We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arabian indulgence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palace Downtown Dubai

Save Saved
You added The Palace Downtown Dubai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Palace Downtown Dubai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Town Island | Downtown Dubai, Dubai 9770, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 471 hotels in Dubai
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Arabian indulgence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We had a fabulous 2night stopover in Dubai and stayed at the Palace. We had a basic room which was more than adequate overlooking the back of the complex. The location was perfect and within easy walking distance of the Dubai Mall and the Khalifa. The staff were extremely helpful, the breakfast divine including GF options and the cabanas at the pool appreciated. The concierge was helpful in planning a tour of the city. Not a bad moment at this simply beautiful and peaceful place. Would jump at the chance to stay again. Thank you to all the staff involved.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at The Palace Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your short stay with us while commenting positively on the service, room, pool experience as well as the breakfast.

It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    656
    156
    40
    27
    14
See reviews for
164
402
50
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Amazing location opposite the Burj Al-Arab and next to Dubai Mall. Large spacious rooms with above average in room amenities with friendly and helpful staff. Excellent dining with a selection of cuisines all in all an altogether fantastic hotel for a luxury holiday! Adequate pool with plenty of poolside space to relax and unwind. Highly recommend for a great holiday

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Burj / Lake for excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at The Palace Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

It is a great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and were extremely pleased with the location being close to tallest building in the world and the biggest shopping mall. Also thank you for your comments about our service, restaurants and swimming pool.

It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I usually stay here when coming to Dubai on business, but stayed with my partner this time at the start of our holidays. From the moment we checked in and were greeted at 1am with cold towels and a cool drink, to the driver who took us to the airport, we were treated brilliantly by the staff.
The breakfast buffet is quite amazing. I have never had better - lots of fresh fruit, juices, good coffee and freshly prepared and cooked food. While the room was an average size one for the Palace, it was large enough and we could just see the fountains from our window. The bed is wonderfully comfortable and the pillow menu a nice touch. Shower was wonderful, bathroom big enough for both of us to get ready for the day in the same space. Pool area lovely and clean, pool service good.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at The Palace Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is a great pleasure to read your wonderful comments and we are glad that once again you enjoyed staying with us. Thank you for your extensive positive feedback about your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back soon on business or together with your partner.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tweed valley
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Our stay at this top class hotel has been pure indulgence. You are greeted by the fabulous staff as you enter the hotel, the vibrancy and extravagence of the entire establishment instantly puts you at ease and sets the tone for a totally luxurious relaxing holiday. The service shown to us by the multicultural team of staff here is second to none. Everything and anything we wished for was provided in an instant with a smile. Such a beautiful loveable friendly bunch of wonderful people work here. Thank you to Emmanual and Chitra in concierge for all your assistance Dipika in the bar for providing me with many many fabulous cosmopolitans, Regina who ensured I had what I needed, Priyantha and Dulaj from breaky each day who were just gorgeous and super friendly and Sandip and Chadeo from around the spectacular pool who went above and beyond with their service daily.

Room Tip: Every room is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at The Palace Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with everyone on Trip Advisor.

We are truly delighted to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us and were extremely pleased in particular with the service of our Associates while even remembering and mentioning their names. They will be absolutely thrilled and also very motivated by your positive comments.

It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in January 2011 including New Years Eve and again in April 2013. Arrived on New Years Eve at 0730 hrs and our suite wasnt ready due to 100% occupancy, Staff looked after us and we spent an hour by the pool before our room was available - they upgraded us to a King Lakeview Suite from a junior lakview suite. Amazing suite with 2 balconys and views over the lake to the Burj Kahilifa. Great location with the dancing fountains in full view and then look straight up at the Burj Khalifa Tower. Dubai Mall is just a short easy walk away - you want shopping....this is the place to go along with numerous great restaurants and entertainment area. Concierge desk was outstanding at arranging tours for us at short notice and the feel of the hotel is opulent and high class. The pool is an Oasis but can get a little crowded so get up early for a nice swim. The beds and pillows are heavenly and the call to prayer from the Minaret towers really made you feel a like tyou where definately in an exotic country - just loved it !!!

Room Tip: Book or upgrade to a suite - its definately worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at The Palace Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments with us and we are glad to know that both times on New Year’s Eve as well as in April you enjoyed your stay with us. We truly appreciate your comments about the suite upgrade, our location and service from our Concierge team.

Thank you again for your kind words and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Came to stay for the GP and had a great experience. Rooms were large and the feeling of sitting by the pool with a sheisha after a long day is unbeatable. Breakfast buffet was great and the Thai restaurant was memorable mainly for the fountain show.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at The Palace Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are glad to read about your enjoyable stay with us and we appreciate your kind words about the room, breakfast, pool area as well as the experience at Thiptara with the wonderful views of the fountains.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The Palace is one of my favourite place in Dubai, very nice oriental decoration, the service is very good and Mr Sitaram manager at the Lounge Lobby is always very kind, efficient, advisor and welcoming.
After working it is great to come here, enjoy the view, rest and eat.
I`m craving for their Om Ali, the best one in Dubai.
So just try it..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at The Palace Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed while spending time here at The Palace Downtown Dubai including the experience at Al Bayt where our associate Sitaram looked after you.

Thank you again for your comments and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Palace Downtown Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Downtown Dubai

Also Known As:
The Palace The Old Town Hotel Dubai
The Palace The Old Town Hotel
The Palace Old Town
Palace The Old Town Dubai
Sofitel Dubai
Address: Old Town Island | Downtown Dubai, Dubai 9770, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#19 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Dubai
#20 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#26 Family Hotel in Dubai
#41 Business Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace Downtown Dubai 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace, built on the edge of a lake, is a harmonious blend of the past and present of Dubai with 242 guest rooms and suites boasting a captivating Middle Eastern theme. The luxury hotel hosts an array of international restaurants featuring fine cuisine, a breathtaking luxury spa, recreational facilities, a large pool and a comprehensive business center. It is ideally located near the Dubai World Trade Center, several major business institutions, shopping malls and tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com and Otel so you can book your The Palace Downtown Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palace Downtown Dubai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.