We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different, pleasant vibe!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of XVA Art Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added XVA Art Hotel to your Saves list
XVA Art Hotel
Al Fahidi Quarter, formerly Bastakiya | Opp Musallah Post Office, Near Dubai Museum, Dubai, United Arab Emirates (The Creek)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 499 Hotels in Dubai
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Different, pleasant vibe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

If you prefer a more older surrounding than the modern/new dubai, go to this place!
The rooms are nice. We did have a small room, but it has a lot of atmosphere!
Breakfast was nice, just everything you want and more. Fresh prepared. Really liked staying at this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IwanYamin, General Manager at XVA Art Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Irene2013,

Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers about our hotel. Your concise and straight forward descriptions are accurate. Amidst of all the fantastic development in Dubai, especially in hospitality industry, we aim to amaze our guests with the originality " back to the history" experience, yet with a twist of contemporary art and fresh vegetarian cuisine.

Hope to see you back in Dubai and have a fabulous day.

Best regards,

Iwan Yamin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    89
    11
    9
    5
See reviews for
30
155
59
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband and myself stayed for 2 nights end of Jan 2013 on our way to Mauritius. XVA hotel was recommended by a friend and we have not been disappointed. Despite the minimalist approach, it really blends the old and new Dubai: ideal location, away from skycraper hotels, simplicity yet close to history, quiet, peaceful, clean, very friendly and helpful staff, magical set up, healthy breakfast. We will definitely book again on our next Dubai stop over. To improve on: wifi,as there is no TV!! - also well done to the authorities to have conserved the area of Bastakiya quarter.
Jess & Tim - North Somerset, England

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IwanYamin, General Manager at XVA Art Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Jess and Tim,

We appreciate your time and effort to write such a nice review. The quality you described is exactly what are offering and continually improving. Amidst all the abundant choices, our hotel keeps its style and hopefully will always stand out among the rest.

Due to the ancient thick walls in the hotel, our internet in-room wireless connection can be troublesome. There is little we can do at this moment, yet we offer pleasant seating outside the rooms as well as in the courtyard. This way our guests can enjoy the fresh air, the singing birds and quietness.

We certainly would like to see you back in our hotel. Please let me know your future travel to Dubai.

Sincerely yours,

Iwan Yamin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

The XVA is a welcome contract to the glitzy but faceless hotels usually associated with the city. The hotel is simply lovely. It is a peaceful oasis among the bustle of the city. We ate in the cafe for lunch and also enjoyed a splendid breakfast there. The location is excellent, being in easy reach of the bus station and the metro. The area itself is perfect for strolling around with plenty of pictuesque photo opportunities. Most important of all was the excellent service we received. The staff were friendly and helpful, particularly the manager, who gave us a map and written instructions of how to get to the areas we wanted to visit. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IwanYamin, General Manager at XVA Art Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Greetings from Dubai!

We are happy to hear that your experience in our hotel has been special one. The low key and friendliness are indeed the keys to our success. I will pass on this review to my colleagues, the job well done.

Have a lovely day.

Warm regards,

Iwan Yamin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights while on a Dubai stopover on route to the UK from Australia. If you want something authentic, relaxed, artistic and personal - this is the place! Dubai may well be celebrated for its tall, skyscraper, luxurious hotels, but I personally think this is a secret gem! It's location is also wonderful, in the historic area where there are a number of boutique cafes, galleries, shops etc. XVA is also very close to an impressive looking mosque and the sounds pouring out of there in the day are most welcome and relaxing! The room I had was just perfect for what I needed - all your basics, plus it was nicely decorated. The courtyard area is just magical, you won't want to leave... I recommend XVA!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iwan Y, General Manager at XVA Art Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Mr. Lucas,

Thank you very much for your kind and well described review. We like the way you mentioned us as "a secret gem of Dubai', it is really flattering. My staffs and I work together as the team to create a unique experience for our guests. We strive to keep the originality and maintain the atmosphere in our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Iwan Yamin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My son and I recently spent 10 days in Dubai and stayed in a hotel in downtown Dubai. When we went to the Bastakia quarter for the first time, we discovered this place. It was such a nice change from the millions of people surrounding you otherwise in the malls and other places in Dubai. We ended up going there 3 times for lunch during our stay. The food is simple but delicious, with nice touches like water melon served along side your sandwich. The mint lemonade is to die for!!!!! We enjoyed the peace and quiet while eating our food in the courtyard. It also nice and shady. I loved the fact that this place is different from your average 5 star hotel and has its own character and attitude. There are nice little touches everywhere, e.g. place mats signed by former guests. Would highly recommend to visit this restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iwan Y, General Manager at XVA Art Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Mr/Mrs Roman,

