We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food amazing service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Umai

Umai
The Oberoi, Dubai | Business Bay, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
+971 4 444 1444
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 5,580 Restaurants in Dubai
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Japanese, Pan-Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Informal yet sophisticated, Umai, brings to Dubai an exquisite culinary adventure with the most popular cuisines of the East. An open-plan kitchen makes the Sushi, Sashimi and Teppanyaki stages part of the dining experience. Dim Sum, Asian soups and hand tossed noodles entice you to journey through the spice routes of the Orient.Located in the heart of Business Bay at The Oberoi, Dubai, one of the newest five star luxury hotels in the UAE.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Amazing food amazing service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

My wife & i dined here during our resent trip to Dubai. Our server was called Allan a young Chinese gentleman he was a true professional explaining & recommending food from the menu. We had a fantastic meal & will return to Umai the next time we visit Dubai.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoiRestaurants, Manager at Umai, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for dining with us at Umai and sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed the quality of the food and service. I have shared your positive sentiments with Allen and I have no doubt that it will inspire him to continue striving for excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Dubai.

Thanking you,

Warm regards,

Rohan Ogale
Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    16
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best restaurant in Dubai! Great food and amazing service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

My wife and I went to the restaurant for dinner and had their 10 course meal. It was well worth it! What made a difference was the superb service we had! Everyone was very friendly! This was a good dining experience we haven't had for a long while.Even our 5 months old boy enjoyed it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoiRestaurants, Manager at Umai, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for dining at Umai for the 10 course Asian Tapas Supper.

We are delighted to read your comments on the dining experience and are glad that even your son enjoyed his time in Umai. At The Oberoi, we are committed to providing our guests with a memorable dining experience. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

Umai will reopen after the holy month of Ramadan and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you for your support.

Warm regards,

Rohan Ogale
Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Absolute superb chinese food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

One of the Best Dining experience we had in Umai on the 23rd June 2014 and was very well taken care by the hospitality of the Oberoi Hotels with the Restaurant Manager Ms Varsha Sehgal who gave us an amazing service.The Food ,The Taste and the ambience is awesome..Would highly recommend to anyone going to dubai or living in dubai,Keep it up..SUPERB !!! :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoiRestaurants, Manager at Umai, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for dining with us at Umai and sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your dining experience and were well looked after by Varsha, the Restaurant Manager. We appreciate you recommending the restaurant and look forward to welcoming you back.

Thanking you,

Warm regards,

Rohan Ogale
Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Starving for good quality food - try the Indo - Chinese items there and you will not regret. Dinner was great and the Chinese tea serving lady was entertaining. Sad to hear it will be closed in my next visit

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoiRestaurants, Manager at Umai, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for dining with at Umai and sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed some the wok dishes made in an Indo Chinese style as well as the tea service. We have closed Umai during the holy month of Ramadan and will reopen in August.

We look forward to welcoming you back and thank you for your support.

Warm regards,

Rohan Ogale
Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We visit alot of restaurants in Dubai, and Umai is one which we always recommend to others. Everyone we have taken to this place just loves it, and ends up going again after.

Everytime we have been there, the food has been just amazing, and service excels itself each time.

The tea and overall ambience of the restaurant makes this is worthwhile visit for anyone.

Umai's black cod is one of the best in Dubai.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoiRestaurants, Manager at Umai, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for dining at Umai and sharing your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the quality of the food and service. Moreover, we thank you for visiting Umai frequently and recommending the experience to others. I have shared your positive sentiments with the team and I have no doubt that it will inspire them to continue striving for excellence.

Umai will reopen shortly after the holy month of Ramadan and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Please do not hesitate to contact me for any assistance at rohan.ogale@oberoihotels.com.

Thanking you,

Warm regards,

Rohan Ogale
Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Umai also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Umai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Umai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.