We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improved after a poor start” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   International Endurance City, 308th Rd | P.O Box 8168, Dubai, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 483 Hotels in Dubai
Anglesey, North Wales
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Improved after a poor start”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We arrived at Bab Al Shams at 6.30 a.m. after an overnight flight from Cape Town and a 60 km drive from Dubai feeling tired and rather jaded. We had a lacklustre welcome from the receptionist who told us that our room was not ready (we had not expected it to be) and that check in time was 3.00 p.m. but with no indication as to how long we might have to wait. She advised us to have breakfast and summoned another member of staff to take us to the restaurant. At this point we did not want breakfast, merely somewhere to sit outside, get some fresh air and rest until our room was ready. We tried to explain that we would like to sit by the pool but we were told that the pool hours were from 8.00 a.m. and that we could sit inside - not what we wanted. Fortunately very shortly one of the lifeguards appeared and he immediately fetched us towels to make up beds for us by the pool and then brought us water and a newpaper. We were very grateful for his help.

By 10.00 a.m. our room was ready thankfully and from then on all the staff we met were very helpful and friendly. The room had a small, shady balcony and was well equipped with an espresso coffee maker, kettle and a good supply of various teas. We had bathrobes and slippers and numerous towels and a king bed with a down duvet and pillows and excellent quality bed linen, plenty of hangers in the wardrobe and a plate of oranges and a box of dates, plus bottled water every day. The housekeeping was very good and we had an evening turndown service with fresh towels.

The breakfast buffet was excellent although the evening buffet was variable - our first night (Saturday) was superb with entertainment provided by a belly dancer, but Sunday was a much smaller and less interesting affair. Monday was better.

Although the hotel was full we were never aware of any pressure on the services and facilities and there was no shortage of poolside sunbeds and umbrellas. Throughout the day we had deliveries of fruit, cold washcloths and ice lollies and at 4.00 p.m. the camels arrived and we tried camel riding which was followed by a falconry display.

It was a very relaxing place to stay and in early November the daytime and evening temperatures were perfect. The only problem we had was finding our way around and counting the various ways we could arrive back at our room from the pool but it was always fun to discover new courtyards and pools inside the fort.

There is a small bar (when we found it) and a happy hour from 6.00 p.m. to 7.00 p.m. but it was never full at that time.

Apart from our arrival we enjoyed our three night stay here and would certainly return again when we have the opportunity.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    202
    79
    27
    10
See reviews for
194
436
12
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, UAE
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My wife and I went there for our 1st marriage anniversary....and never wanted to leave the place !!

The hotel provide exquisite services, really friendly staff, amazing food and outstanding resort overall...

To be short, this was a none-forgettable experience that we can re-live in our memories for years..

I would recommend each and every person single or married to go and spend a day at the resort and if you can spend the weekend that would be a great win !!

Financially it was very good affordable package. They have good packages which include pickup/ dropoff, spa, activities, food and partyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

Really an amazing experience that I would recommend to each and everyone of you out there !!

LOVED IT :)

Room Tip: All rooms are great, my fav was dessert view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This was my third stay at Bab al Shams and I'm still in love with this place despite the fact that there are new owners and I don't think they maintain the place as good as the previous owners.

But the surroundings, the rooms, the service is still great. The infinity pool is a favorite of mine. It is so beautiful and well done and I love lie in the water and look out at the desert.

This time we went with our small daughter and she had a great time too. One negative thing was the temperature of the water. They cool it down way too much and she couldn't stay long in the water before she had blue lips and was freezing.

She did enjoy the free camel ride late afternoon and a few visits to the Kids Club.

Breakfast is not bad, but the choice is very limited for a five star hotel. Especially Sunday morning, when the majority of people had left, the breakfast was even smaller than the morning before. Why do the guests have to pay the same for a breakfast that is even more limited than the morning before?

But we enjoyed our two days and would come back again!

Room Tip: Choose ground level, where you have a nice terrace often facing the desert.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

we went there for 2 nights and were delighted to discover this beautiful property in the middle of nowhere! 45 minutes from Dubai Meydan. The reception was the only negative point as we did not get a smile and just litle eye contacts with the receptionnist; We had the feeling to disturb her. The rest of our stay was amazing. The facilities are very nice and clean. Room we had was very cosy and nicely decorated. We think though that the outdoor restaurant (al adeerah) is a bit expensive. The swimming pools are very nice and convenient. We appreciated the clients cocktails on wednesday.I can only recommand this place to any one willing to have an unforgettable experience in the middle of the desert.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

