We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel, high prices, horrible city.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Flora Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Flora Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Flora Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Al Rigga Rd. | Deira, Dubai 120328, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 486 Hotels in Dubai
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Average Hotel, high prices, horrible city.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

nicely located not far from metro and the airport, however way overpriced. We did not sample any of the food, and the pool was small and closed very early. Overall not happy with our stay, but it goes beyond the hotel to a SOULLESS city that is trying to be everything its not. This city is so westernized you forget your in the middle east. Could be any American city. No Alcohol, no Nightlife, and the locals are SO ANGRY and seem to hate that your even there. Is Dubai wishes to maxamaize tourist dollars, they have a lot of work to do.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFGH, General Manager at Flora Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay at the Flora Grand Hotel !

At the outset please accept my humble apologies for an unsatisfactory stay during your visit to Dubai.I notice the concern on the value for money and would request you to give me more details
regarding the quality of services and the courtesy of the team members on grandfeedback@florahospitality. May I also know the dates of your stay as the prices vary with the demand period as any where else in the world.

I sincerly hope you will give Dubai & our hotel another chance to change your opinion !

Warm Regards,

Satish Nambiar

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    586
    113
    30
    11
See reviews for
316
413
151
272
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are comfortable and staff is very wel trained and friendly. 5stsr service. Exelent breakfast bit expensive. Swimming pool area need little upgrade. Otherwise entire hotel is very lavishly decorative. Overall good place to live.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFGH, General Manager at Flora Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback on your stay at the Flora Grand Hotel !

We are very to know that you had a comfortable stay and the team members looked after you well. We are glad that you liked breakfast spread.

We look forward to welcome you back soon at the Flora Grand Hotel !

Warm Regards,

Satish Nambiar

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We booked the hotel at booking.com and we got pretty good rates for our stay in Dubai. The hotel is located in Dubai Deira near the Metro station Al Rigga. You can walk there easily. The staff, especially at the reception desk, was very helpful and tried constantly to provide the best service possible. Although the check-in time is at 2 pm we got the keys to our room already at 10 am, what we really appreciated after a 14 hours flight. The breakfast in the restaurant of the hotel was very good and provided something for everyone. The only point I want to mention here, was a fire alarm at night, which was accidentally caused and there was no reaction at all from the staff of the hotel at all, which I do not understand as the whole hotel woke up that night. But overall I really can recommend that hotel for people, who are looking for a hotel with a good relation between price and service and who want to be close to a metro station in the old part of Dubai!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFGH, General Manager at Flora Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback on your stay at the Flora Grand Hotel !

We are happy to note that you had a wonderful stay and the team members looked after your expectations well.We are sorry to have disturbed your sleep with a false fire alarm which went of twice in a span of 15 mts.There was some fault in the fire alarm system which the night team had to be certain about before confirming that it is a false call.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future at the Flora Grand Hotel !

Warm Regards,

Satish Nambiar

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Hotel is well situated near the airport and metro. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Our room was well airconditioned and well appointed, definitely lived up to our expectations. The hotel transfer was very much appreciated. Our room was not ready as we arrived early, however, hotel was happy to store our lugguage until we could check in. Excellent breakfast offered.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFGH, General Manager at Flora Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback on your stay at the Flora Grand Hotel !

We are delighted to note that your stay was lovely and memorable. Your kind appreciation has been conveyed to all the team members. Iam glad to know that you were happy with the breakfast spread.

We look forward to welcome you again at the Flora Grand Hotel !

