We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quaint and arabic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barjeel Heritage Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Barjeel Heritage Guest House to your Saves list
Barjeel Heritage Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Al Ghubaiba, Dubai 46500, United Arab Emirates (The Creek)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 53 Dubai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“quaint and arabic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

A nice find in a busy city. Beautiful courtyard and restaurant with average Arabic food but an excellent ambiance and an excellent view over Dubai creek. The rooms were extremely comfortable, with free wifi and attractive antique furnishings. A superb location close to the metro and along the creek. Perfect for a 24-48 hour stopover as a base to explore the city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    26
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
39
10
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

we enjoyed our stay in this quaint and modern guest house by the Dubai creek, with a lovely view of the water; beds are comfortable and rooms spacious, with a great shower. We overlooked a small garden as the rooms surround this space, making the place feel arabic and local.Free wifi that worked! Good zircon that worked.Helpful staff. Close to the metro.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The room and bathroom were basic but quite large and it was nice to stay in a traditional style building. The room had really good airconditioning too!

Nicely situated along the river, it is only a short walk/boat ride to various souks - aka markets - including the gold souk and textiles souk. It is also nearby the heritage village.

The hotel has a great restraurant with river views and serves really good local cuisine. We had the Arabic breakfast one morning which was good to experience.

The hotel next to an underground metro station which provides you with the easiest way to make your way around the city. It is also affordable. Avoid the hop-on hop-off bus as it is a ripoff and takes ages to run its loop.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

I have decided to give a neutral rating as I never actually stayed here because when I eventually found the place, I was "upgraded" to their sister Orient guest house, which looks to be a bit nicer and much better located, by the river and metro. If you do stay here, don't expect your taxi driver to find it, no one has ever heard of it and it's about 200m from the nearest road.
That all said, if it is a similar quality to the Orient that I was moved to, then I would have no hesitation in giving it a 4 star rating.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Warm reception. Helpful staff who went out of their way to assist with parking our car. There is no hotel parking but they can park it for you at their sister hotel. The breakfast was mediocre but the restaurant has a fine view of Dubai Creek. Location is by bus and metro and a cab can be hailed from street near by. Nepalese, Pakistani, and Indian cuisine all a short walk from hotel.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

what a fantastic stay during our three day layover in dubai. wonderful rooftop, amazing food, and the excellent king size beds. The manager is an extremely cordial guy, and gave us a good idea os the region, and whats there to do. A+++

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is truly a great place in Dubai and if you havn been there ... you are defntly missing it! Roof top dining in a desert city when its sands cool down in the night... and carry the soft cool breeze to the waters... with festively lit dhows crisscrossing the creek... Ahh I get poetic just by thinking about the place. I went there with a dear friend last month for a quiet dinner and she did not want to leave the venue even after 1am. Am so glad I also got to spend a night here in complete silence - right in the middle of Dubai old town. I hope a lot more ppl enjoy the heritage gems of Dubai than waste a lot of their time at the 'new glisty Dubai' searching for a different experience. Highly recomended for Dubai visitors to go here. Less advertised but truly awesome! Sorry I forgot to mention the authentic Arabic food on their menu - also the most friendly-faced attenders. In all if you wana experience a quiet arabic royalty in terms of authentic experience - I tell you - just go here!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Barjeel Heritage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barjeel Heritage Guest House

Address: Al Ghubaiba, Dubai 46500, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > The Creek
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Barjeel Heritage Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named after the Icon of the Guest House, the Barjeel Al Arab Restaurant is nestled near the water front overlooking the Creek side, neighboring the historic old souk and the bustling financial district. The view of glittering Dhows in the creek and the sound of prayer from the Mosque nearby will set you right in traditional Arabia. Arabic Hospitality being the most important factor of the Arabian culture, we offer the taste buds a variety of flavors, combining; Emirati, Lebanese and cosmopolitan delicacies, which truly represent what Dubai Demography is all about. Offering healthy freshly produce Mezzah, Kebabs and Grill in a healthier environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Barjeel Heritage Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barjeel Heritage Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.