We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!! AN AUTHENTIC AND MAGICAL EXPERIENCE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Platinum Heritage Luxury Tours and Safaris

Platinum Heritage Luxury Tours and Safaris
Sheikh Zayed Road | Office 123, 3rd Floor, Oasis Centre, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
+971 4 388 4044
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$136*
and up
Ranked #1 of 145 Outdoor Activities in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Platinum Heritage desert safari tours in Dubai display expertise in not only luxury but culture, wildlife and history. We reveal our destination with an authenticity beyond the reach of any other adventure tour company. Our Dubai desert safari tours are exclusive and created for discerning travelers who expect the highest level of luxury, service, and attention to detail. After all, we are not just providing a luxury tour. We have a greater role: we are introducing you to Dubai culture and heritage
Hassocks, United Kingdom
1 review
“WOW!! AN AUTHENTIC AND MAGICAL EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

My daughter and I recently booked with Platinum Heritage for their Heritage Overnight Safari and Breakfast with a Bedouin. This was the best decision that was made during my short 4 day trip to Dubai. Everything was perfect from start to finish. Adam the Managing Director of the company was extremely accommodating organising for us to do the safari part of the tour in an air conditioned Mercedes 4 x 4 rather than the vintage 1950s open top Land Rovers. This was very much appreciated due to a skin condition.

The safari took place in a select part of the Dubai Desert Conservation Reserve and Wesam our wonderful guide drove us expertly through the desert and carefully over the vast dunes (no dune bashing with this company, thank goodness), and pointed out, with a huge amount of knowledge and enthusiasm, local fauna and wildlife such as the Oryx and Gazelles and made time for photo opportunities amongst the stunning beauty of the desert. The rest of the tour group about 9 in all, in their open topped vintage Land Rovers, caught up with us for a magical, intimate, sunset falconry display, which we were able to watch on beautiful cushions set out in the sand. It was truly amazing to see at first hand the speed at which these majestic creatures can fly.

On arrival at a beautifully authentic Bedouin camp, surrounded by a stone wall and palm trees, we were shown traditional Arabic bread making techniques, had camel rides, henna tattooing was available, and a delicious, plentiful, traditional Arabic meal was served. This was finished off with Shisha, traditional Arabic dancing, chatting and stargazing around a cosy fire. All the staff in the camp were extremely helpful, professional and friendly and the whole evening was perfection. The camp is situated in an exclusive part of the desert, making it a very personal experience.

My daughter and I were excited to learn that we were the only guests staying in the camp that night, and slept in an authentic Bedouin tent made of goat hair and although the air was a little chilly we had comfy mattresses and bedding to keep us cosy. Waking up to a golden sunrise in the Arabian desert, a delicious Arabian breakfast and fascinating conversation with a wonderful local Bedouin gentleman were so magical, it felt as though we were in a Hollywood movie. Seeing the camels with their babies quietly grazing on our way back, was the perfect end to the perfect trip. Wesam our wonderful guide was very friendly and attentive throughout and made sure our experience was a memorable one.

I cannot rate Platinum Heritage highly enough. They are a small company who are passionate about what they do and make every effort to exceed expectations and create memories. They made our dreams come true and we now have precious memories of the desert that will be with us for ever.
Thank you

