We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality alternative to more bigger & upscale venues” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manzil Downtown Dubai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Manzil Downtown Dubai to your Saves list
Manzil Downtown Dubai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Old Town, Downtown Dubai | Mohamed Bin Rashid Boulevard, Dubai 114822, United Arab Emirates (Formerly Al Manzil Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save AED 100 per night
Ranked #18 of 486 Hotels in Dubai
Irving, Texas, USA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Quality alternative to more bigger & upscale venues”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Dubai is replete with luxury and lavishness and hotels which flaunt it. Al Manzil defies that trend and provides an authentic Arabian themed environment with high value rooms. This hotel will not overwhelm you with unprecedented luxury, but the rooms, lobby, service and food is luxury-esqe.

The rooms are comfortable and only thing to be aware of is that many room have the bathroom integrated with the sleeping area. The shower and toilet do have doors, but the bathroom is literally "in front" of the bed.

Internet alert: although the bandwidth speeds are decent, the connections to have a tendency to be dropped at short intervals. This is quite common in many hotels across the world as they want to ensure connections are live. Had problems with Skype, but that may be a country telecom blocking issue.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan V, General Manager at Manzil Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear ubmagus,

Thank you for your review. We do value your appreciation of our Arabian theme and high value rooms and I will be sure to pass your compliments on to my culinary, housekeeping and reception teams.
If we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel I am sure that you will be pleased to find that we have upgraded our internet bandwidth making it 5 times faster.
Kind regards,
Stefan Viard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    991
    270
    38
    12
    3
See reviews for
171
629
144
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mombasa
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stay there for 5 nights, our suite 619 was very confortable, spacious, the bathroom spacious, the view to the Burj Khalifa staning.... What else could we ask for, a few steps from the Dubai Mall. We used the hotel car to do some shopping and we would like to recomend, the driver very professional, ready to help you with all you want to do. The hotel staff very professional, kind.... Nothing bad to say.
Our only remark is that the break fast should be until 11 for people like us that like to sleep a little more, and to have a little more food choice.
Otherwise thank you very much for making our stay a memorable one.

Room Tip: Any one facing the Burj Khalifa
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan V, General Manager at Manzil Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Tonamombasa,

Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your room and the convenient location of the hotel. Thank you for your recommendation about the breakfast timings and options, we will be sure to consider your suggestions.
Kind regards,
Stefan Viard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights on our way back to the UK from OZ. Slight hiccup with the airport pickup, but quickly sorted out with a phone call from the Information Desk at the airport. Our room was available for us by 9am which was good after a long flight, although sitting round the pool waiting was also a pleasure. The staff at the Al Manzil are all very friendly and made us feel most welcome. The room had a balcony and a side view of the Burj Khalifa and over towards the Mall. We booked a half-board package, which was a bit confusing at first but very good value when you sorted out how it worked! There is a small souk at the back of the courtyard and includes a Spinneys supermarket. Breakfast in the Courtyard was lovely and there was so much to choose from. The hotel is in an ideal location for walking across to the Mall and also seeing the Dubai Fountain show from 6pm every evening. Taxis in Dubai are really cheap and plentiful, even from the airport. Overall I was really pleased that we had booked this hotel, although not on the beach it is an ideal location for Old Town & the Creek area.

Room Tip: Rooms not on the front are quieter as Emmar Boulevard can be quite busy and cars doing U-turns too f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan V, General Manager at Manzil Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Sharon W,

Thank you for your comments and your kind words. I will gladly pass your compliments on to my staff. Your high praise of our location, breakfast and swimming facilities are also much appreciated. We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel if you happen to be passing through the city again.
Kind regards,
Stefan Viard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Nice 4 star hotel (paid 8055 DKK in advance for 5 nights including breakfast).

The staff is extremely friendly and accommodating.

The breakfast buffet is excellent. Plenty of fresh juices, continental as well as english breakfast available. Almost no variation from day to day, but there is a huge variety to pick from every day.

The room (#204): spacious, nice interior design, our son enjoyed the bathtub; courtyard rooms are a bit noisy at nights when the air-con was turned off. Minor flaws: the minibar-cupboard was almost impossible to close, rather small tv. Good wifi-internetconnection without password hassle throughout the hotel.

Children: travelling with a child of 19 months. Interacting and playfull staff, but no real goodies, like a playground, etc. The svimming pool is 1.30 m deep all the way through. Babycot was provided.

Svimming pool: few, but enough daybeds. No reservation needed. Lifeguard on duty. depth 1.3 m everywhere.

