We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SO Dubai” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Palace Downtown Dubai

Save Saved
You added The Palace Downtown Dubai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Palace Downtown Dubai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Town Island | Downtown Dubai, Dubai 9770, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save AED 100
Ranked #19 of 478 Hotels in Dubai
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“SO Dubai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stay at the Palace, Old Town for 2 nights in December 2011.

Lovely memories, although the application process for sponsored visa was a bit chaotic prior to arrival (we received contradictory information from various team members, but it ended out all fine)

Smooth early check-in, with very efficient staff to help us call a doctor as we were not feeling well. Highly professional, staff is able to help you even outside of the "ordinary situations" which is not always the case in the region.

Large room, very modern, in line with 5 stars standards but nothing extraordinary though that would make it very special/ original.

Lovely smell in the property, a mixture of rose and other orange blossom/ fruity flavours that give the lobby a nice touch.

Very convenient location, a few minutes away from Dubai Mall and Burj Al Khalifa.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at The Palace Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor about your stay with us. It was our pleasure to have you as a guest here at The Palace Downtown Dubai and we are glad you had a good time and enjoyed the service, the comfort of the room and the ambience. I will be sharing your review with our Associates which will be very encouraging to excel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    746
    167
    46
    30
    13
See reviews for
178
464
55
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

what a wonderfu place to spend in nov, we have a suite with a view of dancing fountains which were spectactular to say the least, restaurants are aplenty food to die form anything you want for a relaxing holiday you got here, However not a holiday to come on a budget as everything very expensive, one nite in suite will set you back 600.00 euro's, but if you have no worries about you budget then certainly worth a visit, wont return here as see it once you have enough, at the end of the day i miss my wet and windy weather back home,

Room Tip: if you dont mind walking fountain view is great, but lifts and stairs long walk from rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at The Palace Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking your time out to give us your feedback. It is always encouraging to receive comments from our guests. We are delighted to see you enjoyed your relaxing stay with us.

I would like to thank you again for your kind review on our hotel.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I had the chance to stay there a few days this summer and my room had a view on Burj Khalifa tower as well as on the dancing fountains. The view is amazing!
The room was very comfortable, with a local design. The entire hotel is in an oriental spirit and this is great! The staff is always very present to help you. Some symbols are very nice, such as the poem you have on your pillow every night!
The only drawbacks I saw were that rooms could be renovated a little bit and that the access to the fitness center is not easy (you have to cross the main hall of the hotel).

Room Tip: Ask a view on Burj Khalifa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at The Palace Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor..

I am glad to know you had an exceptional stay with us and it is very nice to note that you appreciated the design, the views as well as our pillow notes. Please be assured that we will be sharing your kind comments with all our associates.

We all look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

For me, The Palace Old Town is the best city hotel of Dubai. Everything, but everything is perfect. First of all the location, very central to Dubai Mall, Burj Khalifa, The Souk etc. Furthermore, the hotel exudes from Grandeur. The service is of a high standard, the rooms and bathrooms are spacious and fully equipped. The hotel has several restaurants, where the Argentinean Asado restaurant is definitely my favorite. The Palace has a very professionel Spa where one can choose from a wide range of different treatments. The pool is a wonderful place to relax, the staff here also provides excellent service. In the evening the pool area is converted into a fairytale setting where you can drink and eat. The staff in general is very friendly and helpful, although I was too early for check in, one could still help me and allready by the end of the morning I was assigned a room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at The Palace Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

We truly appreciate you took the time to share your comments about your recent stay with us.

Thank you for your very kind words about our service, location and we are also delighted to read you got the time to review our Spa, swimming pool as well as the restaurants.

We are all pleased to read that you had a superb stay with us and we look forward to being given an opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

