We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to have a REAL holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palace Downtown Dubai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Palace Downtown Dubai to your Saves list
The Palace Downtown Dubai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Town Island | Downtown Dubai, Dubai 9770, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save AED 100
Ranked #16 of 483 Hotels in Dubai
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A place to have a REAL holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We chose this hotel out of the many other outstanding hotels in Dubai because of two main reasons. Number 1, its close proximity to Dubai Mall, one of the world's largest mall in UAE. Number 2, its unique and authentic Arabian concept/setting that allowed us to be comfortably immersed in the Dubai culture/lifestyle.

And no regrets indeed. Throughout our entire stay there, the service rendered by each and every one of their staff was immaculate. Arrival and check-out was very smooth. Valet and bellboy were extremely helpful and polite. Room was beautiful, huge and clean. Breakfast spread was so comprehensive, they had absolutely everything! Room service was efficient and superb. House-keeping also did a fantastic job every morning. And the hotel even assured us of a good night sleep by providing a range of pillows that we might like from their pillow menu!

It was truly an unforgetable stay for my family and I (I speak for my two yr old kid too). Thank you for fulfilling our high expectations and I would certainly recommend this hotel to friends and family visiting Dubai in future. We hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at The Palace Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your extensive and very positive feedback on Tripadvisor following your stay with us. It is nice to know that you got to experience with us the Arabian culture while enjoying the service and all the facilities we offer.

It is our absolute pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that we would be able to welcome you back soon.


Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    774
    169
    46
    30
    13
See reviews for
179
476
57
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basle, Basel-Stadt, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

driving into the hotel is like entering a fairytale.... beautiful Arabic design, very soothing and calm interiors, which are a great contrast to the hustle and bustle surrounding this hotel located in the hip 'Downtown Dubai' area.

Concierge is extremely helpful and knowledgeable. The buffet breakfast is great... and offers an amazing variety to please any taste bud.

Great location, you can walk to Burj Khalifa, Dubai Mall, Souk Al Bahar and the fountains.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at The Palace Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review on Trip Advisor.

We are truly delighted to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us and were pleased with our service, location, design as well as the breakfast.

We all look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire uk
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

First impressions count, and this hotel does not fail. The first thing you notice is the smell of sandlewood and the rose petal fountain. The service was professional and fast. We were soon shown our room, We had booked a room overlooking the fountains,however we were placed on the opposite side. Realising thy had messed up with the booking, they soon upgraded us to a suite. The rooms were of a high standard, the house boy was attentive and courteous. We stayed over a weekend, and it should be noted the swimming pool area is used for private functions, so the area is shut off from 1700? The music is loud and does go on to twelve, however the bands were of a good standard so easy listening. My only gripe is the lads who remove the stage scaffolding during the night need to be a bit quieter.
The hotel central position is a bonus if you want to visit the malls and Burg Khalif.
Breakfast was comprehensive with most tastes catered for, the outside area soon fills up. It should also be noted smoking is allowed at the tables which spoilt the meal,as most people seem to be smokers here.
We did use the Thai restaurant which although a nice location was again spoilt by the pandering to smokers. The outside balcony which overlooked the fountains is all smoking and when you have eight people light up on the next table, it was no fun especially at the prices you are charged.

All in all a good hotel, which I would return to if they addressed their smoking policy

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at The Palace Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and are very delighted to read the kind words about the service, the aroma, the location and the breakfast. It inspires us to continue providing excellent services to our guests. At the same time please accept our apologies for the inconveniences in regards to the smoking areas and the event at the swimming pool. These comments are certainly taken into consideration.

It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The hotel is beautiful but service is poor. It seems staff arent told to say hello to guests unless they look rich and want to spend lots of money. this was our second destination and what a change it was. coming from the maldives where they are high on hospitality, the palace was a disappointment. two days of our breakfast we were told we couldnt sit outside to eat although there was seating available and two sets of guests were seated outside after we asked. not sure why?! when we got to the hotel we had to wait a hell of a long time to even get to our room and no-one apologised for the wait. it just seemed that we didnt matter. location was good, 5 min walk to the mall. breakfast was tasty, alot of choice, bed was extremely comfortable. all in all, an average stay for an expensive hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at The Palace Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your comments following your stay with us.

We would like to express our most sincere apologies for the service shortfalls during your stay with us. Please be assured that we are constantly reviewing the feedback we receive to improve our level of service for our guest. We trust however that you enjoyed our beautiful hotel with the comfortable rooms and the breakfast.

