We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kids Half Term Dubai Break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Address Montgomerie Dubai Golf Course

The Address Montgomerie Dubai Golf Course
Emirates Hills, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
+971 4 360 5600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 146 Outdoor Activities in Dubai
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An idyllic golf retreat The Address Montgomerie Dubai accomplishes perfect harmony by combining premium golf in sublime surroundings with that of an exclusive retreat where one can attend to the essentials of living. The Address Montgomerie Dubai offers one of the most luxurious golf resort experiences in the Middle East. The golf course at this retreat is another world class development managed by the world's foremost luxury golf brand, Troon Golf. Its Championship Golf Course was officially opened in October 2002.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Kids Half Term Dubai Break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

A very manicured entrance and warm welcome from the staff. You really get the feeling that your about to play a top class championship course. The pro shop and club house all very high class and on a par with say Wentworth in the UK.

The first thing you notice in the club house if you grab a coffee is the TV. The owners could have put any TV of any size on show, but they chose to use a B & O TV. Little displays of class and no Dubai bling.

The “buggy” and “starter” staff very warm and friendly and you’re left in no doubt as you get on the t-box, you’re here to enjoy the day.

The course itself had some great holes with plenty of water and sand strategically placed to make you think about every shot from T to green. The greens were slower than expected but again in good condition. The course was not as manicured as I would have expected some untidy fairways and some greens were pock marked. We had a 7:20 AM T and went off from the 10th, so could not blame “traffic”. Don’t get me wrong, it’s a great course, but it’s not world class. Funny thing is, it could be better with a little more detail.

One of our party noted that the “Emirates” IS the golf course to play in Dubai, but nothing wrong with the Montgomery. In fact the man himself “Colin Montgomery” was at the club, so shows that he is not just putting his name to the venue.

Great day out with some spectacular views of the skyline. Would jump at the chance to play it again.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMcInally, General Manager at The Address Montgomerie Dubai Golf Course, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed and comprehensive review. Your comments on both the service and course are appreciated and valued, and we are delighted that your experience was such that you wish to return again. As a destination, Dubai has a great golf offering and a variety of entertainment and activities that set it apart, and The Monty sits very proudly as one of the leading and pioneering facilities within this. It was great that you got to see Colin Montgomerie himself while you were here - Colin is our most frequent 'Resident', and is rightly proud of what has been created, and of the venue bearing his name. We look forward to welcoming you back on many occasions.

Kind regards

Iain McInally
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    24
    7
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent challenge for all abilities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I played this course early in the morning which was great as it was to hot to start with ie about 27 on the range which is excellent with various pins and ranges to work out with a spectacular backdrop of the modern Dubai landscape... Playing in a group with a mixture of handicaps ranging from 2 - 18, we chose to play off the blues (whites in old money).. The buggies are brilliant as they include a tablet style course planner to plot your way round..
The course starts off with a deceptive par 4 with a undulating green, which sets you up for the round.. The course was in great condition and we had alot of fun with both birdies and bogeys flying all over the course.. You could see everything of the course with no hidden surprises, and all of our group thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Mr Montgomerie obviously showed a darker side of his sense of humor with the par 5 9th and 18th (glad I parred both) which leaves me in no doubt has wrecked some scorecards and gave many golfers nightmares.. After the golf we enjoyed the shower and changing facilities and a drink and food in the spectacular clubhouse. We watched some golfers play or struggle down the 18th which was good entertainment.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMcInally, General Manager at The Address Montgomerie Dubai Golf Course, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for your positive review, and congratulations on parring both 9 & 18! Your review title of the course as being an excellent challenge for all abilities is a great description given the variety in length of tees and angles of play that can be chosen. While the course has bo blind shots or hidden tricks, merely changing the pin position can alter the strategy and makes 'The Monty' worth playing again & again. We look forward to your next visit, and appreciate the time taken to share your views.

Kind regards

Iain McInally
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Well priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Played golf on a great course and then went to the Academy area for some lunch. Tremendous menu and very good prices. Would recommend either booking or getting there early as it does fill up pretty quick on the weekends!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMcInally, General Manager at The Address Montgomerie Dubai Golf Course, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for a wonderful review, and for a great endorsement to both our Golf Course and our Restaurants. With the award winning 'Nineteen' being recognised as one of the finest Restaurants in the region specializing in Steaks - Links (at the Academy) being informal and family friendly with dramatic Marina skyline views, and the soon to open 'Monty's' Restaurant in the Hotel (named after and endorsed by Colin Montgomerie himself) we believe we have an offering to match eveyone desires. We sincerely look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Iain McInally
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horndon, Essex
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good design”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The golf course is interesting, condition excellent, some very good holes but not the best course in the Emirates.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMcInally, General Manager at The Address Montgomerie Dubai Golf Course, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and review on our Golf Course. We are delighted at your positive comments on our course condition, and view the fact that there are so many great courses in this wonderful golf destination as a positive attribute. We look forward to your next visit to Dubai, and to The Montgomerie.

Kind regards

Iain McInally
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Nice golf experience but parcours could do with a bit of care”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Good golf course (hole 18 is certainly a good challenge!) and amazing views all along (also from practice). However, the course and the greens could do with a bit of more care. But nothing to say on the service, top!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMcInally, General Manager at The Address Montgomerie Dubai Golf Course, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for the positive comments on our service standards and wonderful location. The overall experience of our Guests in extremely important, and we are investing in improvements to the course condition, and look forward to exceeding expectations in every respect during your next visit.

Kind regards

Iain McInally
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Address Montgomerie Dubai Golf Course also viewed

 

Been to The Address Montgomerie Dubai Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Address Montgomerie Dubai Golf Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.