We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“English-themed pub, good for sports” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Underground Pub

The Underground Pub
24454 Habtoor Grand Beach Resort and Spa, Dubai 24454, United Arab Emirates
+(971)44084221
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,989 of 5,607 Restaurants in Dubai
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Newcastle, UK
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“English-themed pub, good for sports”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Had a couple of drinks here when staying next door at the Royal Meridien. My husband enjoyed the darts board, the only one we'd seen during our stay. Lots of TVs showing sport. Quite a rowdy ex-pat crowd when we visited.

Prices were higher than I was expecting (£7 a pint), but then this is Dubai.

We learnt it was possible to reserve tables, as my husband and I were asked to vacate ours for an identical one opposite. According to the barman they 'had some friends coming who wanted it, they might be 15 minutes, but could be an hour'. Thought this was a bit strange - why our exact table? We didn't stick around for another drink, whereas we might have done if hadn't been made to feel unwelcome.

Oh and the bar is themed on the London underground system - fortunately they didn't include the rodents!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    10
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good concept with poor and rude servers..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

I am going there almost everytime but still the behavior of the servers remain same. I wanted to change my order within a minute of the old order, and I was been told by a Myanmar girl server that "next time think before u order". Really???? Yesterday I told one Phillipina server that I had all my previous gin with tonic on side but u mixed it this tym. She replied "do u think I will remember if u don't mention again?" I m so disappointed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Down right pathetic!! ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I've been to this place so many times because I work near by, tonight my visit with few of my colleagues turned out to be a total mess! We found an empty table outside the bar, we seated ourselves and then waited for 15 mins for somebody to attend us it seemed like we were invisible to the waitresses. I went inside to ask for assistance to a waitress very politely and she got so uncomfortable and grumpy saying that go wait outside somebody will attend you I'm a minute, I felt bad I went to the other waitress and asked to speak to the manager and got a reply "what for?" That's brilliant isn't it? Well finally we never got to speak to the manager she took our order and rudely asked me that if I would like to open a tab I should give her my credit card. I have her my card and asked her to bring me my bill. Before my drinks came to the table without asking me I was charged in my card without my presence. Drinks came after 10 mins and were just dumped on the table and then the waitress again very rudely demanded for my signature, that moment I asked her did you confirm with me before charging me on my card because I asked you for the check and not to charge me on my card, she kept defending herself until she could. I asked for the manager again which never came. I was told that it would take more that two weeks if they void the transaction to refund rebate my account well that's crap it takes 1 minute to get the rebate if you void the transaction on master or credit cards. In the end one supervisor came out and he tried to explain but was shirt of words. We were offered one pint of beer to make things up but that does not justifies the humiliation we faced by the hand of the two rude waitresses who were so unwelcoming. Poor very poor never expected that I would be treated like this in my favourite bar. :((

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A little piece of England”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Say no more .
For ex-pats who enjoy a pint , a game of pool or darts and more importantly watching the football , this is a little piece of England . Be aware that they still allow smoking inside and you may come across the odd loud football supporter or loud mouth telling you what he does for a living or how much his next deal is worth , but put that aside it does have a fair selection of beers and ciders to cool you down when the temperature hits 40 degrees .
Located at the Habtoor on Jumeirah beach !!!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Standard prizes for dubai, good service, there are two pool where you can play and meet new people. Only one disagree is about the kitchen, they close the kitchen too early

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Underground Pub also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to The Underground Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Underground Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.