We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palace Downtown Dubai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Palace Downtown Dubai to your Saves list
The Palace Downtown Dubai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Town Island | Downtown Dubai, Dubai 9770, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save AED 100
Ranked #17 of 479 Hotels in Dubai
Borgomanero
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A perfect stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in The Palace last April after Easter. The hotel is perfect from every point of view: the location, the rooms, the gym, the swimming pool, the restaurants (even if the Argentine restaurant doesn't have a perfect service...). My husband had a terrible backache and we had to change 3 mattresses before finding the right one. The housekeepers were so kind and helpful and we have to thank Wayan and all the staff for what they did. We spent a fantastic holiday and my sons really enjoyed the Palace and the fantastic dancing fountains on the lake.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at The Palace Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire team I would like to thank you for your review on TripAdvisor!

We are delighted to read that you had fantastic stay with us and appreciate our service and hotel facilities. Thank you for your good words about Wayan!

We will all be looking forward to welcoming you back at The Palace Downtown-Dubai in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Michael Sorgenfrey

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    767
    168
    46
    30
    13
See reviews for
180
472
57
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Nice old fashioned style but partly worn out rooms. On the positives, handy to have an ipad already internet connected in each room and a very nice buffet hall.
the swimming pool after a whole day of business meetings is such a treat that makes the price alone. Check in not as fast as the 5 stars would suggest.

Room Tip: artificial lake view recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at The Palace Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor!

It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate our room amenities, as well as pool area. At the same time, we are thankful for constructive feedback on our rooms and check-in process. With our summer room renovations and trainings held at Front Office I am confident we will eliminate issues highlighted by you. Thank you for showing us where we need to improve.

On behalf of the entire team we will be looking forward to welcoming you back at your “home” in Dubai in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Michael Sorgenfrey

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We arrived early in the morning and had paid for previous night so we could get a room immediately. We were greeted with the wonderful Palace perfume and an upgrade to a very large Suite! Perfect. Then I had mentioned it was a special birthday for my husband. The Palace delivered not only a beautiful and delicious small cake and bottle of bubbles, but also did an amazing happy birthday design in rose petals on the bed.
The Palace is a fabulous location next to the Burj Khalifa. The staff are attentive - a special nod to Sherif on reception. The staff were also really fast in responding to any requests made from the room.It's a couple of minutes walk to the Dubai Shopping Mall.

Room Tip: Take a Fountain View if you want to see and hear the Fountain every evening (every half hour until 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at The Palace Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Palace Downtown for your special occasion!

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your feedback on service provided by our staff, in particular Sherif! Your comments will serve as additional motivation for the entire Team to continue making our guests experience life-time moments at our hotel.

We are grateful for taking time to share your review on TripAdvisor and we will be looking forward to welcoming you back in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Michael Sorgenfrey

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We were upgraded to a suite which was stunning! We had great views from the balcony of the Burj Khalifa and could watch the fountains. The pool area was well kept and again had great views. It was peaceful and relaxed but yet only a few minutes walk from all the restaurants and shops. I couldn't fault the hotel and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at The Palace Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read your comments on TripAdvisor and grateful for positive words about our service, view and pool area. It is a pleasure to know that The Palace Downtown has become a place, where you found peace and relaxation.

We hope that good memories from your stay will bring you back to our hotel in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Michael Sorgenfrey

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The accommodation could not be faulted, we occupied a suite which was very large to European standards, loved the attention to detail and cleanliness.The hotel was central with a walking distance to the Souk, Mall and Burj Khalifa. We took a taxi (good rates) to the water park on the Palm. Takes about 35-60 mins depending g on traffic. We ate in all the hotel restaurants and thoroughly enjoyed each meal. The staff are friendly and courteous and always there to help. Thank you

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at The Palace Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is with pleasure that we read your comments about your stay at The Palace Downtown on TripAdvisor!

We appreciate your kind words about our location, the room and restaurants, as well as our high standards of service.

On behalf of the entire team we will be looking forward to welcoming you back at your “home” in Dubai in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Michael Sorgenfrey

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay here, the pool and amenities are superb, and the location- 5 mins walk from the dubai mall and with a stunning view of the Burj Khalifa - its a fantastic experience.

A few minor grumbles re service - 3 separate calls to conceirge - nobody answered the phone after rining for 10 mins +, too few staff at reception - could have had 4 people working not just 2 as many guests are very demanding. Service in the pool cabana's was quick in daytime but dreadfully slow at night took 25 mins for 3 simple drinks to arrive.

So in summary - amazing hotel- great food, especialy argentinian restaurant - best bed and sheets, great shower and bathroom, great breakfast, shame about the service niggles.

Would go back in a flash though...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at The Palace Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking time to share your comments on TripAdvisor!

We are delighted to read that overall you enjoyed your experience with us and appreciate our rooms, amenities and restaurants. At the same time we are thankful for your constructive feedback with regards to our service. Rest assured we will take corrective measures to ensure the same does not happen again.

Thank you again for your review and on behalf of the entire team we will be looking forward to welcoming you back to The Palace Downtown, Dubai!

Best regards,

Michael Sorgenfrey

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Exquisite furnishings in room & public areas. Service unobtrusive but prompt & personalised. IPad in room a bonus, as was iPod Dock for music & Nespresso coffee machine. Large bathroom with separate bath, toilet & shower cubicles, more like small rooms within a room. Stayed 4 nights, will return! Bar at poolside best view in Dubai of dancing fountains & watched sunset next to tallest building in world. Some children playing in pool. But noise didn't travel into var area, rooms or restaurants, great layout. We ate 2 evening meals in hotel restaurants, excellent variety, informed staff, select wine list. Breakfast offered selections organised by preference such as Asian style, Scandinavian, English, separate area for gluten & dairy free foods. Walking distance to mall.

Room Tip: Garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at The Palace Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire team I would like to thank you for taking time to share your review on TripAdvisor!

It is with pleasure that we read your appreciation of our rooms, amenities, restaurants and service. We are inspired that you enjoyed your stay and looking forward to coming back.

Thank you again for your positive comments and we hope to welcome you back to The Palace Downtown Dubai in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Michael Sorgenfrey

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palace Downtown Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Downtown Dubai

Address: Old Town Island | Downtown Dubai, Dubai 9770, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#23 Family Hotel in Dubai
#34 Business Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace Downtown Dubai 5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace, built on the edge of a lake, is a harmonious blend of the past and present of Dubai with 242 guest rooms and suites boasting a captivating Middle Eastern theme. The luxury hotel hosts an array of international restaurants featuring fine cuisine, a breathtaking luxury spa, recreational facilities, a large pool and a comprehensive business center. It is ideally located near the Dubai World Trade Center, several major business institutions, shopping malls and tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Palace Downtown Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace The Old Town Hotel Dubai
The Palace Old Town
Palace The Old Town Dubai
Sofitel Dubai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palace Downtown Dubai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.