We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How are there so many good reviews?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Dubai-Internet City

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Dubai-Internet City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Dubai-Internet City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tecom Zone, Knowledge City | PO Box 282647, Dubai, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #209 of 475 hotels in Dubai
Pompano Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“How are there so many good reviews?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I was surprised but hopeful when I found that such an inexpensive hotel had such a huge number of very highly rated reviews. I now know that this should be a huge warning sign.

It was a little late when I arrived and initial impressions were a little shaky. There was no one around but a lone security guard and he scrambled to roust someone who could check me in. I got checked in with little hassle, but when I reached the first floor room, I was crestfallen. The furnishings were unbelievably cheap, which can be forgiven for a budget option, but what was unforgivable was the condition of the room.

There was a dank, greasy smell hanging in the air of the room as if someone had just used the bathroom just before I arrived. It was stomach churning. The entire room was covered with a layer of greasy dirt. The sad little couch was so faded that it appeared to be very, very dusty. The bed looked okay, but was shifted awkwardly in the room. All of the super cheap light fixtures had pain spatters and one was dented. There were smudges on the walls. The carpet had a worn pattern and dirty streaks. There were several light colored areas that I could not identify conclusively as stains or a couple of high contrast clean areas. I am leaning towards the latter as the bed was shifted in such a way that the feet left similar clean spots along with an area of the carpet which revealed the position of some previous furniture. Bathroom surfaces were worn and stained also.

Please don't get me wrong, I wasn't expecting a four or five star hotel, but based on the incredible number of high star, glowing reviews I had a slightly higher expectation. I called the front desk to ask for another room and someone from housekeeping came by and spritzed the room with a few stingy squirts of deodorizer. Not really what I had in mind. They did move me across the hall to another room which was maybe a tad less worn out and dirty, but the effect was the same. I decided to just give it up and try to get a few hours of sleep and the paper thin walls transmitted endless amounts of noise, ruining my first day of training.

In the morning, I checked out and went to a hotel which was located farther away but met my reasonable standards of cleanliness.

I created this account just to share my experience.

Room Tip: Avoid this place entirely. My rooms were awful and I was offered no reasonable alternatives.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walidkhaled, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dubai-Internet City, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear goodusernamesallgone,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on Trip Advisor.

We believe that we can only ameliorate our services through your feedback.
from our guests. We are sorry and disappointed to hear that your recent stay with us did not meet your expectations.

Good luck with your next reviews.

Best regards,

Walid Khaled
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    108
    85
    21
    19
See reviews for
32
42
67
169
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed 2 nights in this hotel , very spacious room, nice, clean and fully equipped. Friendly staff and atmosphere . Good variety of food in breakfast. If coming for business purpose then this hotel is good .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walidkhaled, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dubai-Internet City, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Nahed N,

Thank you for your time sharing your thoughts about our hotel. We are happy to know you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Looking forward to having you staying back with us soon.

Best Regards,

Walid Khaled
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Nice room, Spacious , internet is chargeable., Good location nearby our office. No 7 eleven no restaurants. If you want to eat you have to eat there only. Morning Buffet is awesome. Staff are courteous. Nearby college canteen you can find KFC and Lebanese restaurant. Found one beautiful girl in reception :) . All over excellent hotel. Bathrooms are big with tubs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We arrived late into Dubai so rather then pay alot of money for an additional night stay at The Westin where we were for the week we checked in here for the night. It was a lovely and clean and breakfast was included which was very good. Staff were very helpful and checkin and out was speedy without delay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walidkhaled, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dubai-Internet City, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Myles D,

Big thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and the breakfast.

Hope you had a great time in Dubai too.

Best regards,

Walid Khaled
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

If you are visiting Dubai for business, than Holiday Inn is a good place to stay since it is near to DIC, and Media City (5~10 min walking distance). Good clean room, and tasty breakfast area. Very helpful staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walidkhaled, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dubai-Internet City, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear GixXxo,

Thank you so much for your kind review. I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and pleased you were able to enjoy.
Our location of the hotel is certainly ideal in the heart of Internet and Media City and sure Knowledge village.

Looking forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,

Walid Khaled
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Beyrouth, Lebanon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The hotel room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was a delight. Good choices and delicious. The staff were very polite and welcoming. And the best, it was near the metro. It only took five minutes from the hotel to the station.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dubai-Internet City, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear bnghanem,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service and the facilities on offer. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible.

Once again, thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Top Contributor
541 reviews 541 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
829 helpful votes 829 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel one hight transit its good express hotel
The staff were kind and friendly
Breakfast good.
The hotel do not offer porter service
Also as an express hotel no
Path room emenites
The hotel is close to metro dubai

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walidkhaled, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dubai-Internet City, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear bnghanem,

Thanks and we truly appreciate your review.
We strive to provide our guests with a room that is clean and comfortable, with friendly attentive service at a value conscious price. And we always want to be your and everybodys' first choice.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Walid Khaled
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Dubai-Internet City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Dubai-Internet City

Address: Tecom Zone, Knowledge City | PO Box 282647, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#209 Top resorts Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Holiday Inn Express Dubai-Internet City 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Express by Holiday Inn Dubai-Internet City. The Hotel is located in the heart of a major business district in Dubai incorporating Knowledge Village, Internet City and Media City.The Hotel offers convenience for business and leisure travelers with easy access to the Dubai-Abu Dhabi highway and being close to the largest mall in Dubai Mall of the Emirates, the rapidly developing Dubai Marina and Jumeirah Palm, offers our leisure travellers a variety of activities to choose from including shopping, skiing, dinning, entertainment and many more. Express by Holiday Inn Dubai-Internet City is in close proximity to the bus station that leads you directly to Dubai Gold Souk and Dubai Creek .Express By Holiday Inn Dubai-Internet City features 244 contemporary style bedrooms individually air conditioned, offering guests a comfortable, warm and friendly stay. All rooms have en-suite facilities, power shower, direct dial telephones, work station, mini fridge, safe box, satellite T.V. and underground car-park facilities.Express by Holiday Inn Dubai-Internet City is committed to offer guests the best product combining convenience of location with the quality and value for which Express by Holiday Inn brand is famous for around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Agoda, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Dubai-Internet City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dubai-Internet City Hotel Dubai
Holiday Inn Dubai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Dubai-Internet City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.