We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palace Downtown Dubai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Palace Downtown Dubai to your Saves list
The Palace Downtown Dubai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Town Island | Downtown Dubai, Dubai 9770, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save AED 100
Ranked #17 of 479 Hotels in Dubai
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Top Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Everything at this hotel was spot on, unlike it's sister hotels which I have stayed in recently. You will not be disappointed here.

Room Tip: I had a lake view... very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at The Palace Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review on Trip Advisor.

We are truly delighted to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us and were extremely pleased with our service and hospitality. We all look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    769
    168
    46
    30
    13
See reviews for
180
474
57
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

This is the third hotel I try among the Address chain after Address Downtown and Address Dubai Mall. I chose this hotel based on the reviews on Trip Advisor since it got the highest rating among the Address chain. From price point of view, The Palace has the best price range in the Downtown Dubai for the Address chain; however, it is the least satisfactory among the ones I’ve been to. In addition, the same concern was noted when it came to the staff experience. I arrived at 8:00 P.M and the room was not ready and had to wait for more than 15 minutes.
The hotel room is spacious with Arabic touch and modern bathroom. I did note like the design of the hotel corridors especially if your room is at the end of it. Even the carpet color is not appealing. Big disappointment was in the TV quality which as the pictures show lack clarity.
The breakfast was very good as usual in the Address chain with big variety.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at The Palace Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. Please accept my most sincere apologies for facing shortfall in service standards during your check in process and also during your stay. Rest assured the points you have highlighted will be addressed.

I hope you will honor us with an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soest, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We received a very warm welcome and our room was excellent. The staff was extremely friendly and helped us find our way around town.

Room Tip: the fountain view room proved to be worthwhile
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at The Palace Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad to know that you were happy with your room and the service of our Associates.

It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

The hotel was beautiful, however the staff were terrible. We were treated like cattle when we arrived in the hotel, the receptionist was very rude and patronising. The room was great, but it was not cleaned correctly, when the the cleaners emptied the bin they spilt coffee all over the carpet and never cleaned it up. Every time we entered the hotel we were greeted by the same person who each time (for 5 days) asked are you just looking around, each day I informed him we were stating there. Big price but not big on personalities. We moved on to another hotel as we couldn't stand the terrible way we were treated by the staff, and had a great time in the other hotel. Reported issues to the rooms director who said he would change our minds, and did nothing about it. I go through Dubai all the time on business and can honestly say I have never been treated in such a terrible way by the staff there. Will never stay there again, sorry for all the negativity - seeing all the good reviews makes me think we caught them on an off 5 days.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Palace Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to post your feedback on TripAdviosr following your recent stay here at The Palace - The Old Town last June.

I offer you my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused during your stay, I have discussed the points you highlight with the team in particular with Director of Rooms. Please be assured that we are continually reviewing how we can enhance the experience of our guests.

This is the first time I have received such comments and rest assured we will address your points to the entire team members.

On behalf of the entire team here at The Palace - The Old Town, we all look forward to being give the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

On arriving at the Palace Hotel, you are greeted at the front doors by a mixture of workers eager to show you to the book-in desk, then to your room.
Ours was around the large canal that was kept spotless and clean.
Eating on the premises can be expensive with lunch costing around $75-00 Australian dollars for 2 (360 in their currency).
All you can eat buffet.
One frien that was not feeling well, had an apple and coffee for $37-50.
A cheaper way to eat here , is to use room service ( yes I know, impossible)
Once again , friends of ours ordered a large steak sandich with trimmings for around $18-00 delivered to your table.
On arriving, one is always looking for the bathroom.
In our room it was not visible until you opened some large glass sculptured doors which hid all the amenities from view.
Quite a nice surprise with the quality of all the fittings.
Internet if you want it.
From this hotel it is a short walk to the second biggest shopping mall in town.
There is a direct route through the gold souk and onto the shopping centre.
All in air conditioning, except when you come out at the large waterway between buildings.
At night , they have a water fountain show with all the lights to go with it.
This can be viewes from the hotels Garden terrace overlooking the big lake.
All in all, a great place to stay.
The only drawback I could see was the staff in the dining area watched you like hawks , so they could put down the charges you incurred for lunch. I suppose that too many people have tried to get a free meal. Bottled water was also charged on the lunch bill.
Pleasant and helpful staff, bag pick-up a little sloppy, with bags being left outside for coach pick-up , and hand luggage taken as well. (supposed to be left in room for personal pick-up)
Pleasant stay, with all tours arriving on, and returning on time.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at The Palace Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with everyone on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am also sorry to read that you had some shortfalls. Please accept my sincere apologies; I would like to thank you for your constructive comments. Please be assured that these comments are taken into serious consideration.

I hope you will honor us with an opportunity to welcome you.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, England
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We visited this hotel for 3 nights on route from Australia. Our stay included a sundowner safari booked through Arabian Nights and afternoon tea in the skyview bar at the Burj Al Arab which you must pre-book. It is expensive but I feel worth it! The Old Palace is a beautiful hotel set in a palm tree driveway next to the largest shopping mall with a lakeside view where you can watch the glorious fountains! I can't recommend this hotel enough. It is 5 star and the rooms are spacious deluxe rooms with large bathrooms, pillow choices & nespresso. The pool area even have fans which spray mist or you can relax in the cabanas by the pool. The buffet breakfast is exceptional with everything you could think of and more. The staff make you feel so special and can't do enough for you. We love this hotel and can't wait for an opportunity to go back. You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room facing the lake where you can watch the waterfalls!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Palace Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with everyone on Trip Advisor.

We are truly delighted to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us and were extremely pleased with the buffet breakfast, service of our Associates as well as with the facilities available at the hotel.

It is also nice to note that you liked the attractions around the hotel.

It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

this is the place where you can really love dubai, the best hotel witch you can find

Room Tip: ground floor is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Palace Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We are truly delighted to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us. It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palace Downtown Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Downtown Dubai

Address: Old Town Island | Downtown Dubai, Dubai 9770, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#23 Family Hotel in Dubai
#34 Business Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace Downtown Dubai 5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace, built on the edge of a lake, is a harmonious blend of the past and present of Dubai with 242 guest rooms and suites boasting a captivating Middle Eastern theme. The luxury hotel hosts an array of international restaurants featuring fine cuisine, a breathtaking luxury spa, recreational facilities, a large pool and a comprehensive business center. It is ideally located near the Dubai World Trade Center, several major business institutions, shopping malls and tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Palace Downtown Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace The Old Town Hotel Dubai
The Palace Old Town
Palace The Old Town Dubai
Sofitel Dubai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palace Downtown Dubai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.