We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go somewhere else” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lords Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Lords Hotel to your Saves list
Lords Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Al Jazeira St | Deira, Dubai, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #197 of 486 Hotels in Dubai
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Go somewhere else”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

The Lords hotel is probably ok for 1 or 2 nights but I would not want to spend there much longer. We had a two-nights stopover in Dubai and our main objective was to visit Burj Dubai/Khalifa observation deck – and we were lucky enough to get there.
Back to the review: on the plus side the room was very spacious and clean. There were quite loud party vibes in the street when we arrived late night Thursday, but the windows in our room were soundproof.
On the other hand the room looked very 1970s and the hotel was packed with noisy Russians. Swimming pool and sundeck terrace on the rooftop was quite small and not really welcoming.
Mediocre breakfast (selection-, taste- and service-wise) and indifferent staff did not improve our impression.
They asked our passports on arrival to keep them overnight for a police check but were reluctant to give us any proof that they took the passports. Eventually, they did, because we insisted. On the second day it was a real pain to get our passports back – we had to ask for it 3 times - different times of the day- until we got them back.
The area is also not really special, but taxis are cheap in Dubai and we also made a 5-10 minutes walk from to Dhow Wharfage and the Dubai Creek. From there it is about 20 min of nice walk along the water to the abra (watertaxi) stations.
Next time in Dubai I will look for a different place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    20
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
9
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Praha
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2010

in this hotel we're stayed on return road from Maldives. Ours 3 night were to be altogether pleasant,hotel has good position in Deira , bit dealings,restaurant. Taxi isn't problem. Room was fairly large,breakfast be badly off. Way to the airport abided 20 minutes. Good hitchhiked.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

Expected 3 star service/amenties, and I got 3 star service/amenities. The service was good and we had no issues commuicating with the staff. They booked our dinner at the Burj Al Arab and other tours for us without any hassle. A bunch of travellers were in the room next door partying and being loud one night and after a chat with the Hotel Manager things got resolved real fast which was good to see.

Breakfast was 3 stars like expected. Free continental breakfast with eggs, beans, toast, crossiants, potatos, sausage, etc. You can order omelettes and they'll cook one up for you right away.

Only issue I had with the hotel was that it's not near anything spectacular since it's located in Old Dubai. You can walk to the Gold and Spice souk, but other than that, the rest of the attractions are in new Dubai, so you pay about 20 AED to take a Cab into New Dubai where everything's happening.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma / Iraq
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2008

When traveling through Dubai I always stay at the Lords. I have tried a lot of other places more expensive and sure they where more upscale, but, for my money the Lords is great. Breakfast is a bit on the different side but remember you will not get sausage and bacon anywhere in the Middle East anyway. Breakfast consists of Toast and beans, cereals, fruits, deli meats, cheeses, scramble or fried eggs, potatoes and so on.
Rooms are spacious and clean, nothing fancy.
This is just a good, quiet place to stay and the employees always treat everyone great.
Douglas G.
SandmanSports

  • Liked — Nice, quiet and great service.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2007

We stopped over in Dubai for 2 nights on our way back from Oz and found the amenities excellent, great breakfast, lovely bedroom with good sized beds.Roof top swimming pool was excellent. Trying to book again for next February and looking forward to great hospitality again.

Stayed March 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2007

This is not a good hotel!! It is only a 2.5 star max.

The location is in old Dubai which features very few of teh post card spots that you want to visit in Dubai. This is a run down part of town that is very noisy especially at night as there seems to be a fashion of every driver in town beeping their horn even late at night.

The hotel is also run down and stinks of stale tobacco. It is full of oafish and surly Russians and it is definatly true that they get prefered service by the staff.

The food is rubbish, and if you are compelled to stay here you simply must eat away from here. The Breakfast is very limited and was cold every morning we ate here.

The pool is ugly - just don't bother.

English is not understood here and we simply gave up after a while - we even had to take it upon ourselves to hail cabs.

All in all this was a poor experience and poorly reflected Dubai and its luxurious excesses. I would absolutely recommend that if you are going to Dubai then pay more and go for something close to Jemeriah beach (where all of the action is). The only things worth seeing in old Dubai are the Gold markets and teh museum - this can be done in 3-4 hours.

Tip - best restaurant in Town is Meat Co. Look it up or Google and make a reservation before you go - you won't be disappointed.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Going back to the USSR
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2006

I have stayed here many times, and personally I have found the reception staff quite accomodating and helpfull, the location is fantastic for the price range, its 35 dirhams from the airport by taxi but free hotel transfer when you leave, I never have breakfast in the hotel so cannot comment but often have room service in the evening which is very good and cheap. The rooms are very large, if they are empty try for a corner room where you really get a lot of space, The roof top pool is small but refreshing and usefull if you just want to catch a few rays without visiting the beach. Be aware once you put on suntan lotion though they dont like you going back in the water! The staff throughout the hotel are friendly and internet access is availble in reception .. free for first few minutes if you just want a quick check otherwise nominal fee for an hour. Must have missed all the Russians, seen a few Indian families though. If you are a businessman and want a city hotel just as abase I highly recommend it.. for families treat it as a usefull stopover place its not a hotel I would spend a week on a family holiday. Lastly there is free overnight parking accross the road practically otherwise ample metering during the day if you feed the meters.

  • Liked — Room size and location
  • Disliked — no suntan lotion in pool
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for corner rooms
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lords Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lords Hotel

Address: Al Jazeira St | Deira, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lords Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lords Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lords Hotel Dubai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lords Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.