We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real name is Savoy suites hotel Dubai” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Savoy Suites Hotel Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Savoy Suites Hotel Apartments to your Saves list
Savoy Suites Hotel Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mankhool 12 A Bur Dubai | PO Box 28950, Dubai, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #144 of 499 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stockholm
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The real name is Savoy suites hotel Dubai”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2008

Took one week off with my 75-yearold mother anf flew to Dubai. Checked in and was stunned by how modern and nice the apartment was. When we took the curtains aside we were not that thrilled anymore... A building was under construction and 6 o´clock in the morning, they started to work. The staff on the hotel would not let us have a new room for the whole week!!! Terrible. Breakfast was fantastic. but miss Ella and the man in the reception were so unfriendly, although they were smiling.
Dubai is a fantastic city, but next time I go there, it will be in aprox. 5-7 years. There is buildings under constructions everywhere. And don´t believe people who say they don´t expect tip in taxis!
Sounds like I am disappointed but we really had fun in Dubai.

  • Liked — the apartments and the breakfast
  • Disliked — service at the frontdesk
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    91
    22
    7
    2
See reviews for
64
34
8
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2008

We travelled with Mercury Direct and transfers etc really superb. Hotel was excellent with terrific buffet breakfast and the evening meals good and we thought cheap , fillet with jacket and veg for 400 dirhams. We did the 4 hour Dubai tour with Mercury and the car and driver wonderful and we had 15 minutes in the new Atlantis DONT miss this and the aquarium (turn left out of reception). Good location near supermarket/shopping mall BUT a dry hotel so make sure you take in duty free either from Uk or Mauritius or where ever .Rooms were superb a really high standard. Pool welcome but small with limited seating in the shade and boy you need that. Now for the bad news construction taking place at the back of the hotel, we were in 213 and the construction is up to 1st floor. I was literally eyeballing the guys working only some 20/30 yards away and the work started at 6-30 am till 7 pm. The rooms at the front of the hotel i would think would be OK but we tried to get moved, the hotel was full and no joy, good job only 2 nights then. If with Mercury I would suggest the Savoy Park as the cheapest stay otherwise do consider the other alternatives .

  • Liked — terrific value for the price
  • Disliked — construction taking place
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pease Pottage, West Sussex, UK
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2007

We stayed in Dubai for 3 nights at this hotel on our way to Sri Lanka, and were reasonably impressed. We travelled with Mercury Direct and the choice of hotel options for the Dubai stopover seemed limited so we went for one with reasonable reviews.
The hotel is really more of a 'base' than a holiday destination in it's own right. It has very clean and cool lobby with a cafe area which serves at the breakfast area also (breakfast is OK - not a huge amount of choice and some strange options due to the lack of bacon/pork, etc as Dubai is a Muslim country, but good enough). First impressions of the room was very positive - there is a large lounge/kitchenette area and then a bedroom area further in. The bed was extremely comfortable after an exhausting, and very hot, day in Dubai. The bathroom was clean and tidy. The air conditioning worked very well and another 'must' for Dubai. It's VERY HOT outside. There are 2 LCD TVs in the room, but rather limited channel choices. There is a fridge (good to keep cool water in) and a hob if needed.
The gym up on the roof is small, as is the pool (not much more than a plunge pool really), and seems a little bit of an afterthought when the hotel was built, but as I said, this hotel isn't a 'holiday destination' and more of a 'base' to explore from.
We only had 2 full days in Dubai but packed a lot in:
The old town area is worth a visit, but seemed rather deserted when we were there, and the museum is also quite good with a look at the history of Dubai (plus it's air conditioned in parts!).
The spice souk was disappointing, and the gold souk is full of shops and shops of gold and all a bit overwhelming - we found a small watch shop and got 2 very nice Swiss watches at a very good price. The trip across the Dubai creek on the boat taxis is an interesting experience, just be ready to jump off at the other end! An evening dhow cruise (they pick up from the hotel) was a lovely way to spend an evening with very good food (air conditioned, again!) but rather mediocre entertainment. Dune bashing in a 4x4 out in the desert + dinner at the bedouin village (complete with belly dancers) was also great fun. If you like water parks, then Wild Wadi is worth a visit - not quite on the scale of Blizzard Beach or Typhoon Lagoon in Orlando, but some entertaining water rides.
A maximum of 5 days is probably enough in Dubai - it's an unusual mix of the old and new, the concrete and the desert, but very welcoming and growing fast.

