We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay but my post cards are not arriving to friends 1 month later” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Al Fahidi Street, Dubai, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 474 hotels in Dubai
Oregon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent stay but my post cards are not arriving to friends 1 month later”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 11feb checked out 14 Feb and gave postcards to concierge guy with money for stamps. It is 1 month now and no postcards have come... about 12 postcards? Other than that the club room is nice for breakfast and bar was great with music and drinks available in bar.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,798 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    813
    734
    172
    50
    29
See reviews for
286
787
174
140
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I was very pleased with my stay here. The staff was all very helpful, the room was nice, and the rates were definitely reasonable. The location also worked out perfectly for us - right across from one of the stops for the hop on, hop off tour.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Wendel, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Although this hotel has very good rooms and is quiet (if you stay to the rear and at a higher floor) I cannot recommend it.
Upon the arrival of my second stay the booked room was not available, although 3 hours after hotel check out time. This is quite terrible after a long flight or if you have only limited time in Dubai available. They tried to move me towards a new location a few km away they just opened near Al Ghubaiba Metro station next to the Creek and called that an "upgrade". However this new site turned out to be built in the style of an old arabian village. All rooms are located to a courtyard (here the name of the parent house fits), however simple wooden doors do not close properly (in windows partly no glass panel) and it is located near to a very big motorway - hands off! So I didn't accept. At the evening then a room was available at the parent house at Al Fahidi Street.

Next day another weird situation: At a certain time my transfer to the airport was appointed, but then this time they suddenly refused to drive me to Dubai airport. Discussion about that and subsequent process to get me a free taxi just from the street needed about half an hour so I came quite late to the airport running in another stressing situation. Note: Emirates does not wait on any passengers coming late. 90 min is NOT enough at Dubai airport prior to departure.
So, I will not return to Arabian Courtyard Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HabibKhan, General Manager at Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
We appreciate taking the time to post your feedback regarding the unpleasant experiences during your recent stay at Arabian Courtyard Hotel and Spa. Please accept my sincerest apology for the inconvenience such as late access to your room and transportation.

Although the Barjeel Heritage Guest House is a truly historic and unique place but you are right, it’s from the gone by era, restored to its past glory and not everybody can appreciate such residence. Our Reception staff took the initiative to offer Heritage House instead of making you wait for 2 to 3 hours. However, we will not hide behind any excuses, delay in providing the appropriate room was surely our fault. But providing private transfers are not part of the complimentary services that we provide, we only provide schedule shuttle to the Airport and many guests avail those shuttle at their convenience, probably there has been a communication gap and once again we take full responsibility of not being able to meet up to your expectations. We should have been more flexible and should have bent the rules but alas it’s a bit too late.

Our ultimate objective is not only to meet customers’ expectation but to exceed in providing them a greater and memorable experience. In your case, we surely fell short of demonstrating our usual standard of services. We plea for given another chance to change the adverse opinion during your next visit.

Once again, thank you for bringing the matter to our notice, it will help us to improve our service standard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We got a room upgrade which was really nice. Well appointed room with nice furnishings and masses of space. Rooms are generally quiet but look out for nearby mosques. Location is excellent, the hotel is 5m walk away from Dubai fort and museum, the heritage quarter, the abra docks and the metro station. Breakfast buffet was a little bit eclectic.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back of the hotel may face onto a small but loud mosque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We have just returned after 7 nights at this hotel and generally had a lovely time. It is located in the older part of the city and it takes a good 20 mins to get to the beach, it does have a small swimming pool which is a bit of a sun trap in the day but if a relaxing beach holiday is what you are after then I would suggest preparing to spend a fair bit more ££ and booking a hotel right on the beach. There is a free shuttle bus to the beach everyday which is a nice touch.
If you are happy to be a bit further out then this is a great budget choice. The staff are lovely and the rooms clean and spacious. Everyone is so helpful and the buffet breakfast tasty and plentiful. WiFi was free for the week and we could use it on multiple devices which was well received and the hotel is within easy walking distance of the metro or water taxi. Taxis are available easily and are reasonably priced.
It was relatively quiet when we visited and the swimming pool was fairly deserted which was nice. There aren't many loungers and the pool is very small so it may be a little more frustrating if the hotel is busy. As the pool is low down it is well protected so there is hardly any breeze at all which as I said makes it a real sun trap, it also keeps the sun all day which is great.
Now one tip - unless you sleep like the dead take some ear plugs, the call to prayers at 5:30 and 6am is very very loud!!!
Last tip, if you want some brilliant indian food head left out the door down the road a bit to the uni cafe, very tasty and reasonably priced. We ate in the hotel restaraunt a couple of times and it was nice but expensive compared to places around on the street