Conclusion: very nice hotel, would recommend it!

PRO:
+ very friendly staff (including interaction with our child - special thanks to the "juice" waiter)
+ delicious breakfast buffet
+ location: 5 min walk to Dubai Mall, Burj Khalifa
+ shuttle to Dubai Mall, beach
+ free fitness center

CONS:
- a bit pricey
- no children facilities
- no metrostation in close proximity, but taxis are cheap - so not really an issue
- highly unprofessional buisness partner (Bright Moon car rental),

Bright Moon cars damages your reputation as an excellent hotel. Bright Moon Cars charged us for additional a zero liablity/no risk inssurance when delivering the car. I overheared the concierge specifcally asking for a quote with zero risk/liablity insurrance. @general manager: drop bright moon and team up with a car rental company reflecting your high standards.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms is rather noisy until 1 am, when the air-con was switched off. Stayed in room 204
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan V, General Manager at Manzil Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear DanMarker,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review about your stay with us. We highly value your feedback and have already taken steps to implement the changes you have suggested. I am happy to hear that your overall experience was positive and that you enjoyed our location, the breakfast options, free wifi, fitness centre and shuttle service. Your compliments about the staff are much appreciated and I will gladly share the same with my team.
Kind regards,
Stefan Viard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed here for two nights as part of our honeymoon. The hotel is perfect for what we wanted. The location is by far the best in dubai. You are two minutes walk from the Burj Kulifa, dancing fountains and the dubai mall. So not much need for taxis but when we did they were cheap. But make sure that they know where they are going and get the colour and number when you get in, as we had an issue on the last night when a taxi driver took us to the wrong side of the city and then just dumped us telling us that itwas where we needed to be!
The breakfast at the hotel was nice and had a good choice of all sorts. Obviously no bacon or sausage as it is a muslim country. The staff were very helpful and this was a perfect base for a two night stay!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan V, General Manager at Manzil Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Seb M,

We are honoured that you chose to spend the very special occasion of your honeymoon with us. I am very happy to hear that our location was so convenient for you. I do apologise for the mix up with your taxi driver and hope that it didn't spoil your experience. Your kind words with regards to the staff and the breakfast are much appreciated and I will gladly pass your compliments on to the service and culinary teams.
Kind regards,
Stefan Viard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This hotel was very nice, the reception were very friendly and it was my anniversary, they were nice enough to include a complimentary cake which was pretty tastey, over all the room was big enough, spacious, but i gotta say the bathroom arrangement is a bit awkward because it is fully open, and if you order food or have any staff walk into the room for something, you cannot do that if anyone is taking a shower, unless your willing to have the staff see your partner naked lol (it is not clear glass but cloudy) But over all i recommend as it is walking distance to Dubai mall and it is great value, also it is on Emaar Boulevard which is opening pretty fast with great attractions, one other thing that i didnt like was the curtains would not cover all of the window as alot of sunlight would come in

Room Tip: Pool View Recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan V, General Manager at Manzil Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear BareeK,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Al Manzil Hotel. We value your feedback and will make sure to look into the issue of the curtains. I will gladly pass your compliments on to my team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Kind regards,
Stefan Viard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Very nice breakfast to sit outside with very good choice of food, great location within walking distance to Burj Khalifa. Very nice service, big enough rooms, open bathroom. we had a balcony with Khalifa views. Great for 2-3 days to visit the town.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan V, General Manager at Manzil Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Afrika200,

Thank you for your review. I will be sure to share your compliments with the team.
Kind regards,
Stefan Viard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manzil Downtown Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manzil Downtown Dubai

Address: The Old Town, Downtown Dubai | Mohamed Bin Rashid Boulevard, Dubai 114822, United Arab Emirates (Formerly Al Manzil Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#17 Business Hotel in Dubai
#20 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#26 Family Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manzil Downtown Dubai 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*****CLOSED FOR RENOVATIONS UNTIL 1ST JANUARY 2015***** Discover the spice of life; as you explore the area and make a discovery of your own. Just a five-minute walk from, Burj Khalifa the immense & inspiring Dubai Mall and right in the heart of the Burj Khalifa commercial and residential precinct, you'll find Al Manzil Hotel, a four star deluxe hotel that presents a perfect fusion of old and new.Situated in The Old Town precinct with easy access from Sheikh Zayed Road via Financial Centre Road.With its excellent business facilities, Al Manzil is a popular venue for small to medium-size conferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Manzil Downtown Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Manzil Dubai
Al Manzil Hotel Dubai
Hotel Al Manzil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manzil Downtown Dubai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.