent if you were not the only person in the bathroom). The bath and shower were also in their own separate glassed off room with a large window with the same view as the living area, it had an electric controlled Venetian blind for privacy which is operated from the main bathroom area.

The bath was very large and deep and filled via an overhead hole in the ceiling. There was also a separate overhead rain shower next to the bath. The towels were very large and fluffy and beautifully white. 2 bathrobes for after shower comfort which were extremely soft and comfortable fabric. The bed - king size, was very comfortable with white sheets, fluffy duvet with a white cover trimmed in deep purple. European pillows and two feather pillows. Lighting above the bed head and two bedside lamps suspended from the ceiling.

A writing desk with chair a stool on one side of the room and a chaise lounge, chair with cushion and coffee table near the window. A large flat screen tv on the wall at the foot of the bed. The windows have pull down black out blinds with sheer net curtains to give a very dark room for a good nights sleep.

The club facilities were fantastic, areas with tables for 4, tables of 2 along the windows with Dubai Creek views (wonderful sunsets). There were also very comfortable lounge areas with sofas and coffee tables available. Breakfasts had the usual fare of ordered hot items from a menu or eat from the buffet, a great selection off breads, fruits, meats, cheeses, cereals and a designated area for pork products ie. hams, salamis and mortadella, a very thoughtful gesture for European guests.

Oh and 3 kinks of what looked liked home cured smoked salmon which was delicious, along with local items such as hummus, baba ganoush and flat breads etc. we were out most of the day sightseeing but in the late afternoon alway came in for a quick coffee and were alway offered a selection of fresh sandwiches made by the chef but we always declined as we new that if we ate them we would not have room for the delicious food served during the evenings served with drinks (French champagne Laurent Perrier delicious!).

Evening buffet examples of food served, hot food included local flavoured vegetable and bean soup (piping hot), samosas, variety of delicious quiches different flavour each evening, prawn wontons, deep fried prawns, a mini duck shepherds pie (my favourite), arancini balls and the list goes on, different every day. Cold selection of canapés and small single serve dishes of delicious morsels containing crab, smoked salmon and meats terrines etc. cheese board selection was fantastic with fresh and dried fruits, wide selection of breads with French butter. Service was always prompt and with a smile.

There was a bar with a very good range of wine and spirits on offer but we stuck to the champagne as it was delicious. We did not dine in any other restaurant in the hotel as we had everything we needed on the club floor including a great view. The hotel is well maintained and the flower feature in the lobby was stunning. Access to the Festival City shopping mall is easy and directly connected to the hotel. Upon our departure we were left a beautiful box of French macarons compliments of the hotel, they were to good to leave behind so I brought them back to Australia with me. Check out was swift on the club level and we were given a warm farewell.

I cannot speak highly enough of the Intercontinental Dubai, a wonderful way to end our holiday (a big thank you especially to Santosh Kumar for arranging our car transfer from ship to hotel, he was incredibly prompt with his responses to my queries via email and made me feel at ease with arrangements made as we had no phone or email contact from the ship 3 weeks prior to arrival, thank you Santosh. Thank you IC Dubai Festival City. Regards Jane Anderson

Room Tip: The club floor facilities are worth it spend the extra if your pocket will let you
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGDFC_45777, General Manager at InterContinental Dubai Festival City, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear “Jane A”,


I was delighted to read such a complementary and detailed review about your recent stay at InterContinental Dubai Festival City and would like to thank you for taking the time to share this on TripAdvisor.

It was indeed a pleasure to read your email and to know that you had such a comfortable stay at our hotel. I'm glad that you were impressed with all the facilities and amenities offered in your Club Room, such as the nespresso machine, the bath and shower, the comfortable bed, plasma TV and room lighting.

I was particularly happy to know that you were able to enjoy all the benefits offered at the Club Lounge and also had a chance to explore the neighbouring Festival City mall.

Our guests’ complete satisfaction is our main goal at InterContinental Dubai Festival City, and it is rewarding to learn that is has been achieved on this occasion. Thank you once again for recommending our hotel to other travelers visiting Dubai and we do look forward to the opportunity of once again welcoming you to our hotel.


Best Regards,

René van Camp
Hotel Manager, InterContinental Dubai Festival City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Dubai Festival City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Dubai Festival City

Address: Umm Ramool Rd | Dubai Festival City, Dubai 45777, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Dubai
#16 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#16 Business Hotel in Dubai
#28 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#30 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Dubai Festival City 5*
Number of rooms: 498
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by a graceful sailboat, InterContinental Dubai Festival City stands tall amid the business and shopping districts. The hotel is home to 6 dynamic bars and restaurants, including the award-winning Reflets par Pierre Gagnaire, has wifi throughout rooms and public areas and its own 18-hole championship golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotel.de, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your InterContinental Dubai Festival City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Dubai Festival City Hotel Dubai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Dubai Festival City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.