We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here, ride the Big Bus and you will know Dubai” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Al Fahidi Street, Dubai, United Arab Emirates (The Creek)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 499 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
364 reviews 364 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Stay here, ride the Big Bus and you will know Dubai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Across from the Dubai Museum and near several of the big Mosques, you will find this wonderful hotel with multiple restaurants so your stay will be fresh. Arabian Courtyard is a Tripadvisor favorite probably because of the wonderful, attentive staff and the terrific location. You can walk two blocks to a 24 Hour market (that has almost everything) or across the street to the Dubai Museum (a must see so you will understand the culture) or across the street to Bastikaya which is very much worth a visit -especially for a meal with an Emirati.
The Arabian Courtyard is old but fresh. You will feel like you are walking into I dream of Jeannie complete with the doorman who looks like he came out of central casting. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and clean. There are several restaurants in the hotel so if you like to have alcohol with lunch and or dinner, you will find yourself frequenting these spots as there are not many other restaurants who serve in the neighborhood.
I personally do not like Sherlock Holmes´s British Pub because of the smokey, loud vibe - but you might. Live music at night which has the crowd singing along. I love the Thai Silk restaurant as you can enjoy a table outside and see the city go by. The Indian Restaurant is good too (having come from India - it was a spicy) with a wonderful sitar player and other live entertainment. Bastikaya, where breakfast is served, is also good for lunch buffet or dinner. We enjoyed many a pizza downstairs.
The pool is petite but who really goes to Dubai to sit by the pool? You will find lots of international guests there but by American standards, there are better places to be....like the spa. You´ll find the spa team most accommodating and Wawa from Thailand gives an awesome massage so book for the 80 minute.
You´ll enjoy being walking distance to the Metro system and across the street from the Big Bus ' which I think is a do not miss.
This is my second stay in the hotel in 3 months and I have enjoyed the restaurants multiple times each.

Room Tip: If you don´t smoke then let them know. They truly have smoking floors and rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    879
    813
    173
    57
    30
See reviews for
341
929
199
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We took a one week holiday at this hotel. Because our date of arrival was one day after my birthday, we found a birthday cake in our room. How wellcoming! Rest of the stay was also very pleasant. The room was big and the bed enormous. Bed could have been a lot softer, though. We had a view towards Dubai Museum and Mosque. Prayer calls woke us up on some occasions. We loved the breakfast, but the space is a bit too small for the crowd. English pub called Sherlock Holmes was a nice place to visit in the evenings but we did not like the tobacco smoke. The Chinese restaurant was a good place to eat because they have a terrace. But the best thing about the hotel was the friendly staff. They really made every effort to make you feel at home.

Room Tip: Facing Dubai Museum means a good view but a bit noisy. Floors 5-8 are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Well situated in the Dubai Creek area, opposite the Dubai Museum, close to the abras/water taxis which will take you to the gold and spice souks or for a boat trip along the Creek, 10-15 mins walk from the metro (a good way to see the Dubai skyline).Our room had all the expected facilities and there were some nice touches: fresh fruit delivered to our room on arrival, biscuits with the tea and coffee making facilities, bottles of water provided each day free of charge, robes and slippers. There is a small but well equipped gym, a small outdoor pool and the hotel has a number of restaurants on site. We had a good meal at the n house Thai/Chinese restaurant. The only disappointment was the breakfast buffet. Badly laid out with obvious bottlenecks that could be cured with reorganisation, cramped, particularly on Sunday morning the breakfast room was just too small for the number of guests. Food quality was also inconsistent. On the Sunday, bread rolls were stale, there was margarine but no butter, sweet cheap "marmalade", sloppy porridge, a poor selection of both fresh fruit and pastries. Worst of all was the hot drinks service (or rather lack thereof). There are no facilities to make your own tea or coffee just pre-prepared jugs controlled by the waiting staff. The result was badly stewed tea and an inability to obtain refills. If the hotel insists on controlling hot drinks (who does this any more?) the staff must keep taking the jugs around and offering refills. On Monday morning, with less people to cater for, breakfast was less of a scrum and some of the quality issues from the previous day weren't present. The breakfast buffet needs to be brought up to the standards of the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This was our first trip to Dubai. The hotel was 4 star but gave 5 star treatment. I would recommend, if possible to book a executive room. We stayed for 7 nights & in all that time were meet by friendly & helpful staff. The location of the hotel is near the Creek & markets. My wife & I will be returning to this hotel on our next trip.

