We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vida Downtown Dubai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Vida Downtown Dubai to your Saves list
Vida Downtown Dubai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mohammed Bin Rashid Boulevard, The Old Town | Downtown Dubai, Dubai 114788, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save AED 100
Ranked #30 of 483 Hotels in Dubai
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 6 days in August and enjoyed every day of it and definitely will stay there again. Loved the atmosphere of the hotel.
Check in / Check out: the check in was great and completed through the iPad. The checkout was completed at the reception desk and thanks to the staff for their services
Location: Close to Dubai Mall and the center of downtown and short walking distance to restaurants and café on Sheikh Mohammed Bin Rashid Boulevard
Lobby: the atmosphere is lovely with its high ceiling and fascinating theme
Staff: they are friendly and willing to help
Room: liked the design of the room, and the Smart TV service where you can order room service and check the internet through the TV. The bed is luxurious and so comfortable. The bathroom door is a frosted glass door, so the room is great for one person or couples
Restaurant: I tried the breakfast only and it’s great because the room included breakfast, however I recommend adding more selections to the menu
Internet: free Wi-Fi
I had a problem with closing the window and they fixed it right away
Overall, I recommend this hotel because the service they provide is a five star hotel even though it’s a four star hotel.
You may check the pictures and see for your self

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel K, Manager at Vida Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Hello Fahad A,

Thank you for the detailed review, we really appreciate your feedback and positive comments.

You'll be pleased to hear that we are currently looking at adding some additional items on the breakfast buffet, so please check them out on your next stay.

Thanks again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Daniel Kingston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    604
    198
    41
    17
    7
See reviews for
84
349
105
209
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed at the Vida hotel in August 2013 for five nights. This newly renovated hotel is in Downtown Dubai and within walking distance to the Burj and the Dubai Mall. Entrance to the hotel is at the back of the main road.
We arrived at the hotel at 11 am and were greeted by very pleasant staff and asked to have a seat. This hotel like some others in Dubai have no main check-in desk area, instead you are asked to have a seat and a receptionist comes to you with an iPad and checks you in whilst you are offered a free soft drink.
The rooms are airy and are brightly decorated and have LCD TV, coffee/tea making facilities and minibar etc. The bedroom had a big firm double bed with quality linen. There is a bath and large separate shower area with nice toiletries. Although windows have double glazing in the rooms you could still hear the noise of building work going around the hotel. Unfortunately one window in our room would not shut tight, but it was repaired as soon as it was reported.
There is a small external swimming pool where food and drinks are served. The pool is surrounded by Cabanas which offer a welcome shade from Dubai heat.
We had lunch in the Stage 2 restaurant, which was fine. We also had dinner in La Serre restaurant which is connected to the Hotel, but we had to pay separately there as they do not charge to your room. This restaurant was Fantastic but very expensive, I will do a separate review for the La Serre.
Taxis are not sometimes available outside the hotel, you have to either wait or walk to the main road.

Room Tip: Building work going on, chose higher floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel K, Manager at Vida Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Hi Basilsingh,

Thank you for the review, we really appreciate the time taken to provide us with your feedback. The team and I were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Please let us know when you are thinking of returning.

Kind regards,

Daniel Kingston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stayed at this hotel overnight en route to Bangkok planning to spend an afternoon exploring Dubai market. However a busy trip and jetlag caught up with me and I spent the whole time in my room. The hotel is very new in a contemporary Arabic style. The beds are huge and super comfortable and the general decor pleasing. The TV acts as a kind of portal to the hotel where you use it to order room service etc. I wished I could have stayed longer to enjoy a swim in the very nice looking pool and try the restaurant etc.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel K, Manager at Vida Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Hi Goingnutsinchina,

Thanks for the great review, we're sorry the beds were too comfortable and you didn't get a chance to explore Dubai!

Make sure you let us know when you are thinking of returning, the pool area is looking fantastic and waiting for you to dive right in.

