We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Six senses experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thiptara

Thiptara
The Palace Downtown Dubai | Downtown Dubai, Mohammed Bin Rashid Boulevard, Dubai 9770, United Arab Emirates
+971 4 428 7888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #141 of 5,610 Restaurants in Dubai
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Thiptara, which means 'Magic at the Water', specialises in Royal Thai cuisine with a special emphasis on Bangkok-style seafood. Surrounded by Burj Lake, the spectacular views of The Dubai Fountain at night transform this contemporary al fresco waterfront restaurant into a truly magical setting.
Venice, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Six senses experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Amazing capability of the chefs to mix and match different ingredients in order to achieve extraordinary tasting experiences.
Service perfect as usual:friendly, professional, answering in advance to your needs.

Make sure you don't miss it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaikh A, Manager at Thiptara, responded to this review, November 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am thrilled to read how great your dining experience in Thiptara was! Thank you for taking your time to share it in Trip Advisor.

It is always a pleasure to read great reviews from our guests and it inspires us to continue the legacy of providing the highest level of service that we are known for.It is our honor to have you as our guest.

I shared your feedback to the entire team and we look forward to seeing you back soon!

Kind Regards,

Shaikh Imteyaz Ali
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    85
    29
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Superb Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

Visited with my wife during a stopover on our way to Mauritius. Due to only being in Dubai for a few days I had made a reservation via email and requested an outside table with a fountain view.
We arrived and were immediately greeted and escorted to my requested table with a superb view of the fountain show.
Due to the humidity we were also offered an internal table if required which I thought was a good gesture.
There was plenty of choice on the menu, my wife chose Pla Kapong Sam Rod (Sea Bass) and I had Gaeng Phed Ped Yang (Roasted Duck Curry). Both were excellent. People have said the prices were high but for the quality of the food, service, location and views we thought it was reasonable and especially worth it for a treat.

Would highly recommend.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaikh A, Manager at Thiptara, responded to this review, November 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words.

I passed on the message to the team and they were very happy to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. We are glad that you are pleased in every aspects and your expectations were met.

I look forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future!

Kind Regards,

Shaikh Imteyaz Ali
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uetikon Am See
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very good food and wonderful atmosphere (outside)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

We very much enjoyed the really good and nicely presented food and the wonderful setting right by the waterfountain show and the Al Khalifa Tower. Try and sit outside if the weather allows. The service was OK, not over the top, but absolutely correct. They have a kids menu featuring non asian meals which might be helpful for those with little ones not so used to exotic spices. I'd definitely go back and recommend the place to anyone visiting Dubai.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaikh A, Manager at Thiptara, responded to this review, November 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience from Thiptara.

I am truly glad to know that, you enjoyed our food & service. Your very kind words will surely be passed on to our Thiptara team to continuously inspire them to provide excellent service to our guests. .

It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

Shaikh Imteyaz Ali
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Real Thai Taste, great views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

It is one of very few restaurants in Dubai with original Thai taste, i would recommend this restaurant to Thai food lovers.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaikh A, Manager at Thiptara, responded to this review, November 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am glad to read how great your dining experience in Thiptara was! Thank you for taking your time to share it in Trip Advisor.

It is always a pleasure to read great reviews from our guests and it inspires us to continue the legacy of providing the highest level of service that we are known for.
I shared your feedback to the entire team and we look forward to seeing you back soon!

Kind Regards,

Shaikh Imteyaz Ali
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“lovely food and service,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

the food is really good, though it's definitely pricey. the service is nice and not the usual dubai overbearing, hovering by your table kind; which is really good. try to get a table outside, you'd have a wonderful view of the fountains. and when they say a food is hot, they mean it's hot, crazy hot, so maybe try the milder ones.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaikh A, Manager at Thiptara, responded to this review, November 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am glad to read how great your dining experience in Thiptara was! Thank you for taking your time to share it in Trip Advisor.

It is always a pleasure to read great reviews from our guests and it inspires us to continue the legacy of providing the highest level of service that we are known for.
I shared your feedback to the entire team and we look forward to seeing you back soon!

Kind Regards,

Shaikh Imteyaz Ali
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thiptara also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Thiptara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thiptara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.