We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great position” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Palace Downtown Dubai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Palace Downtown Dubai to your Saves list
The Palace Downtown Dubai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Town Island | Downtown Dubai, Dubai 9770, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save AED 100
Ranked #17 of 479 Hotels in Dubai
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great position”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Stayed here on a business trip March 2013. Perfect position in the shadow of the Burj Khalif and the fountain show. Pricey, as all hotels in Dubai are, but the breakfast is superb and the rooms very comfortable will all amenities you would expect. Check in a bit slow and my room not ready until lunchtime, despite me arriving at 0800 after overnight flight and requesting early check in. I would definitely come back here if on business, not sure if I would return with family.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at The Palace Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review on Trip Advisor.

We are truly delighted to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad to read that you appreciated our location with many attractions around as well as the breakfast. At the same time I am sorry that our associates were not able to accommodate your request in regards to the early check in due to high occupancy.

Thank you for your comments and it was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    768
    168
    46
    30
    13
See reviews for
180
473
57
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I cannot rate this hotel highly enough.Everything was first class from our arrival to our departure.We were not able to get the room that we had requested and were upgraded to a mini suite the room more than made up for the lack of view.The staff were both courteous and eager to please even to the point of smothering our bed with rose petals.I reccomend this hotel for a fantastic location in the heart of Dubai but away from the hustle and bustle,only a couple of minutes to all of attractions when you want them.

Room Tip: Try for a room overlooking the fountains and the Burj Khalifa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at The Palace Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with everyone on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to learn that you had such a wonderful stay with us and truly enjoyed our Associate’s service, the upgrade to a suite and the set up in the room with petals.

Thank you again for your kind words and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The hotel itself is fabulous....i arrived early in the morning and they upgraded me to a suite...which was superb. My 2 kids (10 and 13) were with me and they charged for an extra bed. The breakfast next morning was adequate. when i was checking out they had charged me extra for the breakfast, one for kids b/f and 1 for adult. On enquiring the recepetion staff behaved as though they could not understand what i was saying. I mentioned that since they had charged me for an extra bed that included the b/f surcharge for the aduly child and the minor child is usually free. I also mentined that they should have informed me of this charge before eating the breakfast, but the lady at reception acted dumb and refused to reverse the charges. As i was running short of time i paid and asked for a feedback form which was denied. Anyways overall good hotel if you dont mind paying big bucks.

Room Tip: Take rooms facing the fountain as the views from here are fabulous. higher floors are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at The Palace Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Palace Downtown Dubai starting with the check in where you were upgraded to a suite. At the same time please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you have faced in regards to the breakfast charges. I will certainly address to the team your concern to be looked into for further improvement.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

mistake of my life we were staying in the hotel for 2 days and that was the biggest mistake of my life, first our check in was delayed we had to wait in the lobby for an 1hr reception staff does not no what to do they keep on blaming others for their mistakes,we went to pool in the morning as soon we entered the pool and started swimming a lady approached us and told not to use the pool,there was no signage or life guard who could informed us in prior ??? then we were having brunch in one of there restaurants the wedding started playing such a loud music that entire experience got ruined,we wanted to book asado for dinner but we were told that they have exclusive booking,this hotel is not organized,even there GM only replies to positive comments,i am never going back or recomending some one else

Room Tip: hotel is not worth
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at The Palace Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with everyone on TripAdvisor.

I truly regret to read your comments and I would like to express my sincere apologizes for the inconvenience and for the experience which was not up to your expectation. It is a pity that you could not enjoy the swimming pool and dinner at Asado which were closed due to private events. The day we had the pool closed we offered to our guests the facilities at our sister property while providing also transportation to ensure they are happy and keep enjoying their stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I had opportunity to stay 4 night at the palace for my first time , in fact the location is amazing in the heart of Dubai waking distance from Burj khalifa the tallest building in the world and very big shopping mall, call Dubai mall !!!

moving forward the check in process were very long as we a almost close to sleep at the lounge Sofa, trying to sleep after long trip was terrible as we got beaten with mosquitos and I had to call housekeeping to treat my suite .

As we paid 400-500$ for one night we set a great expectations which are never met

For sure I will return to Dubai again, but not for the palace.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at The Palace Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with everyone on TripAdvisor.

Please accept my most sincere apologies for the issues you highlighted where you faced a shortfall in service standards during your check in process which was delayed. I certainly understand that after a long trip you expect to check in as soon as you arrive at the hotel and we always try our best to accommodate requests from guests for an early check in if the occupancy allow us. I also like to apologize for the mosquitos which are a challenge now for Dubai due to the humid weather but we are working on it to reduce the number as much as possible.

At the same time I would like to thank you for the nice comments about our location and views.

We will definitely consider your feedback and I hope you will honor us with an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Me and my wife went to short trip to Dubai an dstayed in Palace Downtown. It is an amazing hotel with very very helpful staff. We arrived in the morning around 09 ( which we had delay for 3 hours ) we were very tired and we wait only 20 minutes to check in. Pool is amazing .We stayed in Lake view deluxe room.Room was big and the view was excellent. Overall I will deifnetly stay in this hotel whenever I visit dubai.
PS: We did not use F&B facilities becaus edubai mall was a 5 minutes walking distance and we found a lot of restaurants.
I strongly suggest this hotel.
Tahnks

Room Tip: Lake view deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at The Palace Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments about your recent stay with us.
We are delighted to read your kind words about our Associates who assisted you promptly upon check in. It is also nice to know that you enjoyed so much the pool as well as the room with the view.

It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

we, usually don't write anything about experience but I am writing this note because of the service provided in the Restaurant and quality and variety of food .One of my friend told us about the palace hotel and its food variety.We have been there with a friend for Breakfast. It was amazing. I loved most the girl standing at the door gave us chance to choose the table by ours self in our comfortable way where we like and manager (sitiram if i am not mistaken the name) going to table and asking for the feedback whether everything is all right? great selection of variety and polite chefs behind the counter to prepare egg you like. I can recommend any of you to try The palace food and extra exceptional service. I must say WOW

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at The Palace Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the kind review on Trip Advisor about your breakfast experience. We are glad that you took your friend’s advice and tried our Ewaan restaurant where you were pleased with the food and the service in particular from the hostess and Sitaram who will be thrilled to read your feedback.

Thank you again and we all look forward to welcoming you back and maybe try our other outlets as well.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palace Downtown Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Downtown Dubai

Address: Old Town Island | Downtown Dubai, Dubai 9770, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#23 Family Hotel in Dubai
#34 Business Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace Downtown Dubai 5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace, built on the edge of a lake, is a harmonious blend of the past and present of Dubai with 242 guest rooms and suites boasting a captivating Middle Eastern theme. The luxury hotel hosts an array of international restaurants featuring fine cuisine, a breathtaking luxury spa, recreational facilities, a large pool and a comprehensive business center. It is ideally located near the Dubai World Trade Center, several major business institutions, shopping malls and tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Palace Downtown Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace The Old Town Hotel Dubai
The Palace Old Town
Palace The Old Town Dubai
Sofitel Dubai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palace Downtown Dubai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.