We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant! - had everything we wanted” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orient Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Orient Guest House to your Saves list
Orient Guest House
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   Al Fahidi Street | Bastakiya Heritage Area, Dubai 46500, United Arab Emirates (The Creek)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 53 Dubai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Brilliant! - had everything we wanted”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We loved our stay at the Orient Guest House. The traditional architecture and decor were charming, service was personal and efficient, airconditioning was welcome. Best of all, the Guest House is located in the historic precinct by the Dubai Creek which is the only walkable part of Dubai. You can walk out the door and start exploring immediately.

It is close to the Big Bus route, close to river transport (ferries and abras) and not far from a Metro station. We felt safe at all times.

It was easy to find - on Al Fahidi Street, opposite the Post Office.

Room Tip: All rooms open onto the central courtyard where breakfast is served.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    49
    23
    1
    3
See reviews for
10
83
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The hotel had one thing going for it: it doesn't look like all the other concrete jungle monstrosities in Dubai. It was one of the few local-architecture type hotels we could find.
The hotel - not being one of the major big ones - was a bit hard to find, even for locals.
The room was ok, nothing special about it. One good thing going for it was the air-conditioning, which was absolutely necessary in Dubai.
In summary: just ok, wouldn't go there again, or to Dubai for that matter.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Terrific location, comfortable rooms and very helpful staff. We really enjoyed our stay. We found the Guest House hard to find at first but once we had got our bearings it was easier to find. Breakfast was lovely and the staff at the sister hotel were helpful too.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

orient guest house is not easy to find as it is inside the bastakiya area but the best landmark is the roundabout in al fahidi and al musala sts. where almusala post ofc is near and opp it is bastakiya neighborhood u will see in ur left the orient signage, take the 2nd alley ul find its entrance a small door directing you to a small nice courtyard :)
there are several doors in this courtyrd including the glass door for the recption ofc where i get to meet zahli. she is nice and very accomodating.
as im booked earliethey have my details ready she assisted me with my bags in rm.9 is clean, nicely lit, cool and so traditional :) i love the design n make of bed, sidetables, wardrobe, dresser sofa ceiling solid wood all looks so traditional even the door design the key n lockall are heavy metal its so cool :)
zahli assisted me in operting the tv as its quite confusing and gave me wifi pword excellent signal.
however need some changes on the bathrom like shower head, the lighting and add some drama or traditionsl design in it.
sunset lorena is there and like zahli she is nice and very accomodating even though she is busy cleaning in the warm pantry she spoke to me n gave me directions to places and the hotels menu. as my rm.9 is facing courtyard where breakfst is servd. in early morning i was woken by some utensil sound but im fine with that but if u mind, request a rm on the other side.
breakfast is good, creamy scrambled eggs, veal bacon, beans, assorted breads n pastries, cereals, dips, fruits, yogurts, cheese, juice, kofi n tea. plus some arabic sweets n dates. not so much but just enough not to confuse u what to
eat.
checkout is fast and u can feel the warm n sincere good wishes from zahli for a very nice day :)
orient is not a big fancy hotel but my stay is sooo nice bec of the people serving with smile and sincerity :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Located in the Bastakiya area, it may be a little hard to find, but this place is a gem lost in tons and tons of concrete jungles that Dubai is made up off.

Minutes from the Dubai Creek, this traditional olden days feel of a hotel/bnb is just awesome. Its a shame many people don’t know about this place.

The rooms are super spacious, with ceilings at least double the height of normal places. The walls are think and feel cool to touch. The furniture and decor are designed to look like they’ve aged perfectly with time.

The hotel has different areas centered around courtyards and where the entrances to the rooms are. Awesome place to take pictures.

You can take a walk in the evening down the creek where dhows await to take you on dinner cruises. (Tip: if you get on one that is about to leave, you can get more than 50% off the buffet dinner. They offered us 150pp, and we went back when it was about to leave, it was 50% off.)

Walk the other way from the bnb, and you have the Dubai museum and tons of stores selling various things that you can indulge in.

Then only disadvantage with the hotel is that there isn’t a decent eatery. You need to walk about 5 minutes to another hotel to eat at the restaurant, this includes the breakfast as well. There are no amenities such as pools / gyms.

Besides that, the place is super awesome and very good for a fun weekend out of the hustle bustle of new Dubai.

Room Tip: the food on the dhows are pretty crappy. more of a novelty value. the bnb is good, dont miss a chan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Loved every minute there. It has the feel that you are really in another world. The area was very interesting. Hotel was within walking distance of many activities or take the dhow and also the underground transportation. Walked to the other side of the creek and saw the local people having their supper along the water. The breakfast was great. The service friendly and liked sitting in the courtyard and talking with other travelers. The room was clean and welcoming and you can use the facilities of the Arabian Courtyard for free if you need that pool or ride to the beach. Hard to find but it is down the street from the sister hotel Arabian Courtyard if that helps. It seems to run full so be sure to book. If you can not stay at least stop for a lunch or snack.

Room Tip: Book early- it may be full
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

just returned from a week in dubai the orient guest house was the perfect place to stay the staff were friendly and polite and could not do enough for us. the breakfast was fine and our bedroom located on the courtyard was of a high standard and cleaned every day ,toiletries replenished when required. the location was excellant and we had no problems locating it. will definately be stopping there when we next visit dubai. a good way of seeing dubai was by the double decker bus that runs regular through it we booked our tickets through the internet before we went but you can easily book it whilst there

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Orient Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orient Guest House

Address: Al Fahidi Street | Bastakiya Heritage Area, Dubai 46500, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > The Creek
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orient Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Orient Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orient Guest House Hotel Dubai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orient Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.