We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up to expectation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Savoy Central Hotel Apartments

Save Saved
You added Savoy Central Hotel Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Savoy Central Hotel Apartments
Rolla Road Bur Dubai, Dubai 49519, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #116 of 475 hotels in Dubai
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Up to expectation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I did some research before leaving NZ to travel to Amsterdam to attend my daughter's wedding. The savoy Central scored we'll with reviews in Trip Advisor and was on the list of "check in anytime" apartment style hotels. Being able to check in early after having been in the air for almost 20 (less a 1.5 hour refuel in Melbourne) hours and arriving in Dubai at 6 am was important to us. We stayed for two days and two nights from 30th April 2013.
True to their word, after a trouble free registration we were shown immediately to our room. The reception staff were friendly, efficient and very helpful throughout our stay.
Our room was spacious, clean and well maintained with all the amenities you would expect. Being an apartment style hotel there were all the necessities for meal preparation etc.
the bathroom was clean and well serviced. My only complaint with our room was the shower. The water pressure was poor and because of this the water ran onto the end of the bath and from there onto the floor flooding a big area. This was obviously a long standing problem by the looks of the silicone used to prevent water entering into the wall. I understand water is a scarce resource in Dubai so am not making a big issue of the shower and it did not blight our stay. I can't say if this is a general problem in other rooms within the hotel.
The dining room (breakfast was included in our rate) was spacious and offered a reasonable selection of foods for residents. Again the staff were very helpful and went out of their was to assist. We did not eat other meals there so cannot comment on lunch or dinner fare.
Wifi was available for free in the reception area but not free in the rooms. There were two computers available from memory. We had our own iPad and phones and it worked fine.
We found the area of the Savoy to be ok and as it was our first visit to Dubai have nothing to compare it with. In the mini van from the airport it was about a 15 min trip (1 other couple dropped off before us). By taxi to the Mall of the Emirates took about 20-25 minutes - cost 45 Dirhams. Getting a taxi from the hotel was quick and easy.
I did not use the pool or gym.
Would I consider staying there again - yes.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faroukh_Sunny, General Manager at Savoy Central Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your in-depth experience at Savoy Central on Trip Advisor.

We are very humbled with the appreciation expressed in your review towards our staffs. Your comments will only motivate us to do better. Thank you again for alerting us on the problem you faced in the bathroom. We have informed our engineering team to examine the same.

We hope you do return back soon and give us the opportunity to host you again at the Savoy Central.

Best regards,

Faroukh Sunny.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    36
    11
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
28
6
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Quite a pleasant hotel. Not much of a view fromrear of building just car park and empty building block. Staff were pleasant. The need for sound proof windows is important. Lots of traffic noise. Taxi's are easy to get out the front of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faroukh_Sunny, General Manager at Savoy Central Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for being candid and expressing your views on Savoy Central on the Trip Advisor site.

We have taken note of your suggestion to sound proof the windows and the same will be reviewed in our rennovation plans later this year.

We appreciate your positive ratings and look forward to welcome you back at the Savoy Central.

Best regards,
Faroukh Sunny.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The only negative is the area: noisy , polluted and overcrowded. A bit far from the train station too. Everything else was great and would recommend staying there. Rooftop swimming pool, sauna, steam room and gym were great. Staff were amazing , room big and spacious.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faroukh_Sunny, General Manager at Savoy Central Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your high ratings and review of Savoy Central on Trip Advisor.

The hotel is situated on Rolla street right in the heart of the city center and various entertainment & commercial districts. Our other 3 Savoy Hotels are situated close to Mankhool in the same region and provides a relatively calmer ambiance.

We look forward to host you back at the Savoy hotels.

Best regards,
Faroukh Sunny.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I travelled with family and stayed here from 27th March, 2013 to 31st March, 2013. we stayed in Room 501 with nice street view. We wree three persons and Hotel provided a very confrmtable and clean room. Very helpful staff and always ready to offer useful advice. Location is very nice- a big super market is just next door, Al Fahidi Metro Station is hardly 10 mins of walking distance. Taxi very easily available. Breakfast was good. Nice pool on the top and a nice Gym. I used the Gym as well- pretty good. Free Wi-fi. Hotel staff helped in putting up stcikers on baggage for our travel back to India. Pick and drop facility was very confortable. I will definetely recommend this hotel to any one.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faroukh_Sunny, General Manager at Savoy Central Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was so motivating to read your comments on Savoy Central posted on the Trip Advisor site.

All the staffs are indeed very humbled by your kind and caring feedback. This has given us an extra boost to raise the service bar even higher. It was a pleasure to look after you and all your requirements.

We look forward to welcome you back at the Savoy Central.

