We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The other Dubai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of XVA Art Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added XVA Art Hotel to your Saves list
XVA Art Hotel
Al Fahidi Quarter, formerly Bastakiya, Dubai, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 486 Hotels in Dubai
Athens
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“The other Dubai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Located in the heart of old Dubai, this beautiful hotel/art gallery is absolutely perfect. One can only gush about the rooms, the patio, the exhibits, the sunny disposition of the staff and the overall positive aura of this hotel. Everything is done in good taste, making you feel as if you were staying in the beautifully decorated home of a local. Tip: Do not skip breakfast, it's deliciously fruity and remember to try their exquisite mint lemonade, an absolute highlight. The only negative thing is that it's very close to a mosque, which means you might be "disturbed" by the call to prayer more often than you might like, but, hey, you're in the Middle East and that's also part of the charm and local colour.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IwanYamin, General Manager at XVA Art Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Hi VictoriaAthens,

Dubai is known for one world that is exclusive, over the top and glamourous. Your title - The Other Dubai - strikes many Trippies as this part has not been much advertised.

Undoubtedly we are so proud to hear all the compliments you wrote here. Sometimes we ask ourselves, do we deserve all these? Smile on all staff face after having read it out loud to them during the morning meeting.

For the breakfast lovers: we intend to upgrade our breakfast from September onwards. We take into considerations for longer stay guests, so that they have more choices. The extras would be Muesli, Foul bean, date honey as well as toast.

Next time when you are crossing the world, pass by again and stay with us, your home in Dubai.

Best regards,

Iwan Yamin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    76
    10
    6
    5
See reviews for
28
134
56
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doha
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This beautiful hotel is exquisite! Beautiful art surrounds you. From the art itself continues the exquisite attention to detail - wonderfully comfortable bed and linens, homemade natural soap, vegetarian food and homemade breakfast and mint lemonade :). The staff were lovely, welcoming, and were so kind when i checked in late and made sure i settled comfortably. It is a calm oasis of Arabic hospitailitym history and grace in old Dubai town not far from the creek. It is by far one of the best boutique hotels i have stayed in and reccomend it in a second! Warmest Wishes to you Iwan and all your staff! Thank you Thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IwanYamin, General Manager at XVA Art Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Hi Penni K - Greetings from Dubai!

We are grateful with all the good words you wrote about us.

As an art hotel we have a commitment to make and we take it seriously. In all rooms, we have original artworks and art exhibition in almost every 8 weeks. So when the guests come to visit us several times, the atmosphere changes a little.

So when can we expect your second visit?

Warm regards,

Iwan Yamin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

It was just the perfect location with the much needed peace and quite that I was looking for. It was convenient as the Al Fahidi metro is at walking distance.
The staff was friendly and helpful. They went out of their way to make my stay comfortable. I was upgraded from the single room to the double room on my arrival & the room was brilliant and cozy. The best part of the room is that there is NO TV! And the food was perfect :)
The Dubai museum is right next to the hotel and there are several old markets in the area. Several things to do in this neighbourhood.
Unique hotel, lovely service and peaceful atmosphere!
I'm glad I chose XVA Art Hotel for my stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IwanYamin, General Manager at XVA Art Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Jaina S,

It was nice having you in our hotel. We are delighted to hear that our place has given you enough rest and peacefulness. We are lucky with the location of our hotel which is right in the middle of Al Fahidi historic site. Only birds and the prayers give sounds to the ambiance.

About the TV, you are not the first person to comment on that. In the midst of endless rapid news, no news is somehow refreshing. Of course, the free wifi can still keep you connected with family and friends.

So when Mumbai makes you restless, come and stay again with us.

Have a fabulous day.

Iwan Yamin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

XVA is located within the Bastakiya, the old Dubai town. The area it's been rebuilt so everything is in exceptional condition but keeping the historical feeling. The hotel itself is a piece of history. Very well located, next to public transport and main attractions like the Gold souk, just on the other side of the creek. Personnel is friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IwanYamin, General Manager at XVA Art Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Good morning EvaVL186338,

It is our pleasure to hear from you through this social media.

Dubai is a large relatively new city stretching along the sea. Our location is indeed very good, right in the middle of the historic Al Fahidi formerly known as Bastakiya. The creek is the destination in itself as this is where Dubai began. To go to the other side, the ultra modern fancy part, can be easily done by metro - approx. 10 min walk from the hotel.

Look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Iwan Yamin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Located in the heart of Dubai old town area, near Dubai museum and gold souqs, old markets etc. The creek is just steps away, there u can take water bus or taxi across. Metro is merely 5mins walking distance.

