We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel luxury liner in the Desert” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Excelsior Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Excelsior Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Excelsior Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Al Kuwait Street, Dubai, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #260 of 499 Hotels in Dubai
Doha
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hotel luxury liner in the Desert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

This hotel was an amazing surprise. It was stuck out in a back street near the Emirates Mall- no views- built like a ship inside and outside. It had fabuloue staff an excelent manager who worked very hard in the two weeks we stayed there to make our stay a real pleasure. The food was so good and differet every night that it was pointless going anywhere else but they also had a Grill room restaurant which was silver sevice and beautifully elegant. The room was so big and the bed the most comfortable bed I ever slept in I did not want to leave. It was walking distance to the Emirates Mall which is always fun to visit and close to a Tashkent restuarant which serves nice an cheap Uzbekistan food very nice. One other great feature which is missing from even 5 star hotels was it had a separate shower not over the bath which is the way it shoul be. I have very fond memories of this hotel even though there was nothng to see around it.

Room Tip: Any corner room on any floor only not the floor with the pool and spa as you can smell the chlorine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    125
    67
    28
    24
See reviews for
39
67
29
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Checked in for a few hours of sleep after an early morning arrival from Istanbul, before a night flight back to Manila. It took forever to check in, perhaps due to our large group. Hotel interiors are a bit on the pretentious opulence side, not really to my taste. Decided to have breakfast first before getting some rest. Good breakfast. Found out they gave my friend and I a room with just one huge king sized bed instead of twin beds we requested for. Too tired to argue, we just went ahead to use the room. Huge room, huge bed, clean bathroom but certainly dated furniture, bordering on tacky. Thankfully, the free wifi and strong air conditioning in the room made up for the shortcomings.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home Counties UK
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Grand Excelsior) proved to be ideal for our one night in Dubai.
Our room on the sixth floor afforded excellent views of Dubai's architectural wonders
particularly at night. Very spacious and equipped with all one could need. Comfortable large
beds. Public lounge areas were cool and have plenty of soft couches and chairs.

Staff pleasantly efficient and always helpful. Spotlessly clean everywhere.
Do not be put off by fellow cruisers comments - this hotel does what it says on the tin and does it well.

Room Tip: Go high if you can - sixth floor and up
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Currently staying at grand excelsior , arrived yesterday and had nothing but bad service from the start , staff are stuck up especially the women ,
Found my safe open when i returned from the mall . Asked reception to send some one up ... Its been 1 hour and im still waiting . Although nothing was missing to my knowledge the fact that no one has come to see me is poor . Will never return again

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Stayed for three nights - staff was good, wifi is free in the room (not often in dubai), rooms are clean and sleep quality was also good. The only thing - Al Karama metro station is very close to this hotel, but they didn't want to let me know this. First day I a took a taxi to the metro station and he started to drive me to the Burj al Khalifa (this taxi is the hotel taxi) in the end he wanted 20 AED to let me out without a bill or anything. I asked him about any bill or something he told me i can get it in the hotel. After i didn't ask, didn't want to spend my time on this.
There are two or three night clubs in this hotel - my room was on a good position so i didn't had any problems with sleeping.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We have stayed a few times in Dubai and always be delighted with our choice of hotels, afterall, that is one of the main attractions of dubai, the grand opulent hotels. However, this hotel was booked as part of a cruise package and we did not choose it! It was clean and the staff were friendly but I would never choose to stay there!
It is old, dated Arabic style of hotel - not for me!

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Nice hotel, very near to Barjuman City Center and Centerpoint. Also, near to Al Karama Metro Station. Hotel has good interiors and beautiful designed rooms. Easy to locate on the main road. Enjoyed 3 nights stay at this hotel. Would recommend for travelers.

Room Tip: Check for Smoking and Non-Smoking rooms/floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Excelsior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Excelsior Hotel

Address: Al Kuwait Street, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#201 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Excelsior Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Grand Excelsior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dhow Palace
Dhow Palace Hotel Dubai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Excelsior Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.