We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very romantic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palace Downtown Dubai

Save Saved
You added The Palace Downtown Dubai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Palace Downtown Dubai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Town Island | Downtown Dubai, Dubai 9770, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 20% This Summer
Ranked #20 of 474 hotels in Dubai
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“very romantic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for my honeymoon in diplomatic fountain view suite , it was very romantic and enjoyed watching the fountain dance every 30 minute , loved the jasmine smell in the bathroom , I think it is very special

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at The Palace Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am very glad to read your positive feedback about your experience here at The Palace Downtown Dubai.

We thank you for the kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

973 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    718
    167
    45
    29
    14
See reviews for
171
448
52
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in July 2013 - after 10 days holiday in The Maldives. We were a bit reluctant, as to what we might be experiencing after such a wonderful beach holiday, but we were very impressed, as it was during Ramadan. But we could not fault anything!!

First of all I have to say - this hotel is beautiful. I loved the smell of the Hotel so much I bought their Signature Incense Oil from the Spa, as I loved it that much, I now have the smell of The Palace in my home!!!

The staff are fantastic, very helpful and very very friendly. The reception staff were very nice, and we had a room upgrade which was magnificent, as we were celebrating our Wedding Anniversary!! They decorated the Room, and made us feel so special - Thank You to The Palace <3

We had a deluxe garden view room - over looking the dancing fountains and the Burj Kalifa....it was amazing, from start to finish! We managed to do quite a lot in the 3 days we had. The Hotels Thai Restaurant is fantastic, the Food is excellent!! Also The Argentinian Steak House Grill, we ate there on the second night, it was excellent also! I have to say the Breakfast was also fit for a King & Queen - whatever you wanted - you would find!! Even during Ramadan!!

The Pool was lovely (especially in 40 degrees) that didnt stop us having some time for a Tan top up!! The Pool staff were excellent and friendly and very helpful, and knowledgable!!

If your thinking of staying in this Hotel, and want something typical Arabian, Friendly, Clean with excellent Facilities and Staff, and have the best view of The Burj Kalifa...then look no further...The Palace has everything!!

Room Tip: Ask for a Garden Room with the best view in Dubai!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at The Palace Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and were pleased with the service and facilities that we offer to our valuable guests. We are glad that the room upgrade was much appreciated and you liked the views of the Fountain and Burj Khalifa. It is nice to know also that now you have The Palace scent in your house that reminds you of us and the wonderful experience you had here.

I would like to thank you once again for your extended feedback and on behalf of the entire team we look forward to welcoming you back here at The Palace.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in mid July as a stopover on the way home from the Maldives to the UK. Natasha at check in was super helpful and made us feel very welcome straight away. We had a lake view room which was very comfortable and spacious. The hotel provided some lovely treats for us as we were on honeymoon. A delicious chocolate mousse cake with some fizz, and a beautiful turn down service which involved fresh rose petals on our bed and in the bath which had been poured for us.

The breakfast is the best we have ever experienced, having stayed in many hotels around the world. We ate dinner in the Thai restaurant which was outstanding and affords you front row seats for the fountain show every 30 minutes. We also ate in the shopping mall which is only 5 mins from the hotel. However, if you believe you're going to find lots of shopping bargains here, think again. The prices in the shops are either equal to or more expensive than the UK. If its bargain shopping you like, save your money for the outlet shops at home.

When we were there the heat was overwhelming so we didn't spent a lot of time outdoors. However we did use the pool every day and it was lovely - awesome views of the Burj Khalifa and friendly staff to help with anything you need. Kenneth on concierge helped us with many things - always smiling and keen to help.

We also arrived at the beginning of Ramadan, and yes it's true what other reviews say about the difficulties with eating and drinking in public. However, we found the whole experience interesting. Travel broadens the mind and is the only way to see and experience how different cultures live their lives.

We were sad to be leaving as it was the end of our honeymoon. Raoul on reception couldn't do enough for us as we checked out and suggested we return in September or October as the heat is not so intense for our pale skin!