Room Tip: Go for the high floors over looking the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I was booked into this Hotel as a pre-cruise stay package so wasn't sure what to expect. It was a pleasant surprise to find that it was ideally situated opposite the Dubai Museum which made getting around easy to do. There are always plenty of taxis around but we walked to the nearest Metro station to get to the Financial area where the Dubai Mall and the Bur Khalifa Tower are situated. The rooms were spacious and had everything we needed but we arrived at 9,30am and weren't able to get a room until 2pm! Although we could leave luggage at the hotel, it did mean we were carrying heavier than usual hand luggage around in 32 degrees.
The downside to the room was that we were on the first floor above the main entrance. The road out front is very very busy and cars, lorries etc. had a habit of constantly using their horns. Also across from the Dubai Museum there is a very large Mosque and we were awakened around 5am every morning by the broadcast singing from the Minaret tower.
The Staff were all helpful and the food in the various restaurants was very good albeit a bit pricey. What was a great, was the Hotel provided a free shuttle to the Jumeirah Beach Park
around 9.45am every morning and picked you up at 1.45pm giving you plenty of time to enjoy yourself. This beach is fabulous and I can really recommend that if you stay at the Arabian Courtyard, you use this service. It only costs 5 Dirham, that's about £1 to us.

Room Tip: If you have a room at the front of the hotel, I'd recommend being above the first floor away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed here for two nights before boarding a cruise of the Middle East. From the moment of the complimentary pickup from the airport to time we departed, the friendly and helpful service could not be faulted. They gave us a free upgrade from an executive room to a Suite at no extra charge and without having to ask. The rooms were spacious and well appointed. The decor and atmosphere of the hotel was exactly what we expected.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

A great two nights at this hotel in the old city of Dubai before an 8 day cruise. Location is an easy walk to the Creek and heritage centres. Lovely rooms, very friendly staff. My wife and I will definitely return.

Room Tip: We were at the front of the hotel and the nearby mosque did not prove a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa

Address: Al Fahidi Street, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > The Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Best Value Hotel in Dubai
#45 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#79 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#80 Family Hotel in Dubai
#88 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#94 Business Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arabian hospitality comes alive the moment you enter the portals and step into the distinctive lobby. Warmth meets efficiency as you are made to feel at home instantly. The heritage inspired ambience with cool stone and warm tones of rich wood, invites you to be part of it.Set in the historic heart of Dubai, a stone throw away from the Dubai Creek and the timeless Souk Al Kabeer (Meena Bazar), the award winning Arabian Courtyard Hotel and Spa is a true Arabian themed hotel. Next to Dubai Museum, Ruler’s Court and Diplomatic Enclave, having British Embassy, US and Saudi Consulates as neighbors, hotel and surrounding Bastakiya historic area is so rich in its heritage flavor and cultural elements, you could say it’s been a few centuries in the making.Arabian Courtyard Hotel and Spa is ideally located for all travelers, as it is a brisk stroll to the Metro station, textile and computer market and Bank Street. Dubai Trade Center and Burj Khalifa is a short drive from the hotel as is the fabled Gold Souk, Port Rashid and Dry Docks are all within easy reach. The Dubai International Airport is 6 kilometers away only. With 173 elegantly furnished rooms in traditional Arabic theme including 23 elegantly furnished suites and 41 executive rooms, our central hotel offers all the latest amenities for discerning travelers. A variety of dining and entertainment options as well as conference & banquet with the latest technology are on offer. Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa also offers a fully equipped health & recreation center as well as a Wellness Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arabian Courtyard Hotel And Spa
Courtyard Hotel Dubai
Arabian Courtyard Hotel Dubai
Courtyard Dubai
Dubai Courtyard
Arabian Courtyard Dubai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.