We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awosome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Al Shams Plaza Hotel Apartments

Al Shams Plaza Hotel Apartments
Best prices from these 8 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Al Shams Plaza Hotel Apartments to your Saves list
Al Shams Plaza Hotel Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mankhool St | Bur Dubai, Dubai 27961 , United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #286 of 478 Hotels in Dubai
Sharjah, Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“awosome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

The staff were awesome and extremely friendly and courteous. The location of the hotel is brilliant, it is 15 minutes by car to Jumeirah beach, and around 10 minutes to Dubai Mall the biggest shopping centre in the world. The views from our room were stunning, and the cleanliness of the rooms was also fantastic. There is a 24 hours supermarket right next to the hotel, and also withing walking distance there is KFC, Pizza Hut, Coffee Shops & Restaurants and money exchangers. I would deffinitely stay at this hotel again.”

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
6
Couples
0
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

THIS HOTEL DOES NOT HONOUR CONFIRMED BOOKINGS.

I had booked two nights which had been paid for and confirmed however on arrival was told they where not prepared honour the arrangement. Most hotels where full in this area at the time and asking ten times the normal rate so to only be informed on arrival meant a very long and costly evening finding an alternative.

I have viewed the rooms and can honsetly say that there is much better available in the same vacinity for the same price.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
al ain
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

We stayed for 1 night and paid 1000% of accommodation rate bacause of the incompetent person who charged my card 2 times and did not reverse the 10 times wrong amount at the time of transaction. We noticed a significant of money missing from our account a week later when we checked out our bank account statement. It took us another week to recover our money (still waiting actually). Please be careful with your money/card especially in this hotel. Or do not book it or stay here at all!!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

I have to admit that staff at reception are indeed not friendly or polite, even rude...
After a 2-weeks stay in Al Shams, we asked for the hotel shuttle to bring us to the airport. Answer of the receptionist, after having checked my golden necklace and ring(s): "if you can afford jewelry and gold, you can afford a taxi"! Nice answer, isn't it?

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2008

I would NOT recommend this hotel. The front desk clerk is unfriendly and rude.

The rooms are old and run down and have a strange smell to them. There were hairs throughout the sheets of my "clean" bed. Plug sockets next to the headboard of the bed were open with wires hanging out.

The bathroom had mold and mildew everywhere, and the toilets looked like they hadn't been cleaned in a while.

I would avoid this place at all costs. There are plenty of other hotel apartments in the same price range.

We moved from here to the Savoy Crest, 100% improvement at a very similar cost.

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Al Shams Plaza Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Shams Plaza Hotel Apartments

Address: Mankhool St | Bur Dubai, Dubai 27961 , United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #286 of 478 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Al Shams Plaza Hotel Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully furnished rooms with fully equipped kitchen. 24 hour room service. International Direct Dialing Telephone, Fax & high speed Internet Service. Indoor/Outdoor swimming pool & gymnasium. Daily house keeping. 24 hour supermarket /post office next to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Al Shams Plaza Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Shams Plaza Hotel Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.