A very nice stay in a great hotel. Had a lake side room for our first night. off to Abu Dhabi for 2 nights then then a fountain view for our return for 4 nights. Actually think I preferred the lake view room but the partial fountain view was entertaining. Rooms were a good size and quiet. Beds were outstanding. Loved the nespresso coffee maker and staff happily gave us lots of extra coffee for our morning start. Only complaint about the room was the hair dryer is in the desk and was a bit of a hassle to use.. would have preferred it to be in the bathroom.Breakfast at the Palace was absolutely amazing. Have never seen such a wide array of choices and the custom cooked omelettes were very good. Capuccino delivered to the table after breakfast was an added bonus.
We had a package which included breakfast, meet/greet on arrival and ariport transfers. Worked very smoothly. Probably could have done without meet greet as very small line up on our arrival at 6:30 pm from London but was a nice way to start a holiday.
Staff were helpful and courteous and appeared to genuinely want us to have a good stay.
Business lounge was good with helpful staff. Ate twice at the hotel. Once at Asado which was very very good and once at Thiptara which would rate as poor. Food was good but not great.
For a "fine dining" establishment the service was inadequate.Staff didn't know what type of beer they had on offer..said they'd find out and never returned. The tables were crammed together and the biggest issue was "dress code". When I made the reservation online I was sent an email with a very specific dress code....but when 2 people showed up wearing baggy shorts, flip flops,and unsightly t shirts they were admitted.. they also stood and smoked behind our table and were then moved to an inside space.. when we asked the management about the "double standard" we were advised that the offenders were from Abu Dhabi and an exception had to be made...not impressed. This one incident marred what otherwise would have been a 5 star experience at this hotel. Stay at the Palace but skip Thiptara.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at The Palace Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

It is a great pleasure to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated so much the room, the range of breakfast dishes as well as the service of our associates. At the same time, please accept my most sincere apologies for the inconveniences you may have faced regarding your experience at Thiptara. We truly appreciate your valid comments and please note that this is definitely taken into consideration to enhance our guests’ experience.

It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We have recently returned from a holiday in Dubai and stayed at The Palace Hotel. On arrival we were booked in very speedily and upgraded to a Palace Suite which was excellent and had a wonderful view of the Fountains. The Hotel itself is a beautiful place and in pristine condition (lovely lobby and lots of twinkling lights). The staff within the hotel are attentive and the breakfast buffet was good with a wide choice. (Not sure if the breakfast is worth the extra cost to the room - 250 AED per day per couple) and I imagine you can get a much cheaper breakfast of equal quality outside of the hotel. The only other meal we ate here was poolside and this is where I feel the Hotel let itself down. We ordered a meal off the pool menu which was extremely poor (a chicken caesar salad which was limp and unappetising and looked as if it had been thrown together from left over poor quality ingredients) and nachos which were stale. This may have been a one off but it came as a surprise from a 5 star hotel. The service around the pool was poor also. Having said that the rest of the staff at this Hotel (especially the room cleaning staff) were lovely and polite). The location of the Hotel and its surroundings are great and the only downside is that it is not near a beach (I did'nt think this would be an issue when we booked it but having visited the Jumeirah Beach area we discovered the beaches are wonderful and decided next time we would choose a Hotel on the beach). Overall this is a wonderful hotel let down a little by the pool (which is small) and the pool food.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at The Palace Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with everyone on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am also sorry to read that you had some shortfalls. Please accept my sincere apologies and I would like to thank you for your constructive comments. Please be assured that these comments are taken into serious consideration.

I hope you will honor us with an opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed here at the end of our honeymoon for three nights. Arrivng at 7am following an overnight flight from Mauritius, and we were pleasantly surprised that we were able to check in early.

The welcome is exemplary, cool drinks and towels to complement the trickle of the fountains and scents which pervade the entire hotel add to the ambience.

Our room was a fountain view and was fairly spacious, the highlight however is the bed, I have never been hugged by a bed but this was incredible!!!

Breakfasts were extensive and of high quality. In additon The Palace benefits from having two high class restaurants in Asado and Thiptara on site, we ate at Asado and would thoroughly recommend.

The Palace benefits from a great central location, close to the Burj Khalifa and the Dubai Mall, yet it is able to transport you to a place of calm and tranquility in the maelstrom which is Dubai.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at The Palace Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

We truly appreciate you took the time to share your comments about your recent stay with us on your way back home from your honeymoon for which we congratulate you.

Thank you for your very kind words about our service and how you experienced our welcome drink and towel as well as the room, the views and location of our hotel.

We are all pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to being given an opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palace Downtown Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Downtown Dubai

Address: Old Town Island | Downtown Dubai, Dubai 9770, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#17 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Dubai
#24 Family Hotel in Dubai
#51 Business Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace Downtown Dubai 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace, built on the edge of a lake, is a harmonious blend of the past and present of Dubai with 242 guest rooms and suites boasting a captivating Middle Eastern theme. The luxury hotel hosts an array of international restaurants featuring fine cuisine, a breathtaking luxury spa, recreational facilities, a large pool and a comprehensive business center. It is ideally located near the Dubai World Trade Center, several major business institutions, shopping malls and tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your The Palace Downtown Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace The Old Town Hotel Dubai
The Palace Old Town
Palace The Old Town Dubai
Sofitel Dubai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palace Downtown Dubai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.