We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to feel special this is the place!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skyview Bar

Skyview Bar
27th floor, Burj Al Arab, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
+971 4 301 7600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 5,560 restaurants in Dubai
Cuisines: Bar, Tea Room
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Quench your thirst at our lavish hideaway on top of the world. Soaring 200 metres above sea level, we do things differently on the 27th floor.From modern day classics to innovative cocktails, our master mixologists go to great lengths to seek out inspiration, drawing influence from the most unexpected places.The result is an eclectic drinks list that uses unique ingredients and inventive methods to create your cocktail, with each recipe closely guarded to ensure our menu is one of a kind. The views are no less exclusive; catch your reflection in the glittering lights of the Dubai skyline as you gaze out through floor to ceiling windows that surround the bar.The space inside Skyview has been designed for intimate conversations, and a rotating line-up of live music ensures the sights and sounds are as impressive as the beverages we shake up. Here, creating cocktails really is an art form.
cambridgeshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“If you want to feel special this is the place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We booked the High Tea option which believe me was worth everypenny.
We booked by phone and the young lady was very helpful. It cost 450 dirhams each so about £85 each.
It gave us a chance to dress up (as there is a dress code) and experience this 7 star Hotel. We booked the 4:30 sitting.
From the moment you arrive at the entrance of the hotel you are treated no different to guests that are staying at the hotel, which is nice. You are able to look around the hotel and it is worth taking the time to look around. We got there at 3:30 so had plenty of time. You then go up to the Skyview Bar by a private glass lift giving you chance to look around before you reach the 27th floor.
Then WOW the views are magical.
We had a window table which is a must!! and if you need to beg to get one, beg away as anything else but a window table would not be the same. You are treated so well by your waiter and he explains in detail all dishes as he brings them to you.
You can have many different cocktails at no extra cost and teas from around the world. I think there were 5 maybe 6 courses and we were not rushed at all.
It was very very romantic and very relaxed. The views are stunning and you can get some great photos of the palm and the marina etc The waiters were very obliging and took many photos of us too.
All in all a fantastic afternoon and money well spent. One of our highlights from our holiday. Have a fun time because we did!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    685
    181
    86
    38
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Isa, Australia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“High Tea with impressive views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The short review :

Do it for the sandwiches, the iced tea, the views and a chance to go to a 7 star hotel that is other wise off access. Check out the photos for more details.

The longer review:

I love high tea and when I travel its the one thing I always splurge one, so there was no way I could say no to high tea in the world's only 7 star hotel.

We arrived as early as we were allowed so that we could have a sneak peak at the Burj Al Arab. You need to take out a mortgage to stay here, so unless you've got more cash then you know what to do with, this is a great way to see how the richest of the rich holiday without selling your house. I loved driving in and seeing the boom gate go up, the road spikes go down and watching those at the gate trying to figure out if we were celebrities! The hotel did not disappoint and it was amazing.

The High Tea consisted of the following courses:
1) Dates stuffed with almonds and orange and a glass of champagne each upon arrival - excellent
2) Berries and cream on shortbread - excellent
3) Rare roast beef with a herbed crust, mashed potato and a white sauce - amazing
4) Assorted sandwiches - amazing
6) Sail shaped tier of assorted cakes, muffins and scones - good
7) Lychee sorbet with frozen rose petal - excellent
8) Petit fours to take away - excellent

All of the food was between excellent and absolutely amazing, the kind of food you would expect from a seven stat hotel. However, I was disappointed with the assorted cakes. Whilst everything tasted really good, the presentation was nothing that you could not have got at most cafes. I would have thought that the pastry chefs would have taken this opportunity to show off some amazing techniques and flair, but it wasn't there.

To drink, my husband had what he said was his first proper latte since leaving Melbourne. I started on hot strawberry tea before moving onto the iced strawberry tea and the iced passionfruit tea. Drink service was a little slow, but service in Dubai is generally slow so it was not surprising, albeit a little annoying given you are in the Burj Al Arab.

