We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good enough” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ocacti Mexican House

Ocacti Mexican House
Pier 7 , Dubai Marina, Dubai, United Arab Emirates (The Marina)
+971 4 452 6699
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,930 of 5,835 Restaurants in Dubai
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: The Marina
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Not good enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We had a disappointing visit.
Met by hosts at the door telling us the place was full but on entry to the bar to meet friends found that it was far from full.
The place is huge which is great for dancing but not great for atmosphere.
We found the staff disinterested and inefficient. We ordered drinks twice and instead of receiving what we ordered we received the same as the previous round. At the price of those cocktails we weren't pleased. The cocktails were good but nothing special.
The food looked lovely. However, the portion sizes were small, the food wasn't hot and our first choice was unavailable.
There are lots of great restaurants in Dubai so I don’t see any reason to try this place a second time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    18
    18
    14
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Upbeat Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Went there twice and the place is good. Its worth visiting during Happy Hours-6pm-9pm everyday as everything from both the food and beverages menu is 50% off. The service was also good. Must try their Margarita's, Sassy Signature Cocktails and Luxurious Lounge Cocktails. Will definitely go back there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great music, good times”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I went with my wife and four friends on Thursday night. We had a deal from Groupon so we decided to try out this place. For the money we paid, we had a super time. The Margaritas were great, the chicken wings and tacos could have been better. The quantities we noted were generally small.

The best part of the evening was the great Latino music played by the DJ. By 10 pm the dance floor was crowded with everyone dancing and having a great time. Try it out for the music and a night out, but not for the food...yet.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing experience in "Gourmet Tower"”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The food in this newly opened restaurant is way overpriced and simply poor.
The starters (entradas) look so beautiful on the pictures, but the taste is far away from what you are expecting. The main (los tacos) we had chosen, consisted of small bowls, really mini portions, that must have been heated up in the micowave. If you ask for more guacamole or sour creme, they happily bring you another mini portion, which you will find on the bill later on...
They really need to improve in order to compete with Dubais excellent restaurants.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocacti Mexican House also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Ocacti Mexican House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocacti Mexican House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.