Best regards,
Faroukh Sunny.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huber Heights, Ohio
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I stayed once before at this hotel, last summer, when it was called Dar Al Sondos Hotel Apartments by Le Meridian. They changed to Savoy Central Hotel Apartments in the middle of my stay. It was $56 back then, but in January I paid $98. (Winter is the peak season) I would have stayed here again on my way back from visiting my home in the United States, but the price in February had jumped to $120 and it sure isn’t worth that. They’d told me back last summer that they were going to become a “5-Star Hotel” by joining Savoy. Well, I’m here to tell the Savoy management that a couple of throw rugs, new pillows, and a (just one) bathrobe does not make a 5-Star hotel. But maybe it’s a misunderstanding? Maybe their scale is different than mine. If it’s a scale of 1 to 10, then they would be a 5-Star hotel.

Anyway, I think the place has actually gone downhill a bit from last summer. The Business Center only had one working computer, whereas before they had three. And the toilet tank lid was broken and they’d put it back together with white chalking. And can’t they find a toilet paper dispenser?

But the pool looks better. They painted the walls, got new cushions for the loungers, and there’s a divider now between the Kiddie Pool and the Adult Pool and a Lifeguard on duty! But I think those last two had more to do with the tragic accident late last summer when a toddler drown and two women drown trying to save the child! The Manager of that hotel was charged with their deaths. Oh, and they STILL have the same broken umbrellas! What’s up with that Savoy?

Bottom line is that this is still a nice enough hotel, but the price begs you to look around.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faroukh_Sunny, General Manager at Savoy Central Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your views of Savoy Central (formerly called Dar Al Sondos by Le Meridien) on the Trip Advisor.

Hotel rates are dynamic and vary from each season and whenever there are major events in Dubai. The rates you have mentioned in January and February were for a few specific dates due to very popular exhibitions in the city which was almost sold out. As you have been our regular guest in the hotel in the past, please do get in touch with us directly and we will ensure that you are offered our best available rates.

We really apologise if any of our staff member has misled you last August into believing that we are going to convert the property to a 5 star hotel. We are categorised as Hotel Apartments and are classified as Standard Hotel Apartment. What we can confirm to you is that the hotel will be undergoing complete rennovations in all areas of the hotel later this summer to offer a more luxury experience to all our guests.

Our engineering department have already resolved the glitches highlighted by you earlier.

Please accept my humble apologies in advance to clear the misunderstanding of your remark on the pool drowning incident of a toddler & women in our hotel. We have a 100% Safety Record and no such incident has ever occurred at the Savoy Central or any other Savoy property in Dubai since inception. Our Guest Safety and Security is paramount over all. The previous hotel management of Dar Al Sondos by Le Meridien have also confirmed and verified the same.

We thank you for your comments and do hope that you give us an opportunity to serve you at the Savoy Central or in any of the Savoy properties in Dubai.

Best regards,

Faroukh Sunny.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Good place to stay, if you are there more then 2-3 days. Nice bed, kitchen and bathroom. Decent internet access. Friendly staff. Only problem was with water pressure. You can't have a proper shower. And one more advice: do not rent a car from agency recommended by them. They are terrible.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faroukh_Sunny, General Manager at Savoy Central Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the good rating of Savoy Central on the Trip Advisor.

We have alerted the engineering head on the water pressure problem faced by you . The same has already been rectified. We have also conveyed your comments to the Rent a Car company and have opted for other agencies who can best service our guests needs.

We are indeed very grateful to you to highlight the same and we look forward to welcome you back at the Savoy Central.

Best regards,
Faroukh Sunny.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Well appointed rooms with a nice balcony. Nice, friendly and helpful staff.

Clean and up kept rooms with quite atmosphere.

Location is good, the metro stations (both green line and Red line) are in walking distance.

The shopping area is also in walking distance.

Breakfast is basic but good. WiFi is complementary.

Overall nice value and can be good accommodation option if travelling with family too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faroukh_Sunny, General Manager at Savoy Central Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your encouraging comments of Savoy Central on Trip Advisor.

The staff are very happy to have looked after you and we hope that you give us an opportunity to serve you again with your family at the Savoy Central. Our special promotion "WE LOVE KIDZ" is on from 1st April to 31st August this year.

We look forward to welcome you back.

Best regards,
Faroukh Sunny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Savoy Central Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Central Hotel Apartments

Address: Rolla Road Bur Dubai, Dubai 49519, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 475 hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savoy Central at the heart of Bur Dubai is just minutes from fashionable shopping centers, the gold and textile souks and business districts of Dubai.With 154 well appointed air conditioned executive studios, the hotel offers twin and large beds with en suite bathrooms, fully equipped kitchenettes and washing machines. Modern day comforts such as high speed internet access and cable television for viewing pleasure complement your stay.Savoy hospitality offers quick and friendly service to business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Tingo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Savoy Central Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savoy Central Hotel Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.