Dubai is probably not somewhere we would go for an entire holiday but is perfect for a stopover, and this hotel would be our number one choice again. Location superb, service second to none and friendly helpful staff. Thank you to all at The Palace who made our stay so enjoyable. X

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at The Palace Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback following your recent stay with us as part of your honeymoon trip for which we congratulate you. I am glad to know that you enjoyed every moment spent here from the warm welcome throughout your entire stay while experiencing the delicious food, swimming pool and all the facilities around the hotel. It is always heartening to get such wonderful feedback and our Associates including Natasha, Kenneth and Raoul will be thrilled read your review.

We all look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

This place is in the perfect location when visiting Dubai! Maybe 5 years ago this hotel would have been a little jewell but it seems to be fading fast. Our room looked toward the fountains and was a perfect size but was not super clean. We had to call the house keeper upon check in as there were crumbs all over the carpet. There was a big bulge in the wall paper above the bed which looks like damp. The breakfast was very average I would even say 3 star standard. The grounds and pool area were lovely but once again showing the cracks of age.

The service from all staff was average also. At check in we were rushed through and not offered cold towelles and a cool drink like the family in white robes & burkas sitting next to us. We asked concierge to book us tickets to go to the top of the Burj as it is mentioned in the advertising on the in house tv but we were told to go to the mall and book them ourselves. The housekeeping servicing of the rooms was very hit & miss. It's frustrating when you return from being out all day with the "please make up my room sign" out to find your room hasn't been touched.


If its the Mall and the Burj Khalifa you are interested in stay here. Otherwise I'd look for a newer property.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at The Palace Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your constructive feedback regarding your recent stay.

It is very regretful to read your comments where we were not able to meet your expectations in regards to the room condition and cleanliness which has already been addressed to the concerning department to ensure this is not encountered by our valuable guests. We are also working on renovating projects and trying our best to maintain the hotel in the best condition at all times in line with the standards and I am sorry to see that you did not experience that. I would like also to apologize in regards to the service and breakfast. We take on board all your comments and appreciate your time to share them with us.

I apologize once again and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Spent 2 nights here on a recent stopover. A really charming hotel that provided a welcome break from sleeping in an airplane seat. Very hot when we travelled to Dubai and also unfortunately coincided with Ramadan - virtually impossible to go out during the day as you cannot drink even water in public. Accommodation and food at The Palce is superb and the staff are professional and attentive. If you stay here be sure not to miss the spectacular fountain show each evening. Proximity to the Burj Khalifa building is an added photo opportunity bonus too.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at The Palace Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read from your review that you had enjoyed your stay with us and were pleased with the service as well as the food and location with many attractions close by. Indeed we have a very hot weather now in Dubai and also due to Ramadan you do not really get the chance to explore and enjoy at the fullest and we hope your next visit you will be able to do so.

Thank you again for your kind words and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed at the Palace for one night on our way home from Europe fantastic hotel in a fabulous location, we had a view of the fountains from our room which was a fantastic experience. Arriving early in the morning, we were kindly checked in immediately and upgraded to a junior suite as our fountain view room was not ready, this gesture was greatly appreciated.

Room Tip: Fountain view rooms are a treat
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at The Palace Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad to know that you had enjoyed your short stay with us and appreciated the early check in as well as the upgrade. Thank you for the kind comments about the hotel and surroundings and we hope that your next stay will be longer to enjoy more of our facilities.

The entire Palace Team looks forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Beautiful hotel, amazing experience.....very friendly staff, very well located next to dubai mall, good spread for breakfast....., over all a amazing experience, the souk next door is also nice and buzzing with activities at nite ........

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at The Palace Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback on Tripadvisor.

It is our absolute pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that we would be able to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Palace Downtown Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Downtown Dubai

Address: Old Town Island | Downtown Dubai, Dubai 9770, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#19 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#26 Family Hotel in Dubai
#44 Business Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace Downtown Dubai 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace, built on the edge of a lake, is a harmonious blend of the past and present of Dubai with 242 guest rooms and suites boasting a captivating Middle Eastern theme. The luxury hotel hosts an array of international restaurants featuring fine cuisine, a breathtaking luxury spa, recreational facilities, a large pool and a comprehensive business center. It is ideally located near the Dubai World Trade Center, several major business institutions, shopping malls and tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Palace Downtown Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace The Old Town Hotel Dubai
The Palace Old Town
Palace The Old Town Dubai
Sofitel Dubai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palace Downtown Dubai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.