  • Liked — clean rooms + good air conditioning
  • Disliked — bit of a distance from the Dubai Creek/Dubai centre
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2007

I found the reception staff at the hotel very helpful. They explained the free excursions from the hotel and other options to tour the city. The rooms were comfortable and quite large. The breakfast lacked in choice but was more than adaquate. The rooftop swimming pool and gym were small and I imagine crowded should more than a couple of rooms visit simultaniously. However my children loved it as we were the only visitors. The outlook around the hotel is very bland but it is only five minutes walk from the Burjuram shopping centre. The big bus company runs from there which for us was the best method of seeing the city. The red route is interesting but the blue route shows you around a very large building site. Dubai is perfect if you like shopping and concrete but was not for me. The hotel is perfect for this short break being only ten minutes from the airport which I thought to be comfortable and very fairly priced.

  • Liked — female staff especially were helpful,tv kept kids amused during evening
  • Disliked — concrete block appearance
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
International traveler
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2007

I have been required to stay at the Savoy Hotel Apartments on and off since early 2006. Our company dictated that we stay at this hotel since they were picking up the tab. My last stay there was in March 2007. I've stayed there approximately 6 times. I've read several of the reviews and I wonder if the people who wrote the reviews actually have stayed at this same property. Let's go down the list.
The service is average.
The food would have to be considered average to below average. If you miss the standard meal times, good luck getting a hot meal served in a reasonable amount of time.
The rooms-below average by Dubai standards. Think Motel 6 with a tile floor instead of carpet.
The pool, again, think Motel 6. It's located on the roof but is extremely small, the lounge chairs very cheap, no decorations or scenery to speak of and the adjacent gym is a tiny room by any standard.
We have been lobbying our company to switch hotels for us now since our first stay at the Savoy Apartment Hotel and we just received news that our efforts may have finally paid off. We will be switching in the near future and we are ALL happy for that.
Dubai simply has too many nice hotels in a similar price range to stay at this very bland and impersonal property.
I'm usually not this critical and am definitely not a "nitpicker" but after repeated stays here, I can't wait to switch to a different property.

  • Liked — Rooms were clean
  • Disliked — Room comfort, style, pool is below average, no scenery, average food and service
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2006

We have just returned from a magnificent 5 nights in Dubai and I can honestly say that the staff at the Savoy Hotel apartments made it all the better.
We chose this accomodation based on the reviews that fellow travellers had written and given that we were wary of staying on Jumaireh beach with its vast construction work going on.
We arrived early morning after an overnight flight from the uk and were allowed to check in immediately.We were greeted with fresh juice and complimentary bottled water in the room. The studio apartment had washing machine, cooking facilities,iron together with the normal hotel room facilities.
Breakfast was included in the price and this was well presented and plentiful.
The staff while extremely attentive were not obtrusive and went about their roles to ensure the visitor was made to feel special.
The rooftop pool was a marvellous retreat to cool off and often we were the only people there - bliss!
There was little noise and no major construction work surrounding the hotel.
If you don't want to stay on the beach give this little gem a try...you'll be glad you did - we were.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2006

We arrived tired early morning and we were allowed to check-in at 8am instead at noon without extra cost. We had requested a double bed but were given twin beds. Breakfast was impressive but only a small room so a bit crowded. Room average but cooking facilities and washing machine. Daily paper. Free car park. I suppose you could do a lot better or a lot worse!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Savoy Suites Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Suites Hotel Apartments

Address: Mankhool 12 A Bur Dubai | PO Box 28950, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 499 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Savoy Suites Hotel Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savoy Suites is supremely comfortable with a choice of 98 studio rooms & 14 two bedroom suites with en suite bathrooms. All bedrooms are meticulously designed with a sliding door that separates the living room with an extra sofa bed ensuring total solitude. Designed to inspire, all rooms feature spacious closets with classy fixtures and a fully equipped kitchenette. The multi-cuisine coffee shop serves and international breakfast spread and a wide selection of specialties for lunch, dinner and small eats. The Savoy Chambers offers you the perfect solution for your next conference, meeting or party up to 100 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Savoy Suites Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savoy Suites Hotel Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.