We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food combine d with excellent service = excellent place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wheeler's of St James

Wheeler's of St James
DIFC | Gate Village Building No. 2, Dubai 75626, United Arab Emirates
+971 4 386 0899
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #783 of 5,572 Restaurants in Dubai
Cuisines: British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Wheeler's of St. James's is a stylish revival of the world's oldest and finest eatery, which thrived in the heart of London in 1856. The menu has been updated with a European twist, adding delicacies such as marinated buratta and tomato tart, and salt cod brandade, which are served alongside timeless classics of seasonal game, grilled meats and vegetarian options.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food combine d with excellent service = excellent place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I was looking forward to this restaurant to open as the "Coming soon" sign had been there for quite some time. So I decided to give it a try once it officially launched in December. This is the place where not only the meaning of "cooked to perfection" makes more sense than anywhere else, but service alone makes you want to come back - the personal touch and response is remarkable without being overwhelming. Probably one of the best restaurants in Dubai, luckily in my office area. You can try even their business lunch - it is worth every penny. Although the restaurant itself is on the pricy side (and what is not in Dubai?!!), it stands behind its reputation of a great seafood restaurant, I would say the best in Dubai.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    28
    20
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“It's here in DIFC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

From the door greeting by 3 georgeous girls through to the coffee, this restaurant must rate as the best lunching/dining experience in The UAE, so that means in The Gulf. Gary ,the manager, couldn't have been more attentive without being sycophantic. His staff were efficient ,well presented and seemingly happy with a ready smile and knowledgeable advice on both food and wine.
The fish was all beautifully prepared and promptly served with fresh green accompaniments.
An excelent selection, without being overextensive all in comfortable and simple surroundings with a happy and relaxed atmosphere.
Would thoroughly recommend this place and looking forward to our next outing on my birthday.
It's not cheap but well worth paying a little extra for perfection!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Nice ambiance and setting in the DIFC but food just average for the $$$”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Came for dinner and my friend said they gave him a hassle about making a reservation for 8pm- but place was empty nearly and not much more by 10ish when we left- so typical attitude huh? Ambiance was lovely- it's a pretty room. Piano player was nice touch but cheesy choice of bland 80's ballads spoiled the tone a bit.

Service was fairly on top of things but overall found the menu more suited to a financial power lunch- very little imagination at play here in this marco pierre white outlet. Fish and a continental mix. I had the bouillabaisse which came in a huge cauldron with a ladle until I asked for a bowl. Amongst our table, we all felt the same- best things were the desserts frankly- kudos to the pastry chef.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wheelers at DIFC - An excellent addition to eating out in Dubai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Lunch at the new Wheelers today, 15th January. First visit.

Friendly, efficient welcome. High ceilings, clean lines, bright, but not sterile at all.

We were having trouble deciding whether to eat from the excellent value 3 course Business Lunch (Dhs150), or the a la carte menu. The Head Sommelier - Azedine - recommended the Business Lunch as a "sampling plate" of the chefs offerrings, and very good advice it was too.The food was beautifully cooked and presented. Service is efficient and very friendly, not a hint of the superior attitude which sometimes pervades restaurants of this standard. Azedine recommended (but joked that if we didn't like it, he'd drink it) a super bottle of Austrian white, a new experience for us, and a perfect light style for lunchtime, served at the perfect temperature. It was also reasonably priced. The wine list is long enough and varied enough to satisfy everyone without being pretentious or the size of a short novel - prices start at about Dhs 280, with the majority in the Dhs350 - 600 range. By Dubai standards, this is good. Main courses - predominantly fish or seafood, but with a selection of meat also - start at about Dhs150, with the majority around Dhs200, rising to Dhs295 for grilled Dover Sole.

To summarise - excellent food and service. We're really looking forward to going back next week for dinner. La Petite Maison has serious competition here..........

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great food & service from a new addition to DIFC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We visited Wheelers last week as a group of four. Firstly, I was very surprised how quiet the restaurant seemed - The waiter explained they only got their alcohol license a week ago.

The service was excellent. All staff were well trained and friendly. I forgot the name of our waitress, but she was from Portsmouth... She was excellent, knowledgeable of the menu, friendly and even funny when we asked her opinion on a subject we were discussing. The team work of all staff together probably contributed to ONE of the best service levels I have experienced in my 5 years in Dubai (some would argue that's not too difficult).

Whilst it’s easy to offer good service whilst your restaurant has almost equal number of staff vs. guests - I'm comfortable that the staff would still provide 5* service to a packed house.

The food itself was great tasting, beautifully presented and well-priced. We all ordered 3 courses. The dishes that stood out: Foie Gras (Starter), Sirloin streak, served rare (Main) and Sorbet (Dessert).

Areas for improvement: Atmosphere - I know it’s hard with limited guests. Piano player was great but the MP3 selection whilst the musician was on a break wasn’t fitting. Coldplay isn't something I would choose to eat a good meal to. Also the temperature control should be addressed. I understand you keeping the front door open to encourage walk in customers, however please leave the AC on for your guests. A few times it was very warm and we had to request the AC be put on.

Overall, I would certainly recommend this restaurant for any romantic or social outing.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wheeler's of St James also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Wheeler's of St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wheeler's of St James, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.