Safe travels and kind regards,

Daniel Kingston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I had the chance to visit this great new managed hotel and do have to say the staff was as professional as they can get, it does have a romantic theme of the design of the room might not be as easy if you were chairing the room with a friend due to the bathroom lake of privacy, but over all its a must stay place when in dubai

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel K, Manager at Vida Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Hi sami a,

Thanks for the great review, we were delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

In end July 2013 me and my wife stayed in Vida downtown Dubai (formerly Qamardeen hotel) for two nights. The hotel facilities are top range with bright interior decoration and best furniture designs. The standard room which we stayed was sufficient for us - it has the best bed we have ever seen in all our travels together with excellent linen and amenities, 32 LED TV, coffee/tea kettle, mini bar, and separate bathtub, toilet and shower.

The hotel staff are not only attentive and helpful but also look and dressed nicely - like air hostess/stewards.

Since Vida has just taken over the hotel, i guess there are few teething problems which needs to be addressed

- took us 15 min to check us in with all the efficiency of using IPAD despite we were the only customer!!!!!!
- system not working during check out, had to get my bill sent by email.
- difficult in getting metered taxis because of road works nearby - you need to book 20 min in advance
- there were on going hammering and nailing in the 4th floor making drill noises in the afternoon unbearable

We also ate ONCE at the hotel restaurant but found although the ambiance was great, but the food selection was limited. With many restaurants near the area, we decided to go out.

Overall good hotel, in a peaceful and quiet neighborhood.

Room Tip: Standard room is sufficient for single or even couple traveler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan V, General Manager at Vida Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Hi Kwamtoro,
Thank you for taking the time to review Vida Downtown Dubai. I am happy to hear that your overall experience was a pleasant one. With regards to the teething problems you mention, please do accept my apologies for the technical issues we were facing and the construction noises that disturbed you during the time of your stay. Rest assured that these have since been sorted out. The roads around the hotel have been reconfigured to make access to the hotel easier which should translate into metered taxis being more readily available for our guests as well.
We do hope that you will choose to stay with us again in order to enjoy the convenience of the new access road and the restaurants which will be opening on the ground floor.
Kind regards,
Stefan Viard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

very good location - more or less " in the middle" of dubai, which means it takes almost equal time to get anywhere in the city from the hotel ( whereas if you stay near the airport you have to cross the whole city to get to , say, the emirates mall. likewise if you're staying at the emirates mall you have cross the whole city to get to the airport or el wafi mall, bastakia, etc...)
the hotel itself is a very pleasant surprise in a city known for opulence. the lobby is wide open with high ceilings letting in plenty of light. color schemes are cool and soothing. theme continues in the rooms which are very comfortable . only complaint would be that when you step out of the shower you step directly into the room. hence, only share room w/ somebody intimate.
food is good, even w/ gluten-free bread. alas, no dosas or idli - much to my disappointment.
all in all, a pleasant stay.
it's located in a very nice neighbourhood and w/in walking distance - in fair weather- to dubai mall, burj khalifeh, the fountains, souq el bahar.
i would definitely go back - in fact i did after 2 weeks; so - yes, i would definitely recommend it

Room Tip: a pool view room gets you a view of the main street as well as the pool; a garden room gets you a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan V, General Manager at Vida Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Hi katinbombay,
Thank you for your review, we are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much.
We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Stefan Viard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

amazing location, friendly and very helpful service even if they have been open for less than a month.

Standard rooms are fabulous, amazing bathroom where to chill for hours after a long day of work!

Still missing sign for finding the gym (hidden in the 6th floor), but except that, Vida will give you all the comfort you look for a business stay in Dubai.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan V, General Manager at Vida Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for your review! I am happy to report that the gym signage has been installed so it should be easy to find now. We hope you drop by again soon as we have lots of exciting plans for the hotel in the months to come.
Kind regards,
Stefan Viard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vida Downtown Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vida Downtown Dubai

Address: Mohammed Bin Rashid Boulevard, The Old Town | Downtown Dubai, Dubai 114788, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Dubai
#27 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#36 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#51 Family Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vida Downtown Dubai 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vida Downtown Dubai (previously Qamardeen Hotel) takes shape as six floors of fresh, urban styling with bright, airy private and public spaces. Sitting in the Old Town precinct of Dubai just a short walk from Burj Khalifa, eclectic souks, The Dubai Mall and The Dubai Fountain, and a short drive from, The Dubai International Financial Centre, the airport and beaches. This is, literally, the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vida Downtown Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qamardeen Hotel Dubai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vida Downtown Dubai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.