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    682
    51
    13
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Best Experience of Our Entire trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I cannot rate this company highly enough. They are only 6 months old, but they have designed a stellar desert safari. After reading a lot of reviews of other companies I selected platinum heritage because there was nothing negative from anyone. Yes, the safari is more expensive (sometimes double the price) than other companies but the value and quality is so high, that it's worth every penny. To start, our driver and safar guide (Fahad) picked us up right at our hotel. He took us to pick up 2 more couples before driving us about an hour to the desert conservation area. None of the other tour companies are allowed to use this land which made our tour very exclusive. Instead of their being hundreds of people on our safari, there were many 30-40 people at the most. Our driver was funny and accommodating. The six of us shared one of the 1950s landrovers for our dune bashing experience. Anytime the driver saw wildlife on the conservation reserve, he would stop and help us take pictures. There was a photographer who could occassionally follow us, but we got tons of photos with our own cameras too. We saw a great falconry demonstration right at sunset before making our way to the bedouin camp for dinner. At the camp we enjoyed camel rides, henna tattos, and dancing if we so desired. There was no extra cost, but we were not pressured into doing it if we didn't care to. When we sat at our tables for dinner, they brought around a scrumptious assortment of local delicacies with lentil soup. Although I didn't think this was very much food, I was surprised how quickly I got full. Then I realized that these were only the appetizers. The real dinner was yet to come. Dinner consisted of chicken and lamb with rice. For the vegetarians in our group, they got a veggie kabob instead of a chicken kabob and there was veggie rice for them instead of lamb rice. The dinner was delicious and we were soon very stuffed. After dinner we enjoyed a local dancer followed by dessert of fresh fruit. One of the couples in our group was celebrating a birthday, so the company arranged to have a birthday cake for them. All of the workers gathered around and sang. Because there was extra cake, they invited us to have cake with them which was very nice.

I have absolutely nothing bad to say, but to any readers considering this tour, I do have one sincere piece of advice. Because you are in a desert for 80% of the tour, restroom facilities are limited. There is a full service restroom with plumbing at the bedouin camp, but you don't arrive there for several hours into your tour. Please, please make sure you use the restroom before you leave for the tour. Our tour guide picked us up from our hotel at 2:45PM and we didn't arrive at the bedouin camp until close to 6 or 7PM. If you know that you won't have toilets ahead of time, you can make sure you use one before you leave. I didn't have a problem, but there were a few folks in our group who had to find a private spot in nature.

You won't regret booking this tour company! This was the best part of our trip by far!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great time with this tour group”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

These guys were great! Professional, fun ... not at all - like the packaged 'bus' crowd type tours ... I do my best to avoid.

Awesome time - would def. book with them again!

Best,
Lou G - New York, NY

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan Center, Michigan
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Amazing from start to finish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were picked up on time for our tour in a silver Mercedes G Wagon. Hamdi our guide was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic about Dubai. We had Breakfast in the Desert with a Bedouin and asked him questions about the desert life. The food was delicious and the company was great. There were only 3 other tourists who came along so it was a little more private and one-on-one which was nice. My friend and I were in the G wagon alone as rode through the dunes in the desert and even got to stop for different photo opportunities. Hamdi was kind enough to take some candid photos of us on the dunes and they were fantastic! If you are going to do a tour there are some that are more affordable, but none that are better. This was one of the most amazing things I've ever done!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine, United States
1 review
“BEST Part of our Trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I recently visited Abu Dhabi and Dubai for the very first time with a group of friends, and for our last day we decided to do a desert safari. Our trip started with Eric, who picked us up and drove us to the conservation area. Eric was very friendly and knowledgeable and explained to us many of the sites we saw during the 40 minute drive from our hotel. Upon arriving at the conservation area, we all hoped into an old school Land Rover and our tour guide, Yaman, drove us through the desert. We were able to stop and take pictures and Yaman had the best sense of humor. Next, we were driven to a falcon demonstration which was quite amazing. Beverages were also provided.

We then made our way to the camp, which was a replica of a traditional Bedouin camp. The camp was very impressive - everything was made from materials from the desert. We had time to ride a camel, explore the camp and even have our feet and/or hands done with henna. The meal was delicious and there was plenty of food. In addition, the bathroom facilities were nice and clean.

The best part was sitting around a fire and listening to Yaman and the other guides talk about their culture. It was evident that the guides are very passionate - they really make the trip a one of a kind experience. It was an experience that we are all still talking about and while I truly enjoyed many things about Abu Dhabi and Dubai, this was the absolute highlight of our trip!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Platinum Heritage Luxury Tours and Safaris also viewed

 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Platinum Heritage Luxury Tours and Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Platinum Heritage Luxury Tours and Safaris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.