We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indonesian Food at it best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wok It

Wok It
Karama, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
4 388 5711
Improve this listing
Ranked #344 of 5,604 Restaurants in Dubai
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian, Malaysian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Indonesian Food at it best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

away from home is one of the trouble I had when I want to eat Indonesian food. I came here twice, for both I had a nice meal. first time I ordered Nasi goreng kampung, the taste was just right. and the second visit I ordered Char kwe tiaw, the taste is nice.

this place not only serve Indonesian food, they have also thai food and other south east asian food. with good food, good portion, and reasonable price this restaurant worth to visit.
and try also the Martabak, you may choose the sweet or the savory one. they have the best martabak.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    14
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Authentic Indonesian Cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Wok it is authentic Indonesian cuisine.
It's basically the deliciousness of street food but with an upscale presentation. Not hotel grade but far from street food.
Location is excellent, right on the main street with ample parking.

Interior is modernistic in style. Large empty spaces, wood trimming, big windows and plenty of lighting.

Staff are eager to help, friendly and knowledgable. They not only suggested popular items,they even asked what our preferences were. Very big positive because we were clearly not Indonesian and hence not super familiar with the cuisine. A big plus for accommodating nom-Indonesians. Also, most staff are Indonesian as well.

The food is excellent. As said above, the character and diversity of street food but presented a bit more neatly.

Even though the name suggests Chinese cuisine, it's actually prediminantly Indonesian.

Highly reccomended.

Please give this review a thumbs up if you benefited.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharjah, Uae
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Hiding in plain sight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I had doubts when my sister suggested we had dinner at this place. I have grown wary of restaurants that pop up out of nowhere and, no offense to Karama, but in this area especially. So it was a wonderful surprise to be welcomed with a hostess with the warmest smile and to enter a clean and orderly venue. There were no one else when we arrived and since we came in full force, 9 of us, we had to connect two tables together.

The staff: It's always great to dine in a place where you enjoy Asian hospitality. They are truly gracious and very polite. They also know their menu very well and offered suggestions truthfully. If it's hot and spicy for our Filipino tastebuds, they told us so and not forced it on us saying "No, madam, it's not spicy at all" when in fact you needed a fire extinguisher after the first bite!

The food: Where do I start? Everything is just so tempting! My niece insisted on starting with the garlic prawn crackers, and they were really delicious, crisp and hot. The selection is not extensive but they are very good and all freshly prepared in the open-plan kitchen.

The price: Very competitive and well worth every Dirham!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great foods!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The restaurants offers Asian Menu which most of it are Indonesian Menu plus some South East Asian Menu. The portion is decent and the food quality align with the beautiful presentation. The service is really efficient and fast. Try the dragon fruit drinks, it's unique and tasty!
You should not missed the Martabak (both the Egg and the Sweet for dessert) when you visit them.

The overall price is a bit more compared to another Asian/Indonesian Restaurant in town, but the ambience, service and the quality of food give, worth the single dirham spent!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food but timings not so good...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Everything is excellent...the food quality is great...the only turn off is the restaurant close from 3-6...so you can't dine when you want to have a late lunch or early dinner. I think the owner should think about opening it all day. Especially for tourists who do not have travel to the restaurant based on TripAdvisor's rating or word of mouth. Arrive at the restaurant at 3:30 pm, hungry and it's closed :-( So, Pizza Hut it is...

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wok It also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Wok It? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wok It, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.