Warm Regards,

Satish Nambiar

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

On arrival,at 1am, the reception staff were very welcoming and helpful. The hotel lobby is very nicely decorated and has a nice seating area. Our room was upgraded and was light and spacious with a balcony. The balcony had no furniture and when I enquired I was informed none would be supplied. House keeping a little erratic , one dressingown for two people , one bath towel. The pool and surrounding area was a big disappointment, very small and a constant smell of cooking pervaded which was most unpleasant. The extractor fans from the kitchen must exit there. The hotel is not to far from the airport, and transport is provided at a cost, 50dr, where a taxi can cost as little as 10dr. Metro is excellent, well run and clean, just not enough routes.
Dubai is not an easy city to get around and for that reason I wouldn't stay in this area again. I would advise doing as much research as possible before your journey, we never found a tourist office during our stay there.












found a tourist office while there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFGH, General Manager at Flora Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback on your stay at the Flora Grand Hotel !

At the outset please accept my apology for the inconvenience caused during your stay. The areas of improvement have been noted and we shall make the possible changes on the same. We do not provide furniture in our balcony for security reasons as a policy. Iam glad that you were happy with team members of the hotel.Your kind appreciation has been conveyed to all.

We are hopeful that you would give another chance to the hotel & the Deira area which has the old world charm of Dubai !!

Warm Regards,

Satish Nambiar

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Iam a frequent traveller and stayed in many different hotels but I never experienced the warm,professional and courtesy service i recieved in Flora from any other place.Iam previlaged and very happy with all services including room,front office and restaurant services i received.All the staffs are very humble and cordial.Thanks to Flora management.

Room Tip: Book in advance to get a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFGH, General Manager at Flora Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback on your stay at the Flora Grand Hotel !

We are delighted to know that your stay experience was truly memorable and more pleased that the team looked after you very well. Your kind appreciation has been conveyed to all the team members.

We look forward to welcome you again at the Flora Grand Hotel !

Warm Regards,

Satish Nambiar

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The hotel was really near the airport and metro station which meant it was easy to get around. However I was really disappointed by our first impression of the hotel, we arrived at 14.30 from the airport and our rooms wasn't ready, when booking the hotel I asked for 2 double rooms with single occupancy and non-smoking and we were given SMOKING Rooms and the cleaners had to go amend the beds. Apart from that the hotel was fine, the rooms a little outdated but clean. If visiting Dubai again I would stay in another hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFGH, General Manager at Flora Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback on your stay at the Flora Grand Hotel !

Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused due to the rooms not being ready at the time of your check in. Due to very high occupancies and late check outs there are occasions when we are behind schedule on getting our rooms ready. We do our best in complying with non smoking room request but there are days like this occasion where fail we to do so inspite having a large no of non smoking rooms.

I would like to assure you that this was a one off situations and we are truly sorry for the same.

We would be delighted to see you back at the Flora Grand Hotel !

Warm Regards,

Satish Nambiar

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flora Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flora Grand Hotel

Address: Al Rigga Rd. | Deira, Dubai 120328, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Best Value Hotel in Dubai
#43 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#56 Family Hotel in Dubai
#59 Business Hotel in Dubai
#66 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#66 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Flora Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flora Grand Hotel Dubai is a four star deluxe hotel conveniently located in the heart of Dubai's thriving commercial and leisure district, just 10 minutes from Dubai International Airport and on the famous Al Rigga Street - the most exciting part of town all year round. The hotel offers 200 rooms to choose from, including Superior, Executive, Deluxe, Connecting Rooms and Suites for uncompromising indulgence. Indulge your mind and body at the Health and Leisure facilities at the Flora Grand Hotel Dubai.The facilities includes Free Hi Speed Wifi Internet fro all inhouse guests,Gym and Health Club, Serenity Spa, Outdoor Swimming Pool and Gym. The Monsoon is the hotels all day dining restaurant serving a wide range of international cuisine. You can also enjoy a delightful selection of cookies, fresh pastries, juices and coffee at Al Nakheel coffee shop. Our privileged location in Deira Dubai combined with the highest levels of hospitality and comfort makes the Flora Grand Hotel your best choice in Dubai. Rooms: 200 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, HostelBookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Flora Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flora Grand Hotel Dubai
Hotel Flora Grand
Flora Grand Dubai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flora Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.