We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely poor service... Prepare to wait for everything” 1 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Marquis Dubai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Marquis Dubai to your Saves list
JW Marriott Marquis Dubai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sheikh Zayed Road | Business Bay, Dubai 121000, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #42 of 487 Hotels in Dubai
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Extremely poor service... Prepare to wait for everything”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Be prepared to wait for hours for anything.

Poor welcome at reception
Baggage delivery took 1 hour
Requested a box for packing - came with all sides open and further request for tape took 2 hours but didn't show up at all. Almost missed my flight.

Breakfast cafe was so busy that they moved us to a different location where they had barely anything. You had a limited budget too to select anything and no courtesy by the steward

Wait for Lifts take about 5 minutes on average

Rooms are nice but with such poor service you could possible look at more options nearby

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DXBJW, Manager at JW Marriott Marquis Dubai, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us at J W Marriott Marquis Dubai.

Having read through your review, we are extremely concerned to note your comments with regards to your overall experience during your stay with us and also do apologize for the inconvenience caused by the delay in services.

It would be very much appreciated if we could have the opportunity to speak to you personally and therefore kindly request you to contact us directly on mhrs.dxbjw.gr@marriott.com


Thank you once again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,

SHYAM KRISHNAN
Hotel Duty Manager
J W Marriott Marquis Dubai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    797
    319
    74
    38
    24
See reviews for
163
268
75
504
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

One of the best hotels I have stayed in.

Room was perfect, bathroom is exquisite, room service was excellent. Pool was a lot of fun with good drinks and food selections. MUSIC UNDERWATER........now that's a nice touch.

Criticisms: Check Out was laborious, 10 min with no one in line!!!!
Lobby ATM must accept AMEX. Need to cater to ALL travelers.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DXBJW, Manager at JW Marriott Marquis Dubai, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to know that you had enjoyed your overall stay with us and were pleased with the service and facilities available at the hotel.

We have noted down your comments with regards to the departure experience. Your feedback is of immense value to us and had been shared to the concerned managers so that we can continually review our products and service offerings.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

SHYAM KRISHNAN
Hotel Duty Manager
J W Marriott Marquis Dubai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

My rating would have been higher if not for the poor internet. The WiFi is not free, and while I got the free wifi it was almost like a favor. It shouldn't be in a business hotel in the Business Bay area. The room wifi Marriott_guest does not work in the large conference area which has a different Marriott-conference internet. This is certainly a pain and you have no access during the time you are in the conference area, unless you pay! Sorry, but not acceptable. Hotels at this price should stop charging for the internet. Cheaper hotels are offering blanket coverage of wifi.

I would like to commend the front desk staff person Khashab, i checked in 2:45 am and there was a glitch with my room. He was empowered enough to immediately take decisive action and resolve the situation.

The Achille's heal for most hotels is housekeeping. I think they don't invest in their training. My room on day 2 of my stay was never made, even though I was out after noon. They came in morning left a card, never came back again.

The hotel is located in the Business Bay area. There is nothing walkable but Dubai Mall area is very close. There is a free shuttle from the hotel to the Dubai mall, and another to the DFIC area. The lobby area have a lot of hotel employees all the time. If you happen to stop for a few seconds you are asked multiple times if you are looking for anything. I am not sure if it is helpful or too intrusive.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DXBJW, Manager at JW Marriott Marquis Dubai, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

Whilst it was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we are sorry to hear that you were not fully pleased with your overall stay with us and also do apologize for the inconvenience caused due to slow internet and housekeeping service. It is nice to know our Front Desk Staff were helpful.

Please be assured that we take all our guest feedback to be of utmost importance to us, hence, it would be very much appreciated if we can have the opportunity to speak with you personally and therefore kindly request you to contact us directly on mhrs.dxbjw.gr@marriott.com

Thank you once again for taking the time to write and we look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,

SHYAM KRISHNAN
Hotel Duty Manager
J W Marriott Marquis Dubai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Great hotel with great restaurants. Rooms are spacious, bathroom is also spacious with a separate huge rain fall shower. Overall it was an excellent experience.

Service was great, location was even better (5min drive to dubai mall, 10 min drive to emarites mall). Easy to find..

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DXBJW, Manager at JW Marriott Marquis Dubai, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to hear that you had enjoyed your overall experience at the hotel and were pleased with the service and facilities we have on offer, particularly the choice of our restaurants and the spacious bedrooms.