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, Oregon
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel when we arrived in Dubai off Celebrity Solstice cruise ship. The hotel was centrally located in the old part of town, and the room was available when we arrived about 1030am, which was very nice. Check-in was very simple, and they accommodated our request for a late check out (7pm) the next evening for a small fee.
The room was large and we had access to the executive lounge for breakfast and snacks, which was a nice feature as well. The breakfast was OK, but nothing to write home about. The room also felt dark and somewhat dated - and was quite warm during the day (our room faced west, so got the sun most of the afternoon.
We enjoyed the hotel but it was quite a lengthy cab ride to anywhere outside of the old town area, so required some extra spending.

Room Tip: Get the executive floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We chose the Arabian Courtyard precisely because it had a bit of character and wasn't the ritzy typical hotel you get at the top end in Dubai. It's about 20mins (and 50drms) in a taxi from the airport and on our return we grabbed the courtesy shuttle from the hotel so that of course was free. About 25 mins to Jumeirah beach area.
We had an Executive room on 7th floor but the views out the back of the hotel were not great - ask for a room at the front which overlooks the Dubai museum (well worth a visit - takes about 1hr) and the Creek (just in view). Room was spacious, maybe a little tired but comfortable bed, new flat screen tvs (althought we never had time to put this on), mini bar, tea& coffee, safe etc. Bathrooms a little small and only shower over the bath but all OK. Be prepared for the mosque call to prayer at 5.30am each morning. We had the package that included use of the Exec lounge so had buffet breakfast there - enough choice but not expansive and meant complimentart soft drinks, tea and coffees all day plus 3 alcoholic drinks pp between 6.30 and 8.30pm. In reality we found this hard to use as we were not in the hotel at that time plus the lounge has no real atmosphere so unless you want just a quite moment then not very useful. Tried the in house indian restaurant which was very good although the the authentic entertainment was really loud - we were a group of 12 and so not looking for a quiet night but we did have to move table. Sherlock Holmes pub - had a good atmosphere and a good singing group every night .
Overall - Staff very friendly and helpful, easy to walk to the Creek and generally get around - metro nearby and taxi are very cheap (although often not sure where to go) . Pool and pool area is very small for a hotel of this size (gym reasonable though) - didn't try the spa.

Room Tip: A high floor at the front will have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa

Address: Al Fahidi Street, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Best Value Hotel in Dubai
#46 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#57 Family Hotel in Dubai
#75 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#81 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#90 Top resorts Hotel in Dubai
#93 Business Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arabian hospitality comes alive the moment you enter the portals and step into the distinctive lobby. Warmth meets efficiency as you are made to feel at home instantly. The heritage inspired ambience with cool stone and warm tones of rich wood, invites you to be part of it.Set in the historic heart of Dubai, a stone throw away from the Dubai Creek and the timeless Souk Al Kabeer (Meena Bazar), the award winning Arabian Courtyard Hotel and Spa is a true Arabian themed hotel. Next to Dubai Museum, Ruler’s Court and Diplomatic Enclave, having British Embassy, US and Saudi Consulates as neighbors, hotel and surrounding Bastakiya historic area is so rich in its heritage flavor and cultural elements, you could say it’s been a few centuries in the making.Arabian Courtyard Hotel and Spa is ideally located for all travelers, as it is a brisk stroll to the Metro station, textile and computer market and Bank Street. Dubai Trade Center and Burj Khalifa is a short drive from the hotel as is the fabled Gold Souk, Port Rashid and Dry Docks are all within easy reach. The Dubai International Airport is 6 kilometers away only. With 173 elegantly furnished rooms in traditional Arabic theme including 23 elegantly furnished suites and 41 executive rooms, our central hotel offers all the latest amenities for discerning travelers. A variety of dining and entertainment options as well as conference & banquet with the latest technology are on offer. Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa also offers a fully equipped health & recreation center as well as a Wellness Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arabian Courtyard Hotel And Spa
Courtyard Hotel Dubai
Arabian Courtyard Hotel Dubai
Courtyard Dubai
Dubai Courtyard
Arabian Courtyard Dubai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.