I apologize once again and I hope you will honor us with an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I stayed four nights at this hotel and found the location to be ideal as I wanted mainly to visit Burj Khalifa, Dubai Mall and see the fountains all of which are a few minutes walk away.
I enjoyed the stay although I did not use many of the facilities or restaurants. You are spoilt for choice for restaurants in the area surrounding the hotel.
On arrival the taxi could not get near the entrance and the taxi driver was asked to drop me down the drive, no problem apart from the two cases!
Fortunately the car park attendant carried them in for me.
Check in was slow, despite it being 8.30pm I don't think the room was ready. I had requested a high floor room but only a second floor one could be found. The standard rooms are on the first three floors and the suites on the higher floors.
There was a wonderful view of the fountains from the 4th floor viewing terrace.
My room had a view of the lake but not the fountains but it was quiet apart from the slightly noisy air conditioning.
I liked the Penhaligon's Blenheim Bouquet toiletries in the bathroom and there was a great shower cap.
I found the service rather business like and when I checked out I was not asked if all was okay because the cashier was talking to her manager about a problem with another guest.
However I did enjoy my stay and would return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at The Palace Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review on Trip Advisor.

We are truly delighted to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us and were pleased with the location and the overall experience. At the same time, please accept my most sincere apologies for the inconveniences you may have faced during your stay with us.

We all look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed five nights at this hotel as part of a split holiday in Dubai (see our reviews of the Jumeriah Creekside Hotel & Al Qsar). Check in was good, with the offer of a welcome drink, tea etc, despite our room not being ready (though we were early). We had booked via an agent ( unusual for us) which gave us breakfast and a room upgrade. We were not given the room upgrade, and so had alake view king which overlooked the Al Bahar Souk and the upper part of the address. The whole area is noisy in the evening and the location to the mall and surrounding areas are worth this small inconvenience. The room was quite large and warmly furnished, great bed with a pillow menu if needed. There is a small TV, Nespresso machine with complimentary tea and coffee. There was no turn down service or other complimentary gifts, which I would have expected of a hotel of this standard during our stay. However, the bathroom amenities were readily stocked up during our stay. Breakfast was very good, as was the pool service and dinner in the main buffet restaurant - Ewaan. We ate there three times and found the variety and stand of food excellent - i would well recommend. The hotel does get busy, reception was always full of people, presumably due to its central location and proximity to the mall. Additionally the excellent Thai restaurant also draws non guests to the hotel. To this end we felt security was a bit lacking. Anyone could simply walk in - we were never challenged during our stay. All in all a great stay in a lovely hotel perfect for the shopping leg of our trip. We definately will be coming back.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at The Palace Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We are truly delighted to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us and were extremely pleased with the service of our Associates, the restaurants as well as the room and location even though you found it a bit noisy. It is a pity to read that you did not receive the turn down service as part of our complimentary service and also the amenities but we will make sure you do during your next visit.

It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasil
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

It was very difficult for me to choose in which hotel to stay in Dubai. After reading many reviews in Tripadvisor we decided for the Palace because of location and high quality service. We were very happy that we choosed this hotel, location was really the best, our room had view to the fountains and Burj Khalifa, Dubai Mall is just few steps away, there are a lot of good restsurants and coffee shops around. We used taxi to visit other parts of the city. Taxi is so cheap in Dubai. We will come back to this hotel if we go back to Dubai.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at The Palace Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

We truly appreciate you took the time to share your kind comments about your recent stay with us.

It is a pleasure to read that you chose to reside with us during you last visit to Dubai and that you consider to come back again in the future.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palace Downtown Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Downtown Dubai

Address: Old Town Island | Downtown Dubai, Dubai 9770, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#23 Family Hotel in Dubai
#28 Business Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace Downtown Dubai 5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace, built on the edge of a lake, is a harmonious blend of the past and present of Dubai with 242 guest rooms and suites boasting a captivating Middle Eastern theme. The luxury hotel hosts an array of international restaurants featuring fine cuisine, a breathtaking luxury spa, recreational facilities, a large pool and a comprehensive business center. It is ideally located near the Dubai World Trade Center, several major business institutions, shopping malls and tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and getaroom.com so you can book your The Palace Downtown Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace The Old Town Hotel Dubai
The Palace Old Town
Palace The Old Town Dubai
Sofitel Dubai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palace Downtown Dubai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.