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

SHYAM KRISHNAN
Hotel Duty Manager
J W Marriott Marquis Dubai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I I have booked a standard room through site Hotels.com. But I delayed on the check-in until midnight. When I got to the hotel I was informed that all the standard rooms have been booked and taken, and therefore the hotel is very sorry and pleased to upgraded my reservation to executive suite. it was very beautiful, clean and sophisticated. The service was excellent at all levels.

In my next visit to Dubai this hotel would be my first choice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DXBJW, Manager at JW Marriott Marquis Dubai, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to hear that you had enjoyed your overall experience at the hotel and were pleased with the service and facilities we have on offer, particularly the executive room and found it to be beautiful, clean and sophisticated.

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

SHYAM KRISHNAN
Hotel Duty Manager
J W Marriott Marquis Dubai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Stayed ten nights at this new hotel in April 2014 with family. The hotel is exactly what you expect from a JW with a plethora of restaurants of excellent standard. All hotels, particularly new ones, have their issues and it is how these are dealt with that makes a hotel stand out. The front desk and Executive club staff were extremely helpful and solved problems without fuss. We ate in several of the restaurants in the hotel and all were excellent. The lounge is one of the best I have encountered with great food and exemplary service. Pool area was good with some shade throughout the day for those not wishing to be in direct sun for hours on end. Rooms were comfortable and of a high standard. It was my wife's birthday while we were there and the hotel provided a cake, wine and flowers along with cards from many of the different teams in the hotel. Hihly recommend this hotel for either business or pleasure. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for access to the club rooms. It is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DXBJW, Manager at JW Marriott Marquis Dubai, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We are glad to hear that you had chosen to stay with us to celebrate a special occasion and that the service of our associates really made your stay a memorable one.

It is nice to note that you were pleased with the facilities available at the hotel as well as the little surprise that was organized in the room. All your kind comments are greatly appreciated and it was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guests.

We are also glad to know that you were able to experience the pool and most of our F&B outlets and found them to be of excellent standards.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel soon.

SHYAM KRISHNAN
Hotel Duty Manager
J W Marriott Marquis Dubai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I have to say that my stay in the hotel was great. But during the check in we requested to withdraw the payment from one card (which was supposed to only be used as a deposit) and charged to another,the receptionist Ali said it would take 6 days and we agreed on it. We checked out 7 days after and the money had not been put back yet. Once back home I called and Maria said it would take 12 days, she apologized and promised to email me with the details which never happened. Now 15 days later the payment has not been withdrawn yet so I call once again and a very rude lady hung up on me. I dont know how else to communicate with the hotel, so I hope they get to see this and do something about it… it is so unprofessional, I never expected to get this bad service from a JW Marriot hotel… If this would have not happened I would have said it was one of my best holidays..

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DXBJW, Manager at JW Marriott Marquis Dubai, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at J W Marriott Marquis Dubai.

Even though you had a great stay with us ,We are sorry to read from your review that you were not pleased with our associates giving different answers when you called back to enquire about the pre authorization release on your credit card and kindly accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused to you due to this factor.

Your valuable feedback is positively taken onboard and has been shared with the concerned managers to ensure immediate necessary rectification action is taken to avoid any such shortfalls in our service standards moreover to be honest authorization releases differs from bank to bank and can take up to 15 working days.

We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to speak to you personally and kindly request you to contact us directly on mhrs.dxbjw.fom1@marriotthotels.com where our Front Office Manager would personally attend and resolve the issue as soon as possible.

Thank you once again for contacting us through Trip Advisor and we look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

SHYAM KRISHNAN
Hotel Duty Manager
J W Marriott Marquis Dubai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Marquis Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Marquis Dubai

Address: Sheikh Zayed Road | Business Bay, Dubai 121000, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 487 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Marquis Dubai 5*
Number of rooms: 1608
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dubai is a city of awe-inspiring ambition and unsurpassed luxury, home to the world's tallest building, the largest shopping mall, the iconic Palm and now the JW Marriott Marquis Hotel Dubai the worlds tallest hotel. It is a place where dreams come true. Offering a spectrum of business facilities for the most discerning of travelers. It is a brand synonymous with intuitive service and refined taste, a title given only to the finest properties in the Marriott portfolio. Elevated above Dubai's business district, on Sheikh Zayed Road, the JW Marriott Marquis Dubai resides in the Business Bay area. Spread across two iconic towers, the hotel features exceptional event and business facilities, an enticing array of bars and restaurants and the sublime Saray Spa and Health Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Marquis Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Marquis Dubai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.