After a hectic week of work in the Far East we needed a little time to unwind before returning to the uK.
We wanted somewhere in the desert, far from everything with a great pool, service and food.
Thanks to Trailfinders we found it, but better than we had hoped for.
What a wonderful place to relax.
Our bedroom was large and came with a table and chairs on its own little shaded patio. Just beyond which, as with everywhere at this resort, was the desert.
All it took was a little daydream to be transported to Lawrence of Arabia.
The staff were so welcoming, the hotel a maze of cool corridors and courtyards. Everywhere littered with comfy setees, cushions and chairs.
It was a delight to get lost, which its very easily done here.
Food wise everything was perfect, except it was irresistable, to the point where I kept eating too much.
I would say with regard to the attached restaurant Al Hadheerah. Don't bother unless you like the somewhat trite, camel, whirling Dervish (although he was very good), strident diva, overamplified music. Each and every act touring each and every dining table, with a spotlight and a photographer to capture every unique moment of your evening.
Sounds awful to you? Save yourself over 200 dollars (for two).
That aside we loved the charm and grace and style of this modern oasis

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Had an amazing weekend at Bab Al Shams everything was perfect and service was outstanding. Special thanx to Mr. Thomas at the reception who made our stay every bit amazing & Mr. Hakim that was always happy to assist with everything. I very highly recommend this resort to anyone who want to get away from the city life of Dubai for the weekend and just relax.

Room Tip: The Deluxe Suit is every bit amazing and highly recommend,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

A relaxing 2 night stay, which we found to be the perfect foil to 2 nights in the glitz and glass of Dubai city. This felt like the true Arabia. Ok maybe not so 'true' as it has an acre of horizon edge pool (which must evaporate gallons of water each day), and the falconer looked bored on his cellphone - but then it is a resort and it couldn't be anywhere else. Architecture is amazing and roof top bar is inspiring. Room gives you a great sense of place - cant remember most hotel rooms but this one was pleasantly memorable. All the staff were pleasant and some even remembered our names after 1 day ( which is always a winner). Archery was fun. Al Hareeda was not well patronised on the night we attended (a Saturday night) so seemed a bit 'underdone' - note its a longish walk in the heat, and the bar staff recommended and organised the club car/ buggy. We had a similar experience as a previous reviewer in the check in desk not confirming our 'complimentary' upgrade to full board, but in our case quick email to our travel agent by us and it was correct at check out. Reservations Department should check how 'isolated' these isolated incidents are. We would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa

Address: International Endurance City, 308th Rd | P.O Box 8168, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Dubai
#36 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#44 Family Hotel in Dubai
#52 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#54 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#60 Business Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BAB AL SHAMS Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa is an exclusive low rise resort, a unique retreat in the desert surrounded by natural desert landscape. The resort is an architectural wonder that seems to come to life in the middle of the shifting sands of ancient Arabia, providing a unique and traditional desert experience that is true to the culture and heritage of Dubai and the UAE.AL FORSAN RESTAURANT With its new location overlooking the Arabian Desert, Al Forsan Restaurant offers a refreshing and friendly ambiance to those who want to spend quality time with their families & friends and enjoy an exquisite buffet for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Featuring International Cuisine, the finest specialties of different cuisines to provide you with a variety of choices. AL HADHEERAH RESTAURANT: Experience the wide expanse of the desert and the magic of lively entertainment at Al Hadheerah, the region’s first open air traditional Arabic desert restaurant. As the resort’s signature restaurant, Al Hadheerah offers diners a unique experience with scenes straight out of an Arabian legend featuring belly dancers, live bands & a falcon display. LE DUNE PIZZERIA: With its vivid colors and earthly tones, Le Dune boasts a magical fusion of Arabic and Italian decor that offers a delightfully warm ambiance. The magical combination is vibrant at any angle, from the aged wooden furniture shipped from Italy, the traditional terracotta flooring, to Arabic lanterns add to the rustic ambiance. MASALA RESTAURANT: The exotic flavors of India have arrived in the deserts of Arabia in the form of Masala. Located in the heart of the hotel, Masala’s exquisite menu of Indian dishes slow-cooked in traditional style, with the ambiance of traditional Indian background music, is an enchanting compliment to Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa. AL SARAB ROOFTOP LOUNGEA: Sarab rooftop lounge overlooking the Arabian desert, this two story rooftop bar embraces a breathtaking view that boasts amazing vistas during sunset. The rich Arabian design in soft earth colors, dimmed lanterns for a cozy ambiance and comfortable chairs and cushions, provide a friendly setting for a night to remember. AL SHUROUQ LOUNGE: Shurouq Lounge is an ideal place to relax in the majlis seating areas while admiring the stunning views of the boundless desert. Indulge your taste buds with a delicious mix of light bites, bar snacks, pizzas and lots more while enjoying the cocktail of your choice. POOL BAR: Pool bar with a view of the rolling desert is an ideal place to unwind during the day. Pool bar serves an a la carte menu offering a wide variety of snacks, cocktails, light meals and beverages. A spectacular panoramic view of the desert ensure total tranquility for both the guests. YA HALA BARY: a Hala reflects the traditional Arabian culture of comfort, charm and hospitality. Afternoon tea, as well as a variety of other drinks and snacks for the a la carte menu, can be enjoyed amidst the saddles and charming wooden furniture of the lounge, on the intimate terrace overlooking the water well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Venere, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bab Al Shams Desert Hotel Dubai
Bab Al Shams Desert Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.