We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palace Downtown Dubai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Palace Downtown Dubai to your Saves list
The Palace Downtown Dubai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mohammed Bin Rashid Boulevard | Downtown Dubai, Dubai 9770, United Arab Emirates (Downtown Dubai)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save AED 100 per night
Ranked #10 of 499 Hotels in Dubai
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

The Executive Suite was very comfortable and luxurious.. With a nice view of the Burj Khalifa & the Fountain from the balcony. Less than a 5minute walk to the Dubai mall and some really nice restaurants. If only the room service and restaurant staff were a little more efficient & hospitable,it would have been a perfect stay.But I'd still probably stay here again ..!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at The Palace Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us in particular the views and surroundings with many attractions close by. Thank you for the constructive comments about the service which will certainly be taken into consideration.

I am glad that that you are looking to come back and the team and I will be happy to welcome you here again.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    996
    189
    53
    37
    15
See reviews for
232
592
68
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was our second visit to this hotel and once again it was perfect. Dubai was really hot at this time of year but it was nice and cool inside. Beautiful staff, furnishings, food, tours and advice. The upgrade was also well appreciated. It certainly won't be our last visit!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at The Palace Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very glad that you enjoyed once again your stay with us. Indeed it is a very hot period in Dubai and we hope that next time when you come back the weather will be nicer and will allow you to experience more the outside activities.

Thank you for your feedback and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was my first stay at The Palace Hotel, my selection driven by seasonal conditions:
a) middle of summer (and Ramadan), so prices were very reasonable
b) middle of summer, but the hotel is in convenient walking distance to Souk Al Bahar and Dubai Mall

Service level was as to be expected from a 5* resort, impeccable. From check-in, to room service, check-out (special credit to Natasha and Andana at front desk), professional and courteous staff.
I had booked a basic room with lake view and would have enjoyed the little terrace outside even more if it wasn't for that ridiculous heat :-)
Everything is reasonably sized, bed is very comfortable, bathroom spacious and well illuminated, I was only surprised not to find any complementary products but may I wasn't looking all too closely.
The hotel hosts a Thai restaurant (haven't tried it yet) and one of Dubai's best steakhouses, Argentinian grill Asado.

I deduct one star for (following three reasons combined)
- a mediocre breakfast (except the omelette, that was delicious)
- a rather small TV with a typical hotel control operating system that is difficult to operate with a remote that won't function properly
- the usual pricing of the hotel is too high, despite good location etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at The Palace Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor following your stay with us. It is very nice to read the comments about your experience where you enjoyed our facilities such as the room and location as well as the service from our associates including Natalia and Adnana. At the same time I apologize for the inconvenience in regards to the TV and that the breakfast was not up to your satisfaction. Your valid comments will certainly be taken into consideration.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in July and the only negative was that we didnt stay longer! This hotel is simply beautiful - classic arabian style, huge beautiful rooms, the biggest breakfast buffet i have ever seen, and staff that deserve every accolade they have been given in other reviews - always smiling, always happy to help, so lovely. The location is great - right next to the Dubai Mall and Burj Khalifa. Although its not cheap, I cant recommend this hotel highly enough - we'll be back!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at The Palace Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is an absolute pleasure to read your feedback and how much you enjoyed your stay with us. All the team will be inspired to excel by such positive comments. We are glad to know that you appreciated the room as well as the breakfast and the Arabic style of the hotel.

Thank you for your extended feedback and on behalf of the entire team we look forward to welcoming you back here at The Palace.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Great hotel with awesome service and superb facilities; the best we have ever stayed in: a really great hotel experience.
Breakfast each morning was amazing and the Brunch on Friday afternoon was fantastic with the greatest array of food I have ever witnessed!!
The staff at all times were warm, attentive and nothing was too much trouble..
As an aside, it was nice to receive a bill that was accurate first time round.
I would love to be back soon.
Thanks

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at The Palace Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read your review. Thank you so much for your kind words and for sharing your stay experience. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed and appreciated so much of what the hotel and surrounding area has to offer in particular the food in our Ewaan restaurants and the service.

It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here in Jan 2013. Had visitors from Sydney Australia and decided to spend couple of night in Dubai from Abu Dhabi. We picked the Palace becuase of the location next to Dubai mall. It is not the cheapest option but it has he wow factor ( as plenty of other hotels in Duabi ) but you can't beat the location next the mall and the dancing fountain. We had dinner at the Thai restaurant in the hotel and we had such a good meal ( again not cheap ) but for a treat and authentic Arabian feel this is a lovely chocie and highly recommend it. From Dubai mall you can take the metro(train), change lines but this will take you to the gold and spice souk and catch the ABRA ( ferry) for just one dirham. Enjoy the hotel as it makes you feel like you have steps back in time with class and luxury.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at The Palace Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your nice feedback on Tripadvisor following your stay with us. It is a pleasure to read the comments about your entire experience including the dinner at Thiptara from where you can have a perfect view for the fountain.

It is our absolute pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We enjoyed a 5 night stay at The Palace Downtown. The hotel is in a great location just a short walk to the Dubai Mall which has amazing shopping and cafes. The room was very spacious and beautifully decorated, from the balcony we had a fabulous view of the water fountain shows and Burj Khalifa. The added touch of a Nespresso machine with take-out cups was great! The buffet breakfast is outstanding and one of the best selections i have experienced. We had dinner one night at the Thiptara Thai restaurant which has great food and a fabulous view of the water show. My only disappointment was sitting by the pool in the late afternoon was not very relaxing as the staff start setting up the evening chairs/tables/lights etc for the evening bar around 5pm all around you, perhaps a note or word to let you know this is happening would be helpful? I also found it difficult to order food or drinks around the pool as the pool staff were constantly pre-occupied. However, we found the majority of staff in the hotel extremely helpful and very efficient.

Room Tip: room that has a view of the water fountain show from the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at The Palace Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate that you took the time to share your feedback with us.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Palace while experiencing the breakfast, the surroundings with many attractions, our Thai restaurant Thiptara and the room as well. I would like to thank you for the constructive comments regarding the pool service where I apologize that it was not up to the service received from the rest of the associates.

Thank you for your review and I hope you will honor us with an opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palace Downtown Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Downtown Dubai

Address: Mohammed Bin Rashid Boulevard | Downtown Dubai, Dubai 9770, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > Downtown Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#10 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#12 Business Hotel in Dubai
#31 Family Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace Downtown Dubai 5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace, built on the edge of a lake, is a harmonious blend of the past and present of Dubai with 242 guest rooms and suites boasting a captivating Middle Eastern theme. The luxury hotel hosts an array of international restaurants featuring fine cuisine, a breathtaking luxury spa, recreational facilities, a large pool and a comprehensive business center. It is ideally located near the Dubai World Trade Center, several major business institutions, shopping malls and tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Palace Downtown Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace The Old Town Hotel Dubai
The Palace Old Town
Palace The Old Town Dubai
Sofitel Dubai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palace Downtown Dubai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.