We are glad that you like our restaurant very much. Our chefs are very creative and we try to offer vegetarian cuisine with a contemporary twist. In the near future you can also enjoy dinner in our restaurant. We will be adding a talented chef to our team.

Next time, please come and stay with us. We will assure a good night sleep as well.

Warm regards,

Iwan Yamin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arth, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

When I mentioned to Dubai residents that I'm staying in Bastakiya, nobody seems to know this place. As one step in, early morning, the staff are beaming with smiles ever willing to help despite it was holy Friday. The place gives us the feeling that we have been transported back in time. Our rooms has an authentic traditional feel and it was good that for once, we have no TV in the room. Wi-Fi is available in the courtyard. We have our daily breakfast in the courtyard - open air, lush foliage and the chirping sounds of birds...unbelievable.
Location wise, we either walk to the Abra station, where we paid only AED 1 to get to the gold souk (Deira), or walk along the lovely creek for 25mins to the Burjuman Metro station to get to Burj Khalifa, MOE etc. Around this place, there are many nice Indian restaurants. The 1st morning we arrived, we went to an Indian vegetarian restaurant for Paratha onion and methi with Masala tea for only AED 10 for 2 persons. This is really a hidden gem!!!

Room Tip: Look at the rooms on the website and write directly to the staff requesting for that particular room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iwan Y, General Manager at XVA Art Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear SpringySwallow,

We are delighted to read your review. Our hotel is indeed a special place in between the fast development of our city. We are also proud to be a part of the Bastakiya neighborhood which is the origin of Dubai Itself. Now it is a residence of many Indian and Pakistani families. This add to the choices of good and affordable food in our area.

We look forward to welcoming you and your friends to our hotel.

Sincerely yours,

Iwan Yamin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toshima, Japan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

For the price I have no complain anymore.
Internet signal is very low in my room, I cannot access internet almostly.
Facilities are poor, but it is clear and the staffs are friendly.
The staffs are from S.E. Asia and S. Asia, they are helpful but no professional, anyway I thank them, they did well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iwan Y, General Manager at XVA Art Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Omniocinese,

Thank you very much for your review. I regret to hear that some facilities that did not meet your expectations.

Our wireless internet has indeed created some problems for in room use. We have now installed one extra wifi, so it will reach also inside the rooms.

Our staffs are indeed friendly and helpful. Should you have any suggestions to make them professional, please let me know. We aim to constantly improve our staffs' skills.

Have a good day.

Warm regards,

Iwan Yamin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to XVA Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about XVA Art Hotel

Address: Al Fahidi Quarter, formerly Bastakiya | Opp Musallah Post Office, Near Dubai Museum, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > The Creek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 499 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish and peaceful boutique hotel, XVA is set within the heart of Al Fahidi quarter, formerly known as Bastakiya, the oldest region of Dubai. Unique for its Persian architectural heritage, its maze-like alleyways and proximity to the Creek, Al Fahidi is viewed today as one of the cultural centrepoints of Dubai. XVA occupies a renovated traditional majilis-style building, boasting original architectural motifs and wind towers and three open courtyards, in which one can relax and soak up the exceptional atmosphere of this heritage space. XVA’s Art Hotel includes twelve boutique rooms, designed by well-established designers and artists from the region. These include Zayan Ghandour, Numa, Nada Debs & Karim Rashid (Gaia&Gino).The XVA Art Hotel is covered in many national and international travel publications. Featured in Condé Nast Traveller as one of the 10 hotels to stay in Dubai and in 2006 as the number 1 “Not To Miss” spot in Dubai, Wallpaper magazine mentioned us as a boutique hotel to stay. Lonely planet listed us twice in their recent Dubai guide as a place to stay and to have lunch. For transit travellers, this hotel is ideal due to its close proximity to Dubai International airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your XVA Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage XVA Art Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.