Very friendly services, a lot of useful info as for transport, places to go, things to do etc. Breakfast is also nice! Mint lemonade is great especially for the hot summer.

The hotel has a lot of arts pieces where u can imagine it is a combination of hotel n arts gallery. If u want something unique, this is the place!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IwanYamin, General Manager at XVA Art Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear VLYNCC,

I hope you had a great honey moon in Dubai.

It is true that we take arts seriously in our hotel. All the rooms are decorated with original art pieces and every 8 weeks we have a new exhibition in the public space.

Hopefully we can welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Iwan Yamin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I find it hard to imagine how 59 hotels in Dubai are rated higher than this. True, it does not have all the amenities of a luxury hotel. What it does have, however, is character in abundance. Very similar to Morrocan riads in that is has been reconstructed in the heritage bazaar area next to the Rulers Court in Dubai, it is a stones throw from the creek with all its life, an abra boat ride from the gold souk, and a 10 minute walk down the creek to Dubai Heritage village for a great local meal next to the water.
Rooms are constructed around an inner courtyard where a very comprehensive reakfast is served. Upstairs rooms have a little more space and are quieter. In our room, the bathroom was nearly as big as a bedroom and sported a bath. No TV in the bedroom but an exptremely comfortable 4 poster. Shutters afford a view over the Rulers Court with towers and a minaret.
The hotel is a short walk from the car park, but just give them your car keys and they will transport your bags from car to room faster than most hotels can make it from a downstairs lobby.
I had an early plane to catch and on learning I needed to leave at 7am when breakfast normally starts reception, totally unbidden, offered to prepare something for me at 6:45. And this was not just coffee and tea, but a full breakfast with omelette, juice, fruit, and yoghurt. Then thay called a cab and carried my bags up the paths to the main road.
Exceptional service. Exceptional atmosphere, Exceptional location. If you want something different from a cookie cutter luxury hotel ,stay here.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are a little more expensive but quieter and larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IwanYamin, General Manager at XVA Art Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear SecretStreets,

We are proud to make it on your list. I could see the places you go and stay, very beautiful; particular places and hotels. No surprise that you stumbled upon our hotel.

Thank you for sharing your personal experience here. We do actually go that extra mile to be different. A simple gesture like making an early breakfast for guests can make a huge difference in experience.

Travelling is all about getting new experience and we are happy that we can be a part of your experience.

Till we meet again.

Iwan Yamin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on our way through Dubai and it was excellent. We have travelled a lot and this was a mix of romantic boutique, great ambience, quiet, clean and extremely good and personalised service. We had a few hours stop over the week before we came back to stay for a night and they let us store our bags and freshen up and sit in an air con room even though we weren't staying there until the following week. If you want a boring high rise Best Western or Meridian without any soul where you are another number etc then this is not for you. We were upgraded to the "honeymoon suit" and it was very cool. I thought the reviews were a bit too generous before I stayed here but they are actually accurate. Tom and Philippa Dodd - NZ.

Room Tip: Upstairs with a view out is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IwanYamin, General Manager at XVA Art Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear TomDak,

We are so happy to be the first review you made on Tripadvisor. We must have made such an impression upon you.

You sum up our service nicely in this email, straight to the point and practical. We are a proud team and will strive to get personal when it comes to service.

All other hotels are nice and suitable for certain needs and taste. Our suits you and a small group of travellers and it made our place a hidden gem.

Have a great day!

Iwan Yamin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to XVA Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about XVA Art Hotel

Address: Al Fahidi Quarter, formerly Bastakiya, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 486 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish and peaceful boutique hotel, XVA is set within the heart of Al Fahidi quarter, formerly known as Bastakiya, the oldest region of Dubai. Unique for its Persian architectural heritage, its maze-like alleyways and proximity to the Creek, Al Fahidi is viewed today as one of the cultural centrepoints of Dubai. XVA occupies a renovated traditional majilis-style building, boasting original architectural motifs and wind towers and three open courtyards, in which one can relax and soak up the exceptional atmosphere of this heritage space. XVA’s Art Hotel includes twelve boutique rooms, designed by well-established designers and artists from the region. These include Zayan Ghandour, Numa, Nada Debs & Karim Rashid (Gaia&Gino).The XVA Art Hotel is covered in many national and international travel publications. Featured in Condé Nast Traveller as one of the 10 hotels to stay in Dubai and in 2006 as the number 1 “Not To Miss” spot in Dubai, Wallpaper magazine mentioned us as a boutique hotel to stay. Lonely planet listed us twice in their recent Dubai guide as a place to stay and to have lunch. For transit travellers, this hotel is ideal due to its close proximity to Dubai International airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your XVA Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage XVA Art Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.