When we booked, which is best to do by email, we advised that we would prefer a window seat and we got it. So glad because the view from 27 floors up is stunning. I highly recommending booking in advance to get a window table.

I also want to give a special mention to the ladies room, it is by far the most amazing one I've ever seen!

Despite a couple of little things, I'd still give it a 9.5 out of 10 and say that even though its expensive, AUD$130 each at the time we went, its well worth it. If you love your high tea you must do it and lets face it, how many people can say they had high tea, 27 floors up in the world's only 7 star hotel?

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea with flair”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

What a stunning experience!! High on the 47th floor in the Skyview Lounge afternoon tea in the old English style. Dozens of teas to choose from plus an endless parade of cakes, sandwiches and dessert delights. A must do if you are in Dubai.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Gorgeous place, lovely service, but only OK food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

A separate elevator whisked us up to the Skyview Bar on 27th level of the iconic Burj al Arab – 7 pm booking for cocktails being a great way to get into this fabulously opulent hotel. We were greeted by name and warmly welcomed – initially offered an internal banquette table, but immediately a table became available with a view over the night lights of Dubai they moved us to it. Minimum spend per person 250 AED was easy to achieve – and exceed!
Our waiter was knowledgeable and friendly, but not intrusive. Excellent almonds and cashews, as well as two small canapés each were complimentary. We ordered a hot and cold Arabian mezze platter which I have to say was disappointing. The dips were delicious, however a limp green salad with parmesan didn’t seem particularly Arabian or appetising, and the hot offerings were quite dried out.
The bar was not especially busy, so we spent a very leisurely two hours after which we went down to the stunning atrium. We were free to wander the public areas with no restriction on still photography. I believe this is discretionary and may be more difficult if the hotel is very busy.
An absolute must-do in Dubai – whether you dine, enjoy afternoon tea, or have a stylish cocktail or two. The online reservation process was very simple.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“High Tea at the Burj”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

10 - 13 July 2013.
PLEASE NOTE THE ACCOMPANYING PHOTO FOR THIS REVIEW IS NOT THE BURJ AL ARAB - I DON'T KNOW WHAT IT IS!!!

My cousin and I were flying from NZ via Dubai to Venice to join our Oceania cruise. We decided to add a few nights to the stop over so we could have a look around. I had heard from a friend who had visited Dubai recently, about having high tea at the Burj Al Arab (the iconic and beautiful sail shaped building on the beach). So I checked it out before hand and booked us into the Sky View Lounge of the Burj for our first day in Dubai.
The building is a luxury 7 star hotel which you cannot enter without going through the security gate. I received a booking number and was told the cost of high tea would be 450Dubai dollars (can't recall how much that equated to in NZ $ or euros which are accepted everywhere). A key thing was that if you used your mastercard they - Jumeirah restaurants - would give a discount of 20% which was considerable.
So the whole experience, even though we did not stay there, was fantastic. After going through the security check we dismounted to enter the reception area which housed escalators surrounded on either side by wall size aquariums and lovely decor. We went up the escalator and were greeted by a hostess who confirmed our booking (VERY IMPORTANT TO BOOK) and we then, ascended to the top of the Burj with great views, though they were impeded by a haze over the ocean.
As part of the deal we were meant to be served champagne but as this was Ramadon, we were served sparkling date juice which was lovely. We were then served by a tuxedo clad waiter, three tier trays of cakes, sandwiches, savouries, one sort of main - beef - and other treats on a continuing basis and could have any sort of cocktail (non alcoholic) and/or speciality coffee or tea for the next hour or so.
We then visited some of the plush shops within the hotel complex and bought some souvenirs. If you go there to celebrate a birthday or festive occasion let them know and they will give you (the women in the group/pair) a rose which we wish we had known about before hand.
I would not have missed this experience - the 42oc temps outside were not a problem of course as we were in air conditioned surroundings in the taxis and everywhere else.
Highly recommended

Room Tip: Did not actually sleep there - just experienced the Sky View Lounge
See more room tips
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skyview Bar also